We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some part have been improved still work in progress” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Newport Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Newport Beach to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1107 Jamboree Rd, Newport Beach, CA 92660   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 25% off 4-Nights
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
GreenLeadersGold level
Hertford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Some part have been improved still work in progress”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

This was my fourth stay in about 10 years. Some things have improved since my last visit about 4 years ago. I was staying there for a conference. I would strongly recommend the balboa wing of rooms. These room have been recently upgraded and the carpet smelt fresh. I stayed in a room looking on to the balboa pool however the trees are so mature and block the light out you have to have a light on all day. Bed was very comfortable. The Balboa pool area is the best out of all the three there. The sun longueurs are new and comfortable. We spent two days down there and there was a max of 10 people there per day. If you wanted service at the pool they have this app you can down load to order however you must have a US phone number so from the UK you have to us the pool side phone. Also the $22.00 per day car parking is quite high. Was able to use my Hyatt Gold Passport and get free wifi :) Gym is good and not to busy at 6am to 7am. Hotel has improved but still more to do.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    137
    70
    23
    12
See reviews for
108
67
11
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Purcellville, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

The Newport Beach Hyatt has some things you'd expect and one that I was shocked to discover. The TV in my room was analog! The picture was terrible! What a massive disappointment. The other issue was Internet access. That they still don't offer free Wi-Fi is another shocker. You have to ASK for robes which is troubling in this price range.

I will admit that the food at our banquet was quite good and the service very friendly. And, the bathroom in my room was delightful with back-lit mirrors and updated furniture/fixtures. It is not near anything scenic except for a nature preserve but the property itself is lovely.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

I was here for a work meeting so I would've normally never stayed here for pleasure. I would highly recommend for families that would like to be close to water as there is a bay right next to hotel. Not sure if its available to all because our group rented it out for an evening. Ideal waters for paddle boarding and kayaking.

Liked: - Self parking is convenient because property is sprawling. Easy access to car if your room was in a building away from the lobby. I was in the Balboa building which I would recommend- clean and quiet (apart from loud air conditioner)
- Hotel catering was one of the best I've had! Greek yogurt fruit parfaits, green tea pana cotta...
- cool kid friendly pool but also had cabana options

Dislikes: - some of the meeting rooms and rooms were not nice. Unless you have kids, avoid rooms next to pool. Very motel-like.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

This is a high end luxury resort hotel and one pays a very steep price to stay here. Expect extra charges for self-parking, etc. Just don't expect complimentary breakfast or anything without paying more. It is what it is. Thus, one should expect top service and amenities. The staff did not disappoint. The food was outstanding. I had one of the best steaks ever here in the dining room. There are several pools and it is just a short walk to the beach.

The rooms are well-appointed. Yes, it is true that there is very little privacy (well, not really any privacy) due to louvers in the bathroom doors. Annoying, cheap and low class, but that is about the only flaw in the room. The cleanliness was outstanding. The beds are very comfortable.

Room Tip: There are many choices. Just ask the desk clerk to explain options. We had a room facing the patio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilroy, California, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I travelled here on a work trip. My work paid for the room and everything else. We have to have roommates in my profession and was put into a room with double beds. First off the bathroom door is not really there. They are shutters! You can hear and see almost everything through them. If you need a room with a double bed then you are staying with friends or children and I don't think that the whole room needs to hear you go to the bathroom! Put freaking doors up! Plus the beds have a sheet as a comforter and there are NO blankets in the room. Freezing cold even when they brought be an extra thin blanket. Then there is the sewage smell that spews up from the back of the building. Our room was at the back of the hotel so from the lobby it was a long walk that was up and down stairs, up and down, up and down. The food was OK. Nothing special. The ONLY plus was the staff was very nice and welcoming. The front desk staff that checked me in was a little slow. They had mixed up my first and last name so they told me they didn't have a room for me. He had to get a manager to figure out the mistake. There are so many other places to stay in Newport. Don't bother with this Hyatt.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

My first stay at The Hyatt Newport Beach was March 2013 (business trip) and it was shortly after they just completed the 15 million-dollar renovation. This by far is one of the cleanest and well laid-out resorts I have visited. The beds are super comfortable with many fluffy pillows. The drapes are designed to block out the daylight so you'll get a restful sleep. The room decor is warm and reflects the upscale feel of Newport Beach. I actually stay at this property just about every other weekend and I truly look forward to seeing the friendly staff. Robert, the valet, always greets me with a pleasant smile and Sarah Morris has been absolutely phenomenal !! Out of all the Hyatt hotels I frequent, Hyatt Newport Beach is by far my favorite. For the business traveler, its perfect since it has an upscale executive feel with all the business amenities offered. If you are visiting with your family, its designed well with plenty of fun pools, cabanas and a well stocked snack shop. I especially enjoy the close proximity to Fashion Island shopping and Whole Foods.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed here for one night in the beginning of September. I found the customer service to be top notch. I expect great service from a hotel of this caliber but you don't always receive it. Check-in was smooth. They gave us an option of a few different rooms. We choose one straight through the main building in the next building by the pool with the water slide. As for the room: bathroom was great, beds were very comfortable, plenty of space. We did not visit the restaurant at the hotel but there was one. We did use the hot tub, which was actually quite large. Training for a half marathon, there was a really nice running path easily accessible out the back of the hotel, something I couldn't in every location we visited on this trip. They did have a fitness center as well that was nice. After checking in, we headed out and the front desk staff was very helpful with some info about the area.

I think would have been a great location for those looking for more a resort type experience where you can do everything practically without leaving the premise. It was also great for our fast paced travel style of exploring the surrounding area and experiencing as many of the hotel amenities as well.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Newport Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Newport Beach

Address: 1107 Jamboree Rd, Newport Beach, CA 92660
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Newport Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Newport Beach
#5 Spa Hotel in Newport Beach
#13 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Newport Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 403
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 26 beautifully landscaped acres, offering style and luxury in the heart of the city’s best shopping, dining and entertainment venues. Minutes to Fashion Island and Balboa Island and centrally located on Jamboree and Pacific Coast Highway providing easy access to major attractions & theme parks, local beaches and business. Ideal setting for groups and events featuring high-tech meeting space and tropical outdoor venues, this landmark hotel easily accommodates functions of all sizes. With its rich blend of Pacific, Indonesian and Mediterranean styles, the Hyatt radiates the warmth and charm of this unique beach community unlike any other hotel in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Newport Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach Hotel Newport Beach
Hyatt Newport Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Newport Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.