We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Newport Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Newport Beach to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1107 Jamboree Rd, Newport Beach, CA 92660   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
GreenLeadersGold level
Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

I can't say enough good things about this hotel. It has been beautifully refurbished, the pools are fantastic, and the staff are so friendly and so helpful - especially Katie, Helena & Joe. We were given a fantastic room with a balcony in the Catalina building on the top floor overlooking the quiet pool. It was really lovely. And if you have forgotten anything they pretty much have everything you might need - nothing was any trouble. The food is great, there is also a Starbucks in the morning and the bar is fab. It's lovely to eat/have a glass of wine out on the terrace with the palm trees! The kids loved the family pool, especially the water slide and the kids activities which were free every friday/sat while we were there. The shuttle buses to Balboa and Fashion Island were so handy and such a brilliant idea for guests. The only negative I would have about this hotel is that some of the rooms do over look the car park and I think perhaps the hotel could maybe put up some kind of attractive screening for guests. They have put in so much effort this hotel and it all is so lovely, that it seems a shame that some guests should have to look at a car park during their stay. I would have been very disappointed if we had been given these rooms, although I'm sure that they are very nice inside. The only other thing is that during their 'concert series' at the hotel they use a few of their top floor rooms as 'concert boxes' on a friday night - of which we were opposite. It seemed very inappropriate to us, to use actual hotel rooms in this way, and although it wasn't a massive deal & only for a couple hours, it felt intrusive having our bedroom just opposite these functions and then having drunk people make a ton of noise as they were leaving at 10pm. Crazy! HOWEVER, all in all a brilliant hotel and I would definitely recommend it. It is also in a great location to explore California - Disney is about 20 mins away and it took us 1hr to get to LA, and we had a great drive down the coast to San Diego.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah M, Manager at Hyatt Regency Newport Beach, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback! We do host a summer night concert series on Friday evenings every week in the summer. We are very sorry that you were disturbed by people attending sky boxes for the concert. If you stay with us again, I would highly recommend the Balboa Building for your stay because it has great views of our golf course and pool, yet is away from the lobby and the concert so you can have peace and quiet. Feel free to reach out to me directly if you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    182
    93
    29
    12
See reviews for
135
92
12
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Very nice hotel with an excellent and very accommodating staff. I had gone on a fishing trip and they were nice enough to store my big catch of fresh tuna in their freezer for a couple of days! Great location as it is close to Balboa and Fashion Island. Just the ideal spot in Newport that I plan on visiting again soon. The people at the bar are awesome!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Maryland
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Unfortunately I stayed here for business and could not take advantage of all this hotel had to offer. With 3 pools, a 9 hole executive (par 3) golf course, tennis, spa, plus more you could take a vacation at the hotel and never leave. The rooms are spacious and roomy with a balcony overlooking a courtyard. The hotel restaurant "The Shor" offers a fixed price menu where you choose from options for each course. The food was excellent, despite the limited offering. The bar offers burgers and other pub fare. Outside the rooms you could tell you were on the flight path of the Orange County, John Wayne Airport. However, inside the rooms were very quite.

Room Tip: Rooms in the Lido courtyard are the furthest away from the lobby and are right next to the golf cour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah M, Manager at Hyatt Regency Newport Beach, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Thank you for sharing your great experience with us! We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

My friend and I stayed at the Hyatt Regency Newport Beach and had a blast! The beds were super comfy. The room was clean. Room service was quick and delicious. Parking was easy and convenient. Staff seemed very happy all of the time.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money and get a Villa - you'll have your own private pool. AMAZING!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah M, Manager at Hyatt Regency Newport Beach, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Thank you very much for your great feedback! I'm glad you enjoyed the Villa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

On a positive, the hotel itself is excellent - 3 great pools with beds, hammocks etc. Nice lobby and outside bar, and a decent location - Balboa island is walkable (15 minutes). Service was a different story. We booked two separate queen size rooms, and they gave us 1 queen size room and a suite which had a sofa bed! Obviously we complained and they finally managed to find us another queen size room - But very annoyed after messing around for 45 minutes. Secondly, when we got into the room, we found that there was urine all over the floor in the bathroom from the last guest - Once again, I had to return to the lobby to request a cleaner, i got an apology but nothing more! Next - We ordered coffees they told us to wait outside and they would bring them over, 15 minutes passed with no coffee - on our return, we found that they had just been left on the side going cold. Finally, they failed to inform us that there was a resort fee until we departed, once again very frustrating. Staff Training required!!!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

This Hyatt is an older structure but the rooms are well maintained and the grounds are spread out and lovely. Three pools, shuffleboard, golf, bikes to rent all add to the fun. Location convenient to Balboa Island and Fashion Island.
We found the service to be friendly and very accommodating. Lobby attractive and there is Starbucks available. Family friendly. We make this our Orange County hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Stayed at this hotel over 4th of July and the location is perfect! and fairly nice bar with great staff and that would be about it! Ok I will say the newly renovated gym was nice a little small but fine for a workouts. The property needs a lot of upgrades it looks run down kind of reminded us of a 70's motel 6. The walls are thin so thin they sent an email saying please keep your voices down because our hotel is old and has thin walls. The beds are terrible and squeaky so they would wake you if you moved when you went to sleep. The carpets needed to be replaced and the a/c unit worked fine but you could see rust all around it(wall unit). All in all I will not be staying here again until they can do a full remodel and upgrade to all rooms.(because our room was updated)

Room Tip: I really have not it's a shot in the dark
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hyatt Regency Newport Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Newport Beach

Address: 1107 Jamboree Rd, Newport Beach, CA 92660
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Newport Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in Newport Beach
#5 Luxury Hotel in Newport Beach
#13 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Newport Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 403
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 26 beautifully landscaped acres, offering style and luxury in the heart of the city’s best shopping, dining and entertainment venues. Minutes to Fashion Island and Balboa Island and centrally located on Jamboree and Pacific Coast Highway providing easy access to major attractions & theme parks, local beaches and business. Ideal setting for groups and events featuring high-tech meeting space and tropical outdoor venues, this landmark hotel easily accommodates functions of all sizes. With its rich blend of Pacific, Indonesian and Mediterranean styles, the Hyatt radiates the warmth and charm of this unique beach community unlike any other hotel in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Newport Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach Hotel Newport Beach
Hyatt Newport Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Newport Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.