We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lives up to their reputation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel

Save Saved
You added Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1800 West Balboa Boulevard, Newport Beach, CA 92663   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
For multi-bed rooms, call
Ranked #1 of 17 hotels in Newport Beach
Wray, Colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lives up to their reputation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

It's just like everyone mentions great, friendly staff who value their guests. Beautiful, clean rooms that are a step from your cookie cutter hotels. Cookies are great, the food delicious, walking distance to both beaches. We were 100% satisfied and are planning on staying there during our next visit this summer.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Being a boutique hotel, we take great pride in our friendly, personal service and when you come back in the summer, my staff are sure to remember your name. Thank you for taking the time to write a review; our future guests are sure to appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    286
    56
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
61
181
14
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed here twice but have since found a home right next door to hotel. If you have been to Newport Beach you know parking is very difficult so staying at a hotel or home close to the beach is the only way to go. Hotel was clean, had a good breakfast, and was pretty quiet considering how much traffic is on Balboa Avenue. The peninsula is only two blocks wide where the hotel is. So one block to beach and one block to bay. WOW! They have boogie boards, beach chairs, towels, and some beach games to use for free. The best part is for breakfast and in the evening you can go up to a rooftop sitting area, has maybe five tables and chairs, and eat breakfast or have a glass of wine in the evening. You can see the ocean and the bay. Great for artists to draw. Only drawback is it is very expensive and so with the house we save so much money and have the same location

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Glad you had two great stays with us! Thank you for the review and compliments on all of the free amenities we offer. Yes, our location is wonderful; easy to see why you want to come back again and again to the Peninsula.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We had a wonderful time at the Bay Shores Penisula Hotel in December 2012 and we later even returned in the beginning of January after visiting Vegas.
The reception is so friendly, the breakfast is good and you even get a fresh copy of the L.A. Times delivered to your doorstep every morning!
There are freshly baked cookies in the lobby every afternoon and if it happens to rain you can grab a couple of movies from the lobby and cozy up in your room.
The location is also fantastic, right by the beach and close to restaurants!

Anna and Risto, Finland

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
On aina hienoa saada vierailijoita ulkomailta - Toivon Las Vegas oli hyvä sinulle! Onnellinen olet nauttinut extrat kuten evästeet ja elokuvia. Toivon, että saamme järjestää taas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmö
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We were a mixed group, some attending a conference and some along for the ride. The hotel staff were extremely helpful and welcoming. The proximity to the beach and restaurants was welcome to avoid driving at the end of the day. Returning to fresh baked cookies, free wifi, parking, and breakfast really topped off the deal. The rooftop terrace is a lovely place to enjoy breakfast or just a moment of sun and quiet. Definitely a place to remember when back in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Google Translation
Tack för att du bor hos oss samtidigt som närvarar vid konferensen. Jag är glad att vi kunde utöka vår gästfrihet till dig och ser fram emot ditt återvändande besök en dag.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel six times over the past several years and just booked my next trip for next month. I cannot say enough about it. Very clean, wonderful staff and fresh baked cookies every afternoon. Directly across the street from the beach, great restaurants and the pier. You owe it to yourself to try it, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
I have stayed at this hotel six times over the past several years and just booked my next trip for next month. I cannot say enough about it. Very clean, wonderful staff and fresh baked cookies every afternoon. Directly across the street from the beach, great restaurants and the pier. You owe it to yourself to try it, you will not be disappointed

We LOVE our repeat guests! Thank you so much for your loyalty; I am so glad that we continue providing you with such a pleasurable experience that you keep coming back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We really enjoyed our time at this hotel. It is in a beautiful location, right across from the beach (although no views except from the rooftop terrace.) We stayed in Suite 100, which was nice and spacious, with a king, queen, and and queen sofabed, and the best part, 1-1/2 bathrooms. Nice 50" TV (or thereabout!) and the DVD library adds a nice touch. Continental breakfast is plentiful, and the afternoon cookies are a nice touch. We were given plenty of bath towels (8 sets!) so we were never short, and the small fridge is great, along with the coffeemaker and microwave. It is not 5-star accommodations, so set your expectations appropriately-- it is a cozy, extremely clean and super-conveniently located hotel, within walking distance from the beach and many restaurants, and both the Balboa and Newport piers.

Room Tip: Suite 100 has the additional bathroom, giving you 1-1/2 bath. It is ground level, but since you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
So pleased that you enjoyed my hotel and that you found the property to be clean, cozy and conveniently located. Yes, the suites do offer more space so I'm glad you mentioned that so other guests can enjoy those additional amenities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I cannot say enough about this wonderful little gem of a hotel. Clean is not enough to describe the room we stayed in. The room we had was in the corner with a ocean view. I was a little worried about the noise, but do not worry, the windows are double paned. The staff greeted us by name, took us on a tour of the place, and left a nice note on the bed. Woke up and opened the door to a LA Times, with a note about the hotels many services. The room is perfect, I could not find anything to complain about except for the fact we had to leave. Book this place, there is nothing better, never will be.

Room Tip: Just go and let them worry about everything, they will take care of you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Already planning your next trip?..Hurry back, your room and the cookies are waiting! Thank you for your review, so glad you had a great time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel

Address: 1800 West Balboa Boulevard, Newport Beach, CA 92663
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newport Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Newport Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrating over thirty years under the same family ownership and operation, the Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel is the perfect place for tourists, business travelers and beach people who love to find value and quality in a small, B&B style environment. Only steps from America’s finest beaches on the "California Riviera", we are just 3 blocks from the historic Newport Pier including the shopping, fine dining and nightlife you would expect from the southern California beach scene. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Bay Shores
Peninsula Newport Beach
Newport Beach Peninsula

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.