We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly on the Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel

Save Saved
You added Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1800 West Balboa Boulevard, Newport Beach, CA 92663   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
For multi-bed rooms, call
Ranked #1 of 17 hotels in Newport Beach
barcelona
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Truly on the Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I stayed at the hotel one night. It is right on the beach and the beach is wonderful. It is quiet, relaxed and very friendly. All extras are free including parking. Free freshly baked cookies in the lounge after 15.00 hours. My only reserve is that the rooms are not large. Perfectly adequate for me on my own but maybe not so much for a couple. However the bed was big and comfortable. Staff were all very helpful. They have a large DVD library which is free for guests, in fact so many attentive details and the roof top terrace is a lovely place to sit and enjoy the view. There are many restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for coming to our Country and for making Bay Shores part of your journey. I really appreciate your review and for mentioning so many of our amenities. We'd love to have the pleasure of your company if you return this way again, safe travels for the rest of your vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    286
    56
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
61
181
14
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I booked this hotel after reading other reviews and it lived up to the expectations. Very helpful & friendly staff, clean & well appointed rooms, excellent location to the beach and restaurants, free beach chairs & toys, free breakfast, free parking and best of all is the wonderful customer service (greeting card on bed, turn down at night & ohhh those cookies). I would definitely stay and recommend here again. We enjoy smaller hotel venues instead of the mega chains and this one fits the bill.

Room Tip: ask for room off Balboa Ave (the main drag)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
On behalf of all independent hotel owners everywhere, thank you for being our treasured guest and for choosing the unique experience only a boutique hotel can provide. I so appreciate you taking the time to write your review, I hope you come up the Coast to stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, UK
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

As with other reviewers we had a great stay at the hotel, and after having stayed at a 4 Diamond hotel in San Diego before our visit here were a bit apprehensive.
Location is excellent - across the beach and bay. Free car parking. Staff were very attentive and helpful.
Great buffet breakfast to start the day and we took ours on the sundeck on the 4th floor, with views of both the ocean and bay.
A short walk to Newport pier and restuarants and bar - the car did move for the 3 days of our stay.
Beach towels, chairs and body boards provided without charge.
Will definitely return.
Thanks to all for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
On behalf of all the employees, thank you for coming to stay and for posting your review. I really appreciate you mentioning the hotel's proximity to both the bay and the beach and for commenting on the staff. Location and service are the stock in trade at Bay Shores and I am so glad that you found both to your liking. Hope you come back one day to see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Well to start with we really enjoyed staying at the Bay Shores Peninsula hotel. Others have said so many good things so it’s hard to come up with something different.

One of the most important things to understand is what you’re looking for in a place to stay. Do you want a spa – resort experience with waiter’s pool side to take your drink order, or a place where you just pour yourself a drink and head up to the roof deck and take in the sunset? Do you want valets or free parking? Do you want to plan a trip to the beach, just walk across the street? Do you want to be able to dine at the hotel or go walking and explore what is available in the neighborhood? We’ve enjoyed staying at both types of facilities; but typically we go with the latter.

Overall the Bay Shores Peninsula hotel is a great facilitator of fun at a very reasonable rate, how much fun you have is strictly up to you. It’s easy to go down and list all the hotel has to offer, but it’s what worked for us that was important, we specifically liked -

• No resort or parking fees, seriously these are getting out of hand at some places

• Being able to get a light breakfast before going out for the morning or day

• Relaxing in the lobby reading a Surfer magazine (hotel provided) while waiting for my wife to get ready to go out and about

• Grabbing a couple cookies for a snack between lunch and dinner, or for a later late night snack

• Getting a couple of DVD’s to watch in the evening after a long day out and about

• Walking a block or so for something to eat, the donut place and Original Pizza, both near the pier, are both really good and the 7-11 is handy

• Heading up to the roof deck for a few minutes of RnR and to take in the view

• The 50 yard walk to the beach or 25 yard walk to the bay

All the Stuff

Location -
The location was great; you can walk to shops, restaurants, a convenience store or two and one of the piers. It is on a main drag so the traffic can be noisy with windows open, but we were surprised how quite our room could be with the windows closed.

