We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel

Save Saved
You added Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1800 West Balboa Boulevard, Newport Beach, CA 92663   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Wollongong, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“What a Gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We spent 2 nights at the Bay Shores Peninsula, though wish we were there for longer! We were greeted very warmly by Warren and it was lovely to go to our room and find a welcome note, a fruit basket, chocolates on the pillows, good quality toiletries and other little extras which made us feel very welcome and pleased that we had not chosen a chain hotel. It was lovely sitting up on the balcony enjoying the views while having the complimentary breakfast - a nice relaxed start to the day. We borrowed boogie boards and dvds which was great for the kids. We are a family of 5 and our room was nice and spacious, clean and comfortable. Loved that wi-fi was included along with parking. It was a real treat to come back in the afternoons and enjoy freshly made cookies! We would definately recommend the Bay Shores, and hope to stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
We're so pleased that you enjoyed all the extras. Nothing gives us greater pleasure than knowing you enjoyed our service and that you hope to stay again. Thank you for all the compliments which I will certainly share with my staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    58
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
62
186
15
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I found all staff lovely, warm and very helpful. A home away from home and I'm from Australia. Top quality toiletries and linens. Beds were comfortable and rooms quaint nautical and cosy. I highly recommend it for short or long stay. Rosemary, Melbourne Australia.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
We're so glad that we were able to be your host while you were so far from home. We look forward to you coming back to these parts and providing you with the same great experience. Travel safely!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We would never have found this gem without TripAdvisor reviews and we see now why people rave about the Bay Shores. We stayed 2 nights with our two teenagers in their suite (unit 100). We had a large living area with full dining table for 6, a queen bed, two sofas and a half bath. In addition was a separate bedroom with a king bed, and a large full bath with double sinks. Very comfortable beds and great shower.
Our room was spotless and when we arrived a card was on the bed welcoming us. The staff are just as wonderful as everyone says and go out of their way to make you feel at home. The location of this hotel is wonderful with a quick stroll to the bay, the beach and Newport Pier. Lots of restaurants near by, bike rental and easy 10 min drive to Newports Fashion Island for great shopping. Breakfast was good each morning and coffee and tea were available all day, not to mention the 3pm freshly baked cookies. We loved our time at Bay Shores and would highly recommend this wonderful, hospitable hotel. Oh, and we arrived home to a postcard thanking us for our stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review; I am very pleased that your whole family enjoyed the stay and that your room was to your liking. I'll be sharing your compliments with my staff who I know will also be happy to know that your stay was a success.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, B.C. Canada
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

First visted May 2011 and have been back twice since then, Fall 2011 and Spring 2012. Spring time brought other family members (mid 20's) and they loved the place too. Hotel and staff GREAT as always and we'll be back again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Nothing gives me greater pleasure than having return guests! So glad that you chose to come and stay with us again; we certainly look forward to seeing you when you come back to Newport Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

It's a perfectly nice, clean place to stay with nice staff, free parking, free wifi and a great breakfast. Our only complaints are (at least in our standard queen room) they had a funky shower head that wasn't very pleasant and the large windows faced the sun (in room 207) and didn't have black out curtains that you could close. So in the morning you better have an eye mask or the sun will shine thru the thin curtains and wake you up.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
We're so sorry that you couldn't locate the blackout curtains; they are hung very close to the regular curtains and sometimes it can appear that there is only one set there. We've taken a look at that shower head for you too and made sure that it is acceptable for the next guest. Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

I love this little hotel! Exceptionally clean, well appointed rooms and public spaces. The staff is EXCELLENT! Bridget is just about the nicest person I met while in California for a week on business, she is a gem! The hotel is close to the beach, but watch the sunset from the 4th floor sun deck, very relaxing! The fresh hot cookies at 3 pm are only rivaled by the abundant breakfast served in a quaint nook each morning. Definitely will return!

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
So glad that you'll be returning one day; nothing gives us greater pleasure than to welcome back friends! Thank you for complimenting my staff; I am very proud of all of them and I am glad that they made your stay enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeast Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed here at the beginning and end of a business trip to Annaheim. What a treat! The staff is so incredibly helpful and nice. Yes, the rooms, bathrooms, breakfast room are small- it's a cute little vintage hotel and you're a block from the beach and the harbor! The rooms have just the right amount of "kitsch." It's nice to have breakfast right there, and there's coffee and cookies all day. They have their own parking lot, which was great, and a washer and dryer if you go for a stroll on the beach and get accidentally soaked by a rogue wave (like I did.) There are restaurants within walking distance, but we weren't terribly impressed with the ones we chose. Sol Grill was quaint and the piano player was a nice touch, but the food was not wonderful. We enjoyed the Rock and Lobster (I think that' what it was called- something like that) and it too, was OK, not great. However, everyone in Newport Beach was great.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for your review - yes, that's who we are small, friendly and with a vintage vibe! I'm sorry some of the nearby restaurants weren't quite up to scratch; when you come back, stop by the Front Desk and let us find you something you'll enjoy as much as your recent stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel

Address: 1800 West Balboa Boulevard, Newport Beach, CA 92663
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newport Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Newport Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrating over thirty years under the same family ownership and operation, the Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel is the perfect place for tourists, business travelers and beach people who love to find value and quality in a small, B&B style environment. Only steps from America’s finest beaches on the "California Riviera", we are just 3 blocks from the historic Newport Pier including the shopping, fine dining and nightlife you would expect from the southern California beach scene. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Bay Shores
Peninsula Newport Beach
Newport Beach Peninsula

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.