We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and a clean comfortable room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel

Save Saved
You added Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1800 West Balboa Boulevard, Newport Beach, CA 92663   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 17 hotels in Newport Beach
California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great location and a clean comfortable room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We really enjoyed our time at this hotel. It is in a beautiful location, right across from the beach (although no views except from the rooftop terrace.) We stayed in Suite 100, which was nice and spacious, with a king, queen, and and queen sofabed, and the best part, 1-1/2 bathrooms. Nice 50" TV (or thereabout!) and the DVD library adds a nice touch. Continental breakfast is plentiful, and the afternoon cookies are a nice touch. We were given plenty of bath towels (8 sets!) so we were never short, and the small fridge is great, along with the coffeemaker and microwave. It is not 5-star accommodations, so set your expectations appropriately-- it is a cozy, extremely clean and super-conveniently located hotel, within walking distance from the beach and many restaurants, and both the Balboa and Newport piers.

Room Tip: Suite 100 has the additional bathroom, giving you 1-1/2 bath. It is ground level, but since you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
So pleased that you enjoyed my hotel and that you found the property to be clean, cozy and conveniently located. Yes, the suites do offer more space so I'm glad you mentioned that so other guests can enjoy those additional amenities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    277
    56
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
58
178
13
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Valencia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I cannot say enough about this wonderful little gem of a hotel. Clean is not enough to describe the room we stayed in. The room we had was in the corner with a ocean view. I was a little worried about the noise, but do not worry, the windows are double paned. The staff greeted us by name, took us on a tour of the place, and left a nice note on the bed. Woke up and opened the door to a LA Times, with a note about the hotels many services. The room is perfect, I could not find anything to complain about except for the fact we had to leave. Book this place, there is nothing better, never will be.

Room Tip: Just go and let them worry about everything, they will take care of you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Already planning your next trip?..Hurry back, your room and the cookies are waiting! Thank you for your review, so glad you had a great time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We had such a great experience at this hotel that we were planning our next trip while we were still there. Everyone was so friendly. We were on the 3rd floor in a corner room (#304) and had a great view of the ocean and bay. The afternoon cookies really hit the spot after riding our bikes on the boardwalk. We also enjoyed the roof deck in the evening with a glass of wine. I will recommend this hotel to my friends and family.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Sounds like you had a wonderful time - wish I could have had that glass of wine on the roof top with you, it's one of my favorite parts of the hotel! Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to write the review. Looking forward to hosting you again and welcoming your friends and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cave Creek, Arizona
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Warren greeted us with a big smile and friend "Hello". We felt ourselves unwind right then, after the long drive to the coast. He gave us a tour and we loved it all. The location is a few minutes from the beach, fewer minutes to the harbor, a short walk to good (and great) restaurants, shopping, and the pier. We never drove our car the entire four days. Just walked everywhere. The room was decorated in a sunny beach style, which was great. The bed was comfortable. Everything was clean and neat. The pillows were a bit odd. Small, square pillows which I found difficult to sleep with. Will just bring my pillow from home next time. But that is a small issue compared with all of the nice amenities this lovely hotel offers. Breakfast with a good variety of foods, and a little dining room to eat in. We took our breakfast to the rooftop terrace and enjoyed seeing the ocean from one side and the harbor from the other. Beautiful! We borrowed two movies from their great DVD library and watched them in our room. Cookie time, late afternoon daily was a delight. We made sure to be there to get one every day. They have boogie boards, beach towels, and other beach items to loan. Laundry facility on site. Parking is tight, but they will feed the meter for you if you have to park in the big public lot next to the hotel, so what could be easier? Lovely place, charming staff. Will definitely stay here again...and again.

Room Tip: There are only a few rooms with an ocean view. Well worth asking for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for your great review. When you come again, just ask at the front desk and we'll see if we can set you up with a more comfortable pillow. Glad you enjoyed the movies and the cookies - always looking to expand the collection so if you have any recommendations on titles just let us know!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel! The rooms were clean and nice, great and friendly service, nice terrace where you can have breakfast and enjoy the evening. They also have complimentary beach equipment. Great location, not far from a nice beach. Delicious complimentary cranberry cookies. Awesome.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Great hotel! The rooms were clean and nice, great and friendly service, nice terrace where you can have breakfast and enjoy the evening. They also have complimentary beach equipment. Great location, not far from a nice beach. Delicious complimentary cranberry cookies. Awesome.

Thank you for your visit and I'm glad you got to enjoy so many of our amenities. All the years I have owned the property, I have never got tired of the view from the terrace; I'm so pleased you got to enjoy it too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

So pleasantly surprised! Super clean, super friendly! Great breakfast! Loved the decor, so perfect for a beach-town. It reminded me of your favourite auntie's house, so welcoming and wonderful. Best feature though is its proximity to the beach! Literally across the street. Stay here, you won't regret it!!

The only 'heads up' I would provide is that the parking lot is small and so is the breakfast room so in busy/peak times that could prove challenging. There's overflow parking which they offer so that should ease that trouble! Just try to eat early or later to beat the rush!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Glad we made you feel at home. Thanks for mentioning the parking; just like to add that if the hotel lot is full, we will feed the meter on the street for you! Thank you for taking the time to write your review; see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, B.C. Canada
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Back again with some additional family members. Great as usual and excellent weather for mid February. All staff friendy as usual and a big thanks to Lisa and Ralph who assited us with a couple of problems we had. They asked and listened to our concerns and addressed them more than satifactorily, A+. Family members had not been here before and yes they too would come back, as will we.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
I cannot tell you how wonderful it is to have the privilege of hosting you and your family again! Glad we could sort out any problems you had - see you (and all your extended family!) again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel

Address: 1800 West Balboa Boulevard, Newport Beach, CA 92663
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newport Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Newport Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrating over thirty years under the same family ownership and operation, the Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel is the perfect place for tourists, business travelers and beach people who love to find value and quality in a small, B&B style environment. Only steps from America’s finest beaches on the "California Riviera", we are just 3 blocks from the historic Newport Pier including the shopping, fine dining and nightlife you would expect from the southern California beach scene. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Bay Shores
Peninsula Newport Beach
Newport Beach Peninsula

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.