We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wish I could have stayed longer” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel

Save Saved
You added Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1800 West Balboa Boulevard, Newport Beach, CA 92663   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 17 hotels in Newport Beach
Colorado
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“I wish I could have stayed longer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011 via mobile

I was hesitant to stay at the Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel at first - I thought that perhaps the reviewed were too good to be true - but I am sure glad that we did. My husband also loved it. He told me that I was responsible for the accommodations during our vacation. Let me say that there is a reason that this hotel has received high rating.

The hotel staff is amazing. My husband and I were in California visiting friends and family and we had a lot of them uses the public parking facilities across the street - the hotel staff offered to run across there and fill the meter with quarters for us if my family couldn't get to their car before the meter ran out! Seriously, how awesome is that?

Also, it's a perfect distance from the ocean and they provide all the beach towels and equipment you could need.

Cookies at 3:00 every day, great DVD selection, wonderful breakfast options. If you need to stay at Newport beach, this is where you newer to come. The only thing I wish I room had was a separate room for our kiddos (they would NOT sleep knowing that we were awake), and s microwave (I needed to heat up my baby's milk
/food).

Thank you Bay Shores!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    277
    56
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
58
178
13
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

This place is fantastic. The rooms are faultlessly clean with new fixtures, carpet and modern furniture - mini-fridges in the rooms make it easy to make simple meals. The lobby has a small kitchen area with toasters and microwaves, etc. available for meal preparation as well. Breakfast is served daily and offers lots of choices, and fruit and cookies are always available. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The front desk people are as capable and helpful as the best concierges at fancy resorts. The location is wonderful (there's a shuttle service the staff can help arrange that's $20/each way from LAX to the hotel). I stayed there for business, and the hotel is so close to the beach that I was able to carve out a little beach time in my very hectic schedule. The only disappointment you'll face staying here is having to leave.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

this hotel is exactly what i would expect for a laid back surf town. unpretentious and amazing! The staff was awsome, rooms clean and comfortable and the best roof top deck for million dollar views . The marina is in the back of the hotel and across the street is the beach. Easy walking distance to Balboa Island and restaurants. Unlimited access to boogie boards and chairs and great rates, why would you stay any other place?
loved it and cant wait to get back... no pool but i didnt go there to swim in a pool..

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maricopa, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

We stayed there over the Labor Day weekend. Fist let me say the rooms are wonderfully clean with alot of personal touches. The suite we stayed in slept six with two bedrooms and a full kitchen. The hotel has a rooftop deck and if you look to the west..it is ocean...look to the east..the bay...amazing views! I highly suggest this hotel if you are traveling with kids (young and teenage). My kids loved riding in the elevator and the hotel offers beach towels and equipment to use for free on the beach. We grabbed sand toys, beach towels, and boogie boards and headed right across the street to the beach. In the evening, it is just a few blocks walk to many restaurants and shops. If you are like me, and tend to be a little picky on where you stay, have no fear here! Everything was wonderful and the breakfast was included.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

From the moment we walked in the hotel upon our arrival, we were made to feel absolutely at home and welcome. The customer service was phenomenal, especially from Ralph, John and Bruce. All of the team members went out of their way to help us with whatever we made known to them. However, Ralph went above and beyond the call of the duty with his smile, his sense of humor, knowledge of the sights and attractions of the local area, including tips and hints for the Crystal Cathedral and other nearby churches. Ralph was fully attentive and engaging. It was truly a pleasure to interact with Bayshores staff; one that we won't soon forget.

The hotel has such an inviting sense of ambiance; the daily breakfasts, afternoon cookies and turn-down service (including chocolates) made for an incredibly personable experience. We stayed at this hotel primarily for the proximity to the beach. We absolutely loved the rooftop sundeck, the old-time elevator, the dvd offerings and all of the other distinctively charming, old fashioned attributes.

We went to the beach to relax and Bayshores contributed so much to our overall experience, rest and relaxation. We will definitely return! Thank you Bayshores Peninsula Hotel!

Room Tip: It's best to be on the 3rd floor. It's a good idea to join the hotel's email list to upg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

Absolutely loved it here. Couldn't have been happier. The rooms were lovely, with all the facilities you could need. Very clean and comfortable. Value for money is brilliant. Roof top provides beautiful views with the harbour on one side and beach on the other. Really good location with walking distance to a host of restaurants and bars. Staff couldn't do more for you, the fresh cookies, amazing breakfasts, beach chairs, on all hand. I loved the dvd collection which was free, we got a different film when we came in every night, a great idea.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

Our family has been coming here for years. The reason for our return year after year...month after month is the feeling that is's our second home. The staff is like our second family. The ones you truly love! They are always so willing and helpful with just about anything. The breakfast is the perfect way to start out any day. Having everything we need for the beach is right there. You don't have to run out and purchase anything..they have it. Returning back from the perfect day at the beach they have cookies waiting. fruit always available. To end off the perfect day they have a wide selection of movies to choose from at no additional cost. They will always be 5 out of 5 stars in our family!!! Special thanks to Ralph and John!!! Clay, you will always be missed.
With much Love
The Shade Family
Chandler Arizona

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2011
Thanks Julie,

We always enjoy having you and your family here too! And yes, Clay is well and truly missed by all of us, and really by anyone who knew him as well. ---Fred Pratt, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel

Address: 1800 West Balboa Boulevard, Newport Beach, CA 92663
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Newport Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newport Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrating over thirty years under the same family ownership and operation, the Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel is the perfect place for tourists, business travelers and beach people who love to find value and quality in a small, B&B style environment. Only steps from America’s finest beaches on the "California Riviera", we are just 3 blocks from the historic Newport Pier including the shopping, fine dining and nightlife you would expect from the southern California beach scene. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Bay Shores
Peninsula Newport Beach
Newport Beach Peninsula

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.