We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Little inn By The Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Little inn By The Bay to your Saves list
Little inn By The Bay
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2627 Newport Boulevard, Newport Beach, CA 92663   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
South Dakota
1 review
“Loved the location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2009

My husband and I stayed here for a few nights at the beginning of June and had basically no problems. They took away breakfast a little early but there is a McDonalds next door. We could also hear traffic at night but it didn't bother us so much that we couldn't sleep at all. This hotel isn't directly on the beach but it's so close! We LOVED the location, you walk just a couple minutes and you're there! When we checked in, the front desk lady told us of a few places to eat and was pretty helpful. We went to the Mexican restaurant behind the hotel on a daily basis, they were so nice! I believe it's called Avila's El Ranchito. We highly recommend it, happy hour has discounted drinks and free food, not just chips and salsa! Overall, yes this place could be updated, but for the price we paid we were very pleased. I was extremely nervous once we arrived due to previous reviews but we had basically no problems so we can't really complain about anything there.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    29
    18
    11
    38
See reviews for
21
46
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2009

I picked this Motel because of the closeness to the beach, free beach cruisers and price. I don't require a fancy hotel but a clean one would have been nice. The minute we arrived I asked about reserving 2 bikes - oh, they don't have bikes anymore - this was advertised on the website when i made my reservations 3 weeks prior and now conveniently no mention when I went to double check today. When we opened the room door, we were shocked at the condition of the contents - very old, worn out and in major need of remodeling. When we left on Saturday morning for the beach, we specifically asked if the room would be serviced - make the bed, provide fresh towels - the minimum one would think...The guy at the desk said of course with a smile on his face. When we returned at 5pm, no one had been in the room. We asked if we could at least get clean towels - again he said sure - we asked 4 times. By 10 am Sunday morning he had still not provided. It is on a very busy street with a lot of foot traffic so don't expect peace and quiet. We asked for some of our money back but were refused.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redmond
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

This hotel was almost uninhabitable. I stayed there with my teenage girl who almost left when we saw the room. The only window in the room faced a busy street, and the vertical blinds would not close all the way so people could constantly see in. It was also next to the louf ice machine and a corder liquor store. The toilet was not secured to the floor properly, so it wiggled every time you sat on it. The shower head sprayed in 50 different directions, and the carpet was filthy. Also, they advertised free bike use, but I was told that is no longer available due to liability concerns. No other compensation was offered for this omission. The worst stay ever, period. It should go out of business.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura County
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2009

I booked a reservation there 5 months in advance of the Newport Beach City Birthday Bash. I booked one of the big rooms in front with the sliders. When I got there to check in, the gentleman said that room was not available. I said "I booked it months ago, and you called me to confirm it yesterday." He said "Do you know what is going on this weekend?" I said "yes, thats why i'm here." He said the room was not available, but he had a room in the back on the bottom floor.
Bottom line, I paid for that room, He sold the room I booked and paid for , for triple my price to someone else, because he had no clue what was going on that weekend. He did NOTHING to appease me on this. I was so angry and had traveled so far to be there. What a complete farce that was!!! Be careful if you are booking ahead of time for something going on there in the future. They might do it to you too!!!!

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2009

The hotel was not on the beach but on a busy street we had a beautiful view of McDonalds, We had to open the window for fresh air, because room was stuffy and hot, air conditioner did not work well, , It was by a liquor store and there was a party outside our room window til at least 3 or 4 am, very noisy, There was a cot in our room when we checked in and when we went to dinner and left the privacy sign on it was taken out of our room and we were told it was not available when we called for it to be we returned. We were told we did not pay for it , but we were not asked if we wanted it , were not called to let us know it was being taken or given the option to pay for it. Also the pillows and bedspreads were dirty, the counters were stained and dirty looking. We had booked the Catilina package and were over charged for the tickets and the "breakfast " was not put out until at least 845 when we had to leave for the boat. Before that there was fruit and dry cereal with no milk. that was put out at 730. Also we checked in with 4 guest and were given 2 sets of towels. We were unable to reach anyone at the front desk to bring us any towels. We had to share. I would not recomend this place to anyone. I am not sure how it recieved its AAA rating.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2009

I have referred friends to this place and its great. You cannot go into this expecting 4 or 5 star accomodations, but if you really like quaint and close to everything than this is a perfect spot.
I use the bikes and take walks or runs, its perfect for the one who likes to work out.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2009

the room was basic but had everything you would need. it was clean and had a good size bathroom and comfy beds. it was excellently located 1 minute walk from the beach and a couple of minutes walk from the pier and bars/restaurants. it is on the corner af a few busy roads but when the windows were closed in the room it was quiet enough and the air con. was very efficient so not a problem!

all in all a good value place to stay with very friendly staff in a great location!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Little inn By The Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little inn By The Bay

Address: 2627 Newport Boulevard, Newport Beach, CA 92663
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Newport Beach
#14 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Little inn By The Bay 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Little Inn has recently renovated its entire property to provide the utmost comfort to its guests. As a visitor, you may have already explored many lodging options in Newport Beach, but when you go out with your friends and/or family, you deserve the best place to stay with the most convenient location. Our humble staff is enthusiastic to help you plan your vacation. Little Inn by the Bay is always one step ahead in satisfying its visitors, by offering them best accommodations in Newport Beach, even as the most inexpensive hotel on Balboa Peninsula. Little Inn by the Bay offers complimentary Wi-Fi, Wired Internet Access, Parking, Bicycles, Beach Equipment upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, BookIt.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Little inn By The Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little Hotel Newport Beach
Little Hotel By The Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little inn By The Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.