We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's the little things” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel

Save Saved
You added Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1800 West Balboa Boulevard, Newport Beach, CA 92663   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 17 hotels in Newport Beach
Albuquerque
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“It's the little things”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Bay Shore Hotel is for those who appreciate comfortable surroundings, a great location(two blocks to the beach) and wonderful service. Everyone we encountered was friendly, informative and extremely helpful. We were made to feel welcome immediately and even though we arrived early, the room was ready for us. Our room felt like a California bungalow. Whoever decorated knows how to develop a theme, which in our case was Southern California Surfer with just the right amount of class, like the surfer boy wall paper in the bathroom with real orchid flowers above the sink. After a late night out, it was wonderful to have the bed turned down for us, with chocolates on the pillow, and a soothing CD playing. Peanut butter cookies were always available and breakfast has wonderful selections. I really just can't say enough about how I enjoyed this visit. If your ever in Newport, give this hotel a try. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: We had a 2nd floor room right off the road but it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review - I wish I could take credit for the decor and 'all the little things' you mentioned but as with everything else great in my life, that's my wife! Joking apart, everyone at Bay Shores takes great pride in making the hotel feel like a home away from home and nothing gives us greater pleasure than in the provision of small, thoughtful extras. Hoping you'll come and stay again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    277
    56
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
58
178
13
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

This was an amazing hotel, could not have asked for more. The staff were incredible and did everything to make our stay perfect. There were lots and lots of little things that made this stay so special such as the beautiful roof top terrace where on one side you could see the harbour and the other side beach. The hotel also provides an amazing breakfast, free warm mid afternoon cookies, lots of free beach equipment inc boogie boards, deck chairs, umbrellas.

It is in great location only one road away from the beach, near all the restaurants and the pier.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thank you for providing our first review of 2014 - Happy New Year to you all in the UK! We very much appreciate you coming so far and staying with us and for describing us as "amazing" ! I hope you had a safe return journey home; when you're ready to come back, the sun, the sand and the cookies will be waiting and we'll be delighted to host you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcadia, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

I needed to find a room near Hoag Hospital for a business meeting the following day. I usually stay at the Holiday Inn Express on Coast Highway, but they didn't have any rooms available on such short notice. Based on the glowing reviews I saw on TripAdvisor, I decided to give Bay Shores a try.

The location can't be beat, given the proximity to the beach and all the nearby restaurants within a few blocks walking distance (e.g. Akropolis, Crab Cooker, Old Spaghetti Factory, etc.). Parking at the hotel itself is a little limited, but they will give you a pass to use at the lot across the street if you need to. The lobby is really cool with lighthouses and other nautical decorative touches. The person at the front desk was very friendly and gave me a room--I think it was called the Boardwalk--on the lower level just adjacent to the lobby area.

The room itself was a bit on the small side but adequate for just one person. There was a definite surfer motif to the decor; I especially liked the cast iron replica of a Woodie on the bathroom shelf. Unfortunately, the closet space was quite limited and cramped, which I didn't like. I also found out the following morning that the built-in wall hair dryer didn't work. Also, the fabric on the chairs in the sitting area looked like it had seen better days. However, the bed was comfortable enough and i slept pretty well there. The bathroom was of a decent size and the shower had better than average water pressure. In regard to the overall level of cleanliness, I didn't have any complaints.

I wanted to like this place more than I did since it does have a likeable California surfer vibe to it, which certainly suits the surroundings. Still, the smallness of the room and closet space, the nonfunctional hair dryer, and the faded fabric of the chairs detracted somewhat from my enjoyment of the property. I struggled over whether to give this a three star or four star rating but ultimately decided on the former. In all honesty, I would probably rate it a three and a half if TripAdvisor allowed for that. As long as you keep your expectations fairly low, you'll probably be satisfied with this casual, no-frills, and reasonably priced (by Newport Beach standards) lodging option.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such an expansive review - the comments of seasoned travelers such as yourself are always most welcome. I appreciate your observations on decor and space - we do bill ourselves as "small, friendly and with a vintage vibe", - but apologize for the non operative hairdryer which isn't part of our vibe at all ! What we lacked in size and luxury I hope we more than compensated for with genuine hospitality and look forward to hosting you again the next time you find yourself in Newport Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

This place was a wonderful place to stay. The staff are so friendly and helpful that we felt at home immediately. Rooms are lovely, cookies add the final touch. Wireless internet was great. We had all our questions answered with lots of recommendations for things to do. We could easily have stayed a week.

