We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Newport Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Newport Beach to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Newport Beach
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2300 West Coast Highway, Newport Beach, CA 92663   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Granada Hills, CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Clean and convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Visited this property with a group of moms and daughters age 14. The hotel is a convenient location near all the restaurants within walking distance. Hotel is clean and beds are comfy. The convenient and free breakfast in the morning was good too. Good place for groups.

Room Tip: We had a second floor room and there is an elevator and convenient staircase too. Note: as you exit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    80
    28
    11
    10
See reviews for
64
45
15
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Barstow, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

It was an Ok hotel... Rooms were nice. Refrigerator was decent size. I really didn't like how their elevator inspection was a year expired. It said expired April 2012... With that being said use the stairs!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newport Beach, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at our hotel. We apologize about your concerns regarding our elevator. We want to assure you that our elevators undergo monthly maintenance and service through an outside elevator company and is certified by the State of California annually. We do have the proper documentations in the office and has since corrected the issue regarding the posting in our elevator.
We hope to see you again, soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

March 25, 2014 – Visiting friends and family.
This was truly a wonderful surprise….small boutique hotel whose Executive King Bedroom was large, but not overwhelming, bed was comfortable, room was quiet and had all the amenities including microwave, coffee maker and small fridge. Either hotel is new or has been recently renovated as all the walls and flooring looked extremely well kept. We did not avail ourselves of the small heated pool, but we highly recommend this gem.
Plus – excellent service, helpful staff, hot and cold breakfast, excellent room and comfortable bed.
Minus – located on high traffic Pacific Coast Highway and entering or leaving is a bit challenging.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandpoint, Idaho
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights. The second night I was charged about $10 more without being to. When they questioned about it they told me they can change the rate whenever they want. Rates changed daily. They did NOT tell me until I was charged. Itemization of daily rates was added to registration check-in form showing the higher rate. Was NOT on form when I initialed the rate. Very Fraudulent! I knew that they charged $7.50 per day for parking, but again the red stamp that said '$7.50 parking' was NOT stamped on the registration form until after the fact. They showed the form to me and lo and behold all that information was NOW on the form. Amazing. I called Customer Relations and she was on the side of the hotel of course - it means her job! The staff at this hotel does corrupt & dishonest things, so watch your bill closely. You should have then copy your registration form for you as it WILL be changed AFTER you sign it.
Some reviews have mentioned a sewer problem or smelly stink on the hotel. It has not been fixed - it still smells stinky.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel L, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Newport Beach, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear Guest,
We appreciate all of our guests' comments and feedback regarding their stay, good or bad. This helps us improve on our service and processes in place. We take pride in being up front and honest with our guests regarding the details of each of their reservations. We have steps in place to confirm the details of each guest's stay meticulously communicated from the moment reservations are made, to when our guests check in, presenting their final bill and post departure as well. This gives our guests multiple opportunity to review and agree to the details and terms of each reservations. If you are in need of further clarification regarding your final bill, please feel free to reach out to us.
Thank you for your feedback and visit to our hotel.
Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

I was just a little hesitant to book as there's reviews going back at least to December on the sometimes foul odor present in some of the rooms. The Express hotels however in my experience usually provide pretty good value so took a chance. I also called the 800# to inquire if and what had been fixed was only told that a "organic deficiency" had been cured. The Hotel mentioned the smell was from the "wetlands" - there's no wetlands within sniffing distance.

Next day after arrival I parked in the back corner and noticed a large wrap of tubing behind a house on the hill in back of the hotel property. After getting out of the car there was that smell...and yes it stinks...along with some PVC pipe which looks to be in the process of being hooked up and buried along the back of the hotel and headed down toward the street. I would say this is where the stink is emanating from and is probably blowing into an open window, door etc depending on which way the wind blows, if it blows.

I booked a 2nd floor suite upstairs and toward the rear where subject pipe is located. No smell, no stink just the high quality service, clean rooms and value I've come to expect from my many Express stays. I'm usually not one to write reviews but figured one was warranted here. Just leave the windows closed until they're done and all should be good. The only real question I have is why management would not post a brief overview of a very obvious source of stink when confronted with poor reviews???

Room Tip: They should all be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

decent value - close to HOAG hospital, discounted rates. okay breakfast and fitness center. close to hoag so was very convenient for back anfd forth trips. comfy bed and pillows. parking and wifi make up for all the value in an expensive arrea

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel L, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newport Beach, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
We appreciate your review and feedback regarding your most recent stay. Our team thanks you for your appreciation of our hotel and services. We hope to be able to welcome you back, soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Typical Holiday Inn Express hotel. You can always count on a nice comfy bed and pillows. Always clean. And friendly service.
Nice hotel in a great location surrounded by good restraunts and near the bay. Check out the Irish Pub across the street.
Good value. I recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Newport Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Newport Beach

Address: 2300 West Coast Highway, Newport Beach, CA 92663
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Newport Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinctively different, the Holiday Inn Express Newport Beach hotel is located across from Newport Beach Harbor, on exciting Mariner's Mile, a short drive to John Wayne Airport and walking distance to a wide variety of restaurants and entertainment. Come stay with us when you are attending some of Orange County's best events. Just minutes away from the OC Fair, Toshiba Senior Classic, Pageant of the Masters, Newport Harbor Christmas Boat Parade, Newport Beach Film Festival, Newport Boat Show, and the Taste