We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, friendly place to stay in Newport” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel

Save Saved
You added Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1800 West Balboa Boulevard, Newport Beach, CA 92663   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
For multi-bed rooms, call
Ranked #1 of 17 hotels in Newport Beach
Poole, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lovely, friendly place to stay in Newport”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night during our trip up PCH last September. I read the reviews on TripAdvisor and wasn't disappointed! The hotel doesn't look like much from the outside, but inside it is clean, spacious and the hotel staff are so friendly and welcoming. There were delicious (still warm!) homemade cookies in the lobby which really hit the spot on our arrival from the San Diego area and they had a good DVD library - we did end up checking out a DVD to watch that evening which was very enjoyable. Our room was lovely, 'New England' type decor, the bed was comfortable and the bathroom warm and clean. They even left a nice personalised card on the bed, welcoming us - nice touch! Breakfast was great - there was a selection of foods to choose from: cereals, bagels, fruits, pastries etc and while there were some tables in the adjoining room, you could take your breakfast anywhere in the building - so we ate ours on the roof terrace!
Parking was no problem as we found a space in their lot, but they were quick to say that if we couldn't find a space, to park in the pay lot across the street and let them know so they could take care of the charge. We walked to the beach the next morning which was a short 10 minute walk and spend 30 minutes or so walking along the beach watching some pretty good surfers before walking back and checking out.
All in all, a lovely little hotel reasonably priced in a great location in Newport. Big thank you to all the staff who make it such a great place!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind and comprehensive comments. I am so glad that you enjoyed our facilities and that everything added up to a pleasurable stay in Newport Beach. Come back soon, we'll have warm cookies waiting especially for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    284
    56
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
59
181
14
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Revelstoke, B.C.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Other than all the typical comments on location, value, good breakfast etc, the thing that comes to mind about this hotel is the outstanding friendliness.
From the moment we checked in, we felt welcome. There was even a handwritten card in our room welcoming us.
We had the privelage of having Warren checking us in, but they were all very nice.
We would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Along with outstanding value, providing friendly atmosphere is our top priority. I will pass on to my staff, but particularly Warren, how welcomed you feel. Thank you for your review; we all look forward to warmly greeting you again on your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
206 helpful votes 206 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We'd never visited Newport Beach before this trip, and chose the Bay Shores Peninsula based on its previous TA reviews. We can only echo the vast majority by saying our stay was very good.

As it turned out, we didn't spend a whole lot of time in Newport Beach during our stay. Rather, we explored various neighboring spots, as well as took a day trip to Los Angeles. But the time we spent here was very comfortable. All of our interactions with the front desk staff were great. (And, yes, they did feed the meter for us the one time we weren't able to get a parking space in the hotel lot.) The breakfast was just fine, with plenty of options. And the DVD library was a very nice touch.

If our travels ever bring us back to Newport Beach, it's hard to imagine we'd stay anywhere but this place.

Room Tip: We were on the upper floor, facing the hotel parking lot, and slept very comfortably.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Glad we could act as base camp for your stay and that you had some great day trips. Hope you do get back here one day; we'd love to share more of Newport Beach with you.
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

This hotell is more like a motell in standard as you enter your room from a balcony running all along the back - which I find kind of charming and old Californian. However it IS a hotell with an excellent reception service offering you to lend a large range of DVD-films, magazines beach towles, beach toys, beach chairs and even boogie boards. We stayed in the rooms 221 and 223 on the second floor and could just see the Pacific Newport Peninsula beach through the houses on the other side of West Balboa Boulevard. Although we could hear the traffic at points it was not disturbing during our stay (in early January). The distance to the really beautiful beach is a 1-2 minute walk, and another 5 to reach the closest pier where a range of shops, coffe places, Ice cream parlors and restaurants can be found. We found a place just meters north of the pier that served a double espresso, a latte and three donuts for $7.
The breakfast at the hotell was really good for being in the US. THey offered a self service breakfast buffe with boiled eggs, bagels with hamburger&eggs, several kinds of cereal, juice, milk, yougurt, bread and different spreads.
My only trouble with this lovely clean hotell so close to a classical surfers beach (with life guard booths running every 100 meters) is that we stayed to short - but it was worth dropping by! Newport is so laid back and lovely!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Google Translation
Tack för komplimangen. Vi hoppas att du kommer tillbaka och stannar med oss nydana företaget!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

This hotel puts service first. It isn't the fanciest hotel but the kids took advantage of all the free services (DVDs, Beach toys, Breakfast and Fresh cookies).
Located walking distance to the beach, wharf and many restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
We love kids here at Bay Shores and if yours have any suggestions for additions to our movie collection, we'll have them waiting for them on their return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Let me join the chorus of reviewers who LOVE this small hotel. Great location, GREAT staff members who truly believe in customer service. Ralph and Bridget were both so helpful and friendly. Only a block from the ocean and walking distance to the pier, shops and restaurants. The rooms were lovely and the turn down service was a nice touch as were the evening cookies and the comnplimentary morning breakfast. I will definitely be back. Well done!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Having logged thousands of miles as a business traveler myself, I am always glad when I hear that someones time on the road has been made just that bit more comfortable. Thanks for the review and have a happy holiday...at home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TX
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I relied on tripadvisor to find a good hotel close to Irvine where I had a medical procedure scheduled. The Bay Shores Peninsula was rated #1 and close enough for me. My husband and I felt welcomed from the time we walked in the door! Warren greeted us with fresh baked cookies and several good recommendations for dinner within walking distance. The room is small but very comfortable bed. The DVD was important as I needed to continue an exercise program I was using. They also have a ton of movies to choose from if you want. Breakfast was ample with fresh coffee, juice, milk croissants, cereal , hard boiled eggs, bagels, and a sausage egg sandwich. Highly recommend without reservation!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
So glad that we could play a small part in your recovery. Thank you for your compliments and for choosing us for your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel

Address: 1800 West Balboa Boulevard, Newport Beach, CA 92663
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Newport Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newport Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrating over thirty years under the same family ownership and operation, the Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel is the perfect place for tourists, business travelers and beach people who love to find value and quality in a small, B&B style environment. Only steps from America’s finest beaches on the "California Riviera", we are just 3 blocks from the historic Newport Pier including the shopping, fine dining and nightlife you would expect from the southern California beach scene. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Bay Shores
Peninsula Newport Beach
Newport Beach Peninsula

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.