Room Tip: Sea view room was worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you for your review - I'm so glad that we could make you feel right at home! Looking forward to you coming for a whole week next time; the cookies will be waiting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upland, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

My wife celebrated her 60th birthday on the 16th of Dec, so we decided to stay at the Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel and go on a boat tour at night. The Hotel is located a very short walk from the beach and has 3 floors. We stayed on the second floor. The room was very cozy, just the right size for the two of us. Not a lot of parking, but there is a lot right next door. The hotel is very charming with a beautiful little lobby and old fashioned elevator. Warren, the owner was very friendly and answered our questions thoroughly. The bed was very comfortable, the bathroom nice and the shower pressure was strong, which is not always the case when we are away from home. The window in the room opens which was nice with the weather being so mild. There is a rooftop sundeck where you can watch the sunset. There is a large selection of DVDs to borrow also, and a computer in the lobby. There is a very nice breakfast area with a separate little kitchen where you can make your own meal. They have bagels, microwave sausage and egg bagels, cereal, muffins, yogurt, and coffee. We are definitely going back there again.

Room Tip: I would get a room higher on the side away from the main street. They are doing work out there, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Firstly, congratulations to your wife on her 60th birthday and thank you for coming to spend such a special event with us! I appreciate you mentioning little details like water pressure, cleanliness and bed comfort to your fellow travelers because those things can make all difference between a good stay, and a great stay. We of course aim to make every guests stay the best that it can be, so if you think of any other little extras we might provide, please don't hesitate to let me know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richfield, Utah
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

This is the perfect hotel for a family vacation. They have everything you need to enjoy the beach, chairs, towels, and even toys for the kids. It's a little pricy, but well worth it. I love the fresh bagels in the morning and cookies every afternoon. The staff is so accommodating, and all the rooms are clean and fresh. It's just the perfect place to stay for a beach vacation. Plus everything you need for your stay is within walking distance so you can park your car and not have to worry about driving at all the whole time you're here!

Room Tip: Call as far a head as possible and ask for the family suite, it sleeps 6 very comfortably.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you for coming to stay with us and for taking the time to write such a nice review. I'm so glad that you found everything to your liking and that your children were able to enjoy the beach toys. I'll share your sentiments with my staff; they will be thrilled that you noticed their high level of service. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights and enjoyed every minute. Rooms are very clean and fresh with everything you need and are cleaned every day. They have a breakfast room where you help yourself . The hotel is very close to the beach on one side and the harbour on the other. There are bars and restaurants within a short walk .

The hotel staff are great special shout out to Warren who recommended restaurants to us and also gave us a voucher for a free dessert and will help with anything. They have chairs and boogie boards for you to take to the beach if you want to.

Newport beach is great not crowded at all and has a good relaxed atmosphere Balboa island is also very nice .They also have a rooftop terrace where you can watch the sunset.

Cannot recommend this hotel enough would go back if staying in Newport again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
We're all so glad you had a wonderful time during your recent stay with us. Thank you for mentioning the amenities you enjoyed (boogie boards, roof top lounge etc) so that other visitors can enjoy them too. I hope you had a safe journey home and very much look forward to you coming back to see us one day soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel

Address: 1800 West Balboa Boulevard, Newport Beach, CA 92663
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newport Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Newport Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrating over thirty years under the same family ownership and operation, the Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel is the perfect place for tourists, business travelers and beach people who love to find value and quality in a small, B&B style environment. Only steps from America’s finest beaches on the "California Riviera", we are just 3 blocks from the historic Newport Pier including the shopping, fine dining and nightlife you would expect from the southern California beach scene. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Bay Shores
Peninsula Newport Beach
Newport Beach Peninsula

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.