Cleanliness -
The Bay Shores Peninsula hotel was clean. I typically judge cleanliness by the bath-shower enclosure and the quality of how things are painted, both in the room and around the facility. With the bath shower enclosure, nothing but shine. I understand quality of painting is odd, but it’s one area of maintenance to me that shows care and quality. Hotels take a beating and often you’ll find poorly performed paint maintenance, no prep just a splash of paint to cover the stain or gouge or whatever. None of that, everything was very well maintained.

Cost (basically everything was free for guests) –
I think the Bay Shores Peninsula hotel was a very good value considering the location, no charge parking, free cookies & breakfast, DVD’s to borrow and all kinds of beach gear to use, free wi-fi. Each room also has a small safe and refrigerator. Oh and also water and fruit in the room also.

Staff –
Everyone was very friendly and helpful.

Fun Factor -
Lots of opportunity for fun thanks to the hotel, watch a movie, get some cookies, go up and hang out on the roof desk, get some of the beach gear and go down to the beach or bay. Tons of hotel fun for guests.

The Funky –
• Yea the elevator was an old timer, but it was neat and added to the character of the place

• I think our Queen bed might have actually be a Princess, but hey all the cozier, yeah baby!

• Room was a little small, but our view was great. I think some of the rooms were larger, but I wouldn’t have traded. I think this would be a good thing to review with hotel staff if it is important to you.

Suggestion for the staff at the Bay Shores Peninsula hotel –
I only have one, maybe a sign or something letting people know they can get a coffee (or milk?) in the breakfast area while the cookies are out. Might be obvious to some, but I didn’t realize it until the second day.

Room Tip: 304 is small and probably has more traffic noise than other rooms, but has a nice view. Would recomm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
In all my years as a hotel owner, I don't think we have ever received such an extensive review!! Thank you so much for taking the time (and it must have taken a lot of time!) to provide future guests with such a comprehensive description of your recent experience. From the rooftop to the parking lot you covered it all to include the lovely way you described our elevator, an 'old timer' - now if I could just get such a graceful description applied to me! Again, thanks for the wonderful review; I sincerely hope you come and be our guest again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I stayed at the hotel with my wife for our honeymoon almost a year ago. We loved the place soooooo much that we still visit their website and see the pictures. The location was great, you can just walk to the beach. The staff is great and the breakfast is yummie. They also give out boards to use for surfing etc.
We will come back, this is a promise to the hotel! We cant wait to see you guys again.
Rustam

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
We are so touched that we are part of some of your very special and happy memories! To see new photos, you can also stay in touch with us on Facebook; we'd love to have the pleasure of your company there too. Looking forward to being part of your future happiness!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

My wife and i tried another "little inn" in Newport Beach 1 time and then we came across Bayshores while riding our bikes around. The staff was so greatful to show us a room, and thats all it took, we've been staying there for the last 4 years. Location is awesome, staff is awesome, friendly and very helpful. Great "FREE" breakfast in lobby every day. OH YA -- the Spunkmeyer cookies in the afternoon, MMMMM. Great location to the bars and restuarants by the pier. ( walking distance ) Rooftop is great to hang out and unwind with loved one and bottle of wine. This is our 5star hotel by far. "do not hesitate to stay here" Its not the RITZ, Its BETTER. Bill and Julie, Mesa AZ.

Room Tip: We haven't had a bad room yet. We like the Ocean view rooms. get up in morning, open windows and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Bill & Julie:
thank you for taking the time to write and for being one of our highly valued and appreciated return guests. Like you, I just love our rooftop lounge so thank you for recommending that to others and for passing on the room tips to other travelers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatsworth, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

The location is great, accommodations are great, room was clean quiet and very comfortable. We came here based off of other reviews and were not disappointed, the price here was very reasonable for Newport. We usually go to Newport a couple of times a year and we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
So glad you had a great stay and that when you come back you're planning on being our guests again. Thank you for taking the time to let other folks know about us and for being so complimentary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel

Address: 1800 West Balboa Boulevard, Newport Beach, CA 92663
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Newport Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newport Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrating over thirty years under the same family ownership and operation, the Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel is the perfect place for tourists, business travelers and beach people who love to find value and quality in a small, B&B style environment. Only steps from America’s finest beaches on the "California Riviera", we are just 3 blocks from the historic Newport Pier including the shopping, fine dining and nightlife you would expect from the southern California beach scene. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Bay Shores
Peninsula Newport Beach
Newport Beach Peninsula

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.