We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have been back (twice). Just as good every time!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel to your Saves list
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1800 West Balboa Boulevard, Newport Beach, CA 92663   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, B.C. Canada
Level Contributor
113 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Have been back (twice). Just as good every time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

First visted May 2011 and have been back twice since then, Fall 2011 and Spring 2012. Spring time brought other family members (mid 20's) and they loved the place too. Hotel and staff GREAT as always and we'll be back again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Nothing gives me greater pleasure than having return guests! So glad that you chose to come and stay with us again; we certainly look forward to seeing you when you come back to Newport Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    67
    10
    1
    3
See reviews for
77
226
17
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

It's a perfectly nice, clean place to stay with nice staff, free parking, free wifi and a great breakfast. Our only complaints are (at least in our standard queen room) they had a funky shower head that wasn't very pleasant and the large windows faced the sun (in room 207) and didn't have black out curtains that you could close. So in the morning you better have an eye mask or the sun will shine thru the thin curtains and wake you up.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
We're so sorry that you couldn't locate the blackout curtains; they are hung very close to the regular curtains and sometimes it can appear that there is only one set there. We've taken a look at that shower head for you too and made sure that it is acceptable for the next guest. Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

I love this little hotel! Exceptionally clean, well appointed rooms and public spaces. The staff is EXCELLENT! Bridget is just about the nicest person I met while in California for a week on business, she is a gem! The hotel is close to the beach, but watch the sunset from the 4th floor sun deck, very relaxing! The fresh hot cookies at 3 pm are only rivaled by the abundant breakfast served in a quaint nook each morning. Definitely will return!

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
So glad that you'll be returning one day; nothing gives us greater pleasure than to welcome back friends! Thank you for complimenting my staff; I am very proud of all of them and I am glad that they made your stay enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeast Iowa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed here at the beginning and end of a business trip to Annaheim. What a treat! The staff is so incredibly helpful and nice. Yes, the rooms, bathrooms, breakfast room are small- it's a cute little vintage hotel and you're a block from the beach and the harbor! The rooms have just the right amount of "kitsch." It's nice to have breakfast right there, and there's coffee and cookies all day. They have their own parking lot, which was great, and a washer and dryer if you go for a stroll on the beach and get accidentally soaked by a rogue wave (like I did.) There are restaurants within walking distance, but we weren't terribly impressed with the ones we chose. Sol Grill was quaint and the piano player was a nice touch, but the food was not wonderful. We enjoyed the Rock and Lobster (I think that' what it was called- something like that) and it too, was OK, not great. However, everyone in Newport Beach was great.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for your review - yes, that's who we are small, friendly and with a vintage vibe! I'm sorry some of the nearby restaurants weren't quite up to scratch; when you come back, stop by the Front Desk and let us find you something you'll enjoy as much as your recent stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a friend's wedding and it was a wonderful stay! Rooms were well kept, well stocked, the continental breakfast was plentiful, there was free wifi, and the staff was very friendly.

Sure, the breakfast nook could be bigger, sure the parking lot is small, and sure its not right on the beach. But they do really well making something wonderful out of what they have. At least they WILL pay the city meter for you! Other hotels leave you on your own in similar situations. They also have beach towels, chairs, and toys for free to borrow.

The card in our room welcoming us when we arrived, and the card they mailed thanking us for our stay after we got home were extra nice touches! No one does that kind of thing anymore it seems. We would definitely stay here again if we return to Newport Beach!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write; I am so glad that you enjoyed the personal touches. We want every one of our guests to feel welcomed on their arrival and thanked for choosing us when they get home. Hope you do come back to Newport Beach some day; it will be our pleasure to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
181 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Looking for a Newport-Irvine area alternative to the Hyatt (where you have to walk a mile with your luggage) and the Orange Cty. Airport hotels which have no "personality," I started hunting around on TripAdvisor, discovered this little place, and thought I'd give it a try. What a pleasant surprise! It's located on Balboa, just a block from the beach one direction and a block from the boats the other direction. A good number of restaurant choices are just a couple of blocks away, as is the pier and a couple of bars and beach shops, etc. The folks who work here are very friendly and clearly proud of the place. They also offer a continental breakfast in the morning. And, if you've go the time, there's a DVD player in every room and a selection of ~400 DVD movies to choose from (you can check out two at a time for free). Be aware of two relatively minor negatives, though. First, they have more rooms than parking spaces, meaning that you might have to park in the public lot across the street... but they've worked out a system where they'll plug the meters for you until 11 a.m. as long as you tell them you had to park over there. Second, the wireless internet signal was very weak in my room and I had to go down to the lobby to get work done (not a big deal if you're on vacation and don't really need the 'net, but is a problem on a business trip if you need the connection to get stuff done). I was only here for one night, but could definitely see coming back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write; as someone who travels for business too, I appreciate how WiFi and DVD's can make all the difference when you're on the road. We'll be taking a look at the signal strength and seeing if we might not be able to boost it in that part of the hotel. Again, thank you for your comments and suggestions; catch you when you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

We spent a couple of days here. The rooms are incredibly clean, they are super friendly and helpful, and allow you to rent all of the beach gear you need. You can even rent DVDs from them. Parking anywhere in Newport is always tough, but they have their own parking lot! Perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
We're so pleased you enjoyed the complimentary beach equipment and free movies while you were staying with us. If you have any recommendations for other titles we might acquire for our guests pleasure, just let us know!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport Beach
5.0 mi away
Marriott's Newport Coast Villas
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#9 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 562 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 19 in Huntington Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Resort at Pelican Hill
The Resort at Pelican Hill
#3 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,011 reviews
0.3 mi away
Newport Beach Hotel
Newport Beach Hotel
#6 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 167 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newport Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel

Address: 1800 West Balboa Boulevard, Newport Beach, CA 92663
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newport Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Newport Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrating over thirty years under the same family ownership and operation, the Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel is the perfect place for tourists, business travelers and beach people who love to find value and quality in a small, B&B style environment. Only steps from America’s finest beaches on the "California Riviera", we are just 3 blocks from the historic Newport Pier including the shopping, fine dining and nightlife you would expect from the southern California beach scene. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Bay Shores
Peninsula Newport Beach
Newport Beach Peninsula

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.