We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old but nice” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Newport Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Newport Beach to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1107 Jamboree Rd, Newport Beach, CA 92660   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 25% off 4-Nights
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
GreenLeadersGold level
Tampa
1 review
“Old but nice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Not your typical Hyatt, this is an older hotel well layed out in the natural landscape. Fun to walk around the property. Outside seating by the bar has a nice candle/firelight ambience. Apparently there were also activities about the grounds, but we never saw how to participate. Well located near local beaches, Crystal Cove State Park and just a short drive from Disneyland. The room was small. Ours had two double beds (apparently there are no rooms with two queens). There are French-style slotted closet doors separating the bed space from the bathroom. There is a spacious variety area but a tiny space behind the vanity for both the toilet and shower. There is no door separating this space and your legs would be completely visible to anyone standing in the vanity area. Awkward to say the least. I also struggle with hotels that nickel and dime you. From daily parking fees, to Internet access, to $14 drinks by the pool, our stay ended up being quite a bit more pricey than the rate we expected when we booked.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    136
    69
    23
    11
See reviews for
108
66
11
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Spent three days for conference at facility. I stayed in the Balboa building in King room with balcony overlooking a parking lot. The rooms have been completely renovated and are better than most Hyatts that have not had the reno work. The beds, linens, bathrooms are all new and look new--no signs of just a quick paint job and carpet. Everything in the room worked well and looked new. The room was quiet with a good desk area and nice sitting area The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. I rented a bike one evening and rode around the area--it was inexpensive and the staff made it easy to set up.
I led a two-day conference held in the Garden Rooms. The room has plenty of natural light and fairly quiet. We had breakfast and lunch on the patio area outside the room. The food and service for the conference was excellent.
The funky part is due to the resort grounds. Hyatt did not completly earse the '60-70s vibe around the pool and building exteriors. The three buildings for rooms each have a nearby pool. If you have young children you might want a room in the building that has the pool with the large slides--the other two pools don't (for example). The the lobby & lobby coffee/bar area were very current.
I understand the less than amazing comments on the property but the rooms are to Hyatt Regency standards--as a business traveler that is a priority.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I visited Hyatt Regency Newport Beach for a work-ation (work w/ a little vacation). The hotel is recently renovated and has a boutique feel. Very spacious room that was clean and had a walk out patio. Since the weather was cooler than expected for August I wasn't able to use the pools, but they had three separate pools that could accommodate kids and adults that wanted to be away from the noise. The staff was incredibly welcoming and helpful. Everyone was friendly and greeted me when walking the property. For me - that goes a long way. In addition, the hotel was walking distance to Balboa Island and other outdoor entertainment. I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This property has so many pluses--outstanding lobby and valet service, 3 pools, a water slide (that our granddaughter loved!), shuffleboard, ping pong, restaurant, lovely indoor/outdoor bar, and location. The down side is that they don't advertise the activities and their restaurant and bar in the rooms; you have to wander around and figure it out for yourself! I expected something in the room telling about the hotel, the pools and water slide, the restaurant and the surrounding area--but the small folder in the room only gave the barest basics. As we were leaving, I went online to their website and found a lovely description of the hotel and all the things to do at the hotel, as well as the surrounding area. This should be in the rooms, at your fingertips. The rooms are well set up. We stayed in the Balboa building, and the air filtration was great. I have allergies, but didn't choose the PURE rooms they offer, and still felt great all the time I was in the room. Impressive! We did have a problem with the restaurant and room service--they just couldn't seem to get our simple orders correct! The hotel did remove the charges, but having problems with the food service twice was disheartening. Overall, this is a lovely property that's very nicely located. Just needs some improvement in the restaurant service and better marketing of all they offer. We would return, especially now that we know all the fun they offer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darien, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

the rooms were small and still outdated even though they had been renovated, good for young families because it has a good pool area with a slide but still not really nice.
not a really nice Hyatt more like 3 stars. Some of the hotel looks like an old motel.
Staf was very nice and good location

Room Tip: a 3 star hotel and I thought it would be 4 star
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

The hotel location is very good. It had a resort feel with the golf course and three pools. There were couple of incidents made me feel like they are understaffed. The bellboy complaining about his knees wasn't very professional either. The hotel claims 15 million Dolar worth of renovations have been made. The hotel lobby is nice, rooms are ok the rest needs more work. Self parking is too far.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Stayed one night room 254 facing the back bay and Balboa Island in the distance. It is an older property but they have kept it current in room décor, gardens, pool, & restaurant. The staff were friendly and very helpful. This is a nice property and really quiet for being in the middle of busy Newport Beach.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the bay are the most quiet, rooms facing the pool have more ambient noise but lots is g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Newport Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Newport Beach

Address: 1107 Jamboree Rd, Newport Beach, CA 92660
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Newport Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Newport Beach
#5 Spa Hotel in Newport Beach
#13 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Newport Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 403
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 26 beautifully landscaped acres, offering style and luxury in the heart of the city’s best shopping, dining and entertainment venues. Minutes to Fashion Island and Balboa Island and centrally located on Jamboree and Pacific Coast Highway providing easy access to major attractions & theme parks, local beaches and business. Ideal setting for groups and events featuring high-tech meeting space and tropical outdoor venues, this landmark hotel easily accommodates functions of all sizes. With its rich blend of Pacific, Indonesian and Mediterranean styles, the Hyatt radiates the warmth and charm of this unique beach community unlike any other hotel in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Newport Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach Hotel Newport Beach
Hyatt Newport Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Newport Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.