We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we would have stayed longer” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel to your Saves list
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1800 West Balboa Boulevard, Newport Beach, CA 92663   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Stockholm
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Wish we would have stayed longer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

This hotell is more like a motell in standard as you enter your room from a balcony running all along the back - which I find kind of charming and old Californian. However it IS a hotell with an excellent reception service offering you to lend a large range of DVD-films, magazines beach towles, beach toys, beach chairs and even boogie boards. We stayed in the rooms 221 and 223 on the second floor and could just see the Pacific Newport Peninsula beach through the houses on the other side of West Balboa Boulevard. Although we could hear the traffic at points it was not disturbing during our stay (in early January). The distance to the really beautiful beach is a 1-2 minute walk, and another 5 to reach the closest pier where a range of shops, coffe places, Ice cream parlors and restaurants can be found. We found a place just meters north of the pier that served a double espresso, a latte and three donuts for $7.
The breakfast at the hotell was really good for being in the US. THey offered a self service breakfast buffe with boiled eggs, bagels with hamburger&eggs, several kinds of cereal, juice, milk, yougurt, bread and different spreads.
My only trouble with this lovely clean hotell so close to a classical surfers beach (with life guard booths running every 100 meters) is that we stayed to short - but it was worth dropping by! Newport is so laid back and lovely!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Google Translation
Tack för komplimangen. Vi hoppas att du kommer tillbaka och stannar med oss nydana företaget!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    58
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
63
187
15
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

This hotel puts service first. It isn't the fanciest hotel but the kids took advantage of all the free services (DVDs, Beach toys, Breakfast and Fresh cookies).
Located walking distance to the beach, wharf and many restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
We love kids here at Bay Shores and if yours have any suggestions for additions to our movie collection, we'll have them waiting for them on their return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Let me join the chorus of reviewers who LOVE this small hotel. Great location, GREAT staff members who truly believe in customer service. Ralph and Bridget were both so helpful and friendly. Only a block from the ocean and walking distance to the pier, shops and restaurants. The rooms were lovely and the turn down service was a nice touch as were the evening cookies and the comnplimentary morning breakfast. I will definitely be back. Well done!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Having logged thousands of miles as a business traveler myself, I am always glad when I hear that someones time on the road has been made just that bit more comfortable. Thanks for the review and have a happy holiday...at home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TX
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I relied on tripadvisor to find a good hotel close to Irvine where I had a medical procedure scheduled. The Bay Shores Peninsula was rated #1 and close enough for me. My husband and I felt welcomed from the time we walked in the door! Warren greeted us with fresh baked cookies and several good recommendations for dinner within walking distance. The room is small but very comfortable bed. The DVD was important as I needed to continue an exercise program I was using. They also have a ton of movies to choose from if you want. Breakfast was ample with fresh coffee, juice, milk croissants, cereal , hard boiled eggs, bagels, and a sausage egg sandwich. Highly recommend without reservation!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
So glad that we could play a small part in your recovery. Thank you for your compliments and for choosing us for your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Very friendly staff and little extras made this the perfect place for us for a couple of days.
A block away from the beach and close to shops and restaurants we did not need a car to enjoy our time here. From the free beach equipment and movies to the excellent afternoon cookies there were many little touches that make this hotel extra special. We spent a lot of our time in the hotel as one of us was not feeling well so also appreciated the roof top patio where we could eat our food and enjoy the view. The room itself was very clean and tidy with a table and chairs on the walkway outside which we also enjoyed. The physical arrangement is more like a motel than a hotel but this seems to make it even nicer with the openness and courtyard below.
We wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write the review and for mentioning the amenities you particularly enjoyed. Just steps from the beaches and the shops, our location does make for a great 'car-free' vacation; so glad that you had a great stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We spent 2 nights at the Bay Shores Peninsula, though wish we were there for longer! We were greeted very warmly by Warren and it was lovely to go to our room and find a welcome note, a fruit basket, chocolates on the pillows, good quality toiletries and other little extras which made us feel very welcome and pleased that we had not chosen a chain hotel. It was lovely sitting up on the balcony enjoying the views while having the complimentary breakfast - a nice relaxed start to the day. We borrowed boogie boards and dvds which was great for the kids. We are a family of 5 and our room was nice and spacious, clean and comfortable. Loved that wi-fi was included along with parking. It was a real treat to come back in the afternoons and enjoy freshly made cookies! We would definately recommend the Bay Shores, and hope to stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
We're so pleased that you enjoyed all the extras. Nothing gives us greater pleasure than knowing you enjoyed our service and that you hope to stay again. Thank you for all the compliments which I will certainly share with my staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I found all staff lovely, warm and very helpful. A home away from home and I'm from Australia. Top quality toiletries and linens. Beds were comfortable and rooms quaint nautical and cosy. I highly recommend it for short or long stay. Rosemary, Melbourne Australia.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
We're so glad that we were able to be your host while you were so far from home. We look forward to you coming back to these parts and providing you with the same great experience. Travel safely!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel

Address: 1800 West Balboa Boulevard, Newport Beach, CA 92663
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Newport Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newport Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrating over thirty years under the same family ownership and operation, the Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel is the perfect place for tourists, business travelers and beach people who love to find value and quality in a small, B&B style environment. Only steps from America’s finest beaches on the "California Riviera", we are just 3 blocks from the historic Newport Pier including the shopping, fine dining and nightlife you would expect from the southern California beach scene. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Bay Shores
Peninsula Newport Beach
Newport Beach Peninsula

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.