We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superior Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   900 Newport Center Drive, Newport Beach, CA 92660   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Dining Credit
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Houston, TX
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Superior Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The front desk staff, bell staff and wait staff, along with anyone else you encountered who worked at this hotel, provided superior, friendly and helpful service. I was there for a business meeting so the location was not particularly relevant. We had catered meals by the hotel for two lunches and one dinner. All were served in style and in lovely surroundings.

The room and bathroom were updated and the mattress quite comfortable.

The only item marring my stay was some sort of electronic "chirping" in my room at odd and obnoxious hours of the night. I mentioned to the hotel staff and they changed the battery in the smoke detector but it still went off the last night at 4:30 a.m. I'm not sure what the source is but for a light sleeper, it is a problem.

The only other item that prevents a five star rating is the common practice among these types of hotels for charging you very high prices for what business travelers require, i.e. internet service and copies. I refuse to give a 5 star in protest of this practice.

But the staff was lovely.

Room Tip: My room was quiet except for the obnoxious chirping noise. Room 430
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebbieSnavely, General Manager at Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful comments surrounding your recent stay and meeting experience. I am thrilled you enjoyed the newly-renovated guest rooms and took special notice of the exceptional staff service. We take great pride in providing warm and friendly service in every department, and I will be sure to share your feedback with everyone! It also makes me very happy to see how much you enjoyed the meal functions at your meeting, as I feel it is another area that sets us apart from other hotels. Lastly, we will inspect your room to make sure everything is working properly moving forward. I hope we get to welcome you back next time you are in Newport Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    312
    133
    52
    19
See reviews for
127
170
42
298
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Utsunomiya, Japan
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

This is a tired property that only has fashion island to save it. The location is OK but there are better ones in Southern California, This hotel is kind of confused as it is not a pure business hotel, not a really good location for a meeting, not romantic enough for couples and not really above average in any aspect. I have been here before and if it was not a Mariott I would not stay here as I get gold benefits, I complained about the bed and they did NOTHING and ended up with back pain. Glad to check out and would never come back. Held a meeting here 56 years ago and I swear it is the same bed. Just a terrible place that could be so much better.

Room Tip: don't go here if you have any choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebbieSnavely, General Manager at Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Guest,
I am sorry to see you did not your stay at our hotel. We take great pride in providing exceptional service and comfortable accommodations for our guests, and I regret that we did not meet your expectations. Please contact me directly if you would like to discuss your experience in further detail.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Stayed here for a short 3 day conference which was very well run by the hotel. They provided great meals and snacks as well as excellent service around the hotel. The rooms were comfortable and well maintained allowing for a good night's rest.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juleemay, General Manager at Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for your recent review and the great feedback about your stay with us. Our staff strives to exceed our guests’ expectations and we’ll be sure to let them know you enjoyed their hospitality. It’s nice to hear that you had an enjoyable conference. We look forward to seeing you again the next time your travels bring you to Fresno!

Julee May
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas Valley
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

For the area, this hotel had lots to offer my family of 4. (my wife, our too young daughters, and me)

The location and close proximity to the Fashion Island Mall gives you tons of dining options, not to mention the SHOPPING. You're less than a 5 minutes away from Balboa Island, 10 minutes to the Newport Beach peninsula, and only 15 minutes to Huntington Beach.

This hotel gives lots of options for dining and recreation in the area. Two swimming pools for guests and an additional, smaller pool for those using the hotel's spa services. If you have younger children, check out the smaller swimming pool, which gets as shallow as 2 feet.

There is a Starbuck's just off of the main lobby, with super-friendly staff.
Lots of areas to sit and relax throughout the hotel property. A few spots even have ocean views.

The room was great! Just enough room for the four of us. Even the roll-away bed was comfortable enough for my 5-year old to fall right asleep. The golf course to the rear of the proterty just about guarantees a quieter environment than most other hotels in the area can offer. The toiletries provided were a nice touch.

Parking? Not horrible. If your room is in the main tower, it's a bit of a walk. The $25 per night hurts a little, but there are 4 underground parking levels for hotel guests, which is really nice for the summer months. $25 a night is about average for the area, so it's not all bad.

Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I've stayed at this Marriot over 15 nights (non-consecutive). The property is nice, don't expect "nothing outrageously gorgeous".. it is actually a bit dated on the outside but the rooms are nicely furnished, very clean and semi-modern (plasma TV). The pool area is beautiful, but the few times I've been there (at the pool) I have never been approached by a waiter offering drinks or snacks... or anything. This last time I came with my wife we experienced several issues: i) our room had a buzzing sound that came from behind a wall (apparently they have some network equipment there) and it was really bothersome,, (ii) Not enough hangers, (iii) no control remote,(iv) room key not working @ parking lot, (v) wife had to call 5 different people to get an answer on a particular issue. Staff is very friendly, but I prefer effectiveness over friendliness and this hotel is not very effective. We had to approach the manager to get these issues solved and moved to another room after already unpacking. Plus if you get a room at the Pacific Pointe tower (allegedly more peaceful & quiet) you have to walk about 5-7 minutes to get there...

Room Tip: If you like walking choose any room at the Pacific Point Tower. Rooms on the 6th floor or above on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebbieSnavely, General Manager at Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Guest,
First, I would like to thank you for continuing to choose our hotel when traveling in the area. We greatly value your continued business. I am glad to see you enjoyed our newly-renovated guest rooms, but am disappointed to hear about the multiple issues you encountered during your most recent stay, as well as the fact it took multiple contacts with our team to get the desired resolution. Your experience is not up to the high levels of service on which we pride ourselves. I will take your feedback to all departments involved. I hope you will provide us the opportunity to welcome you in the future and provide you with the exceptional experience you deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cave Creek, Arizona
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

This is a nice hotel across the intersection from the Fashion Island Mall. The bed was very comfortable and there was a lighted make-up mirror in the bathroom. Large shower with an adjustable shower head. There is a seperate area outside of the bathroom with a mirror where one person can be doing their hair when the other person is in the bathroom. Larger bars of soap for the showers was nice. One thing I didn't like is we spent over $500 on two nights and while I'm a Silver Elite Marriott member, they wanted to charge me $50 extra per night to get a room with an ocean view. You also have to pay $25 per day to park.

Room Tip: Maybe try to ask for a room with a view when booking it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, CA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

I must say that the hotel staff is very friendly and will make you feel welcome. I stayed for 2 nights to attend a convention in town and had a king bed room. Room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. The hotel has a Starbucks on-site and is conveniently located across from Fashion Island which has a number of good restaurants. I'd stay here again.

The only issue I have is the lack of airport shuttle like the Hyatt Regency provides. But that's a minor issue since taxis are readily available.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa

Address: 900 Newport Center Drive, Newport Beach, CA 92660
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Newport Beach
#6 Luxury Hotel in Newport Beach
#11 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 532
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amid the unparalleled beauty and relaxed luxury of Newport Beach comes an inventive new concept in hospitality - and a whole new take on the Southern California lifestyle. Welcome to the $75 million redesign of the Newport Beach Marriott Hotel and Spa, where you'll find your most ambitious visions realized. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Marriott, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel And Spa
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel Newport Beach
Marriott Newport Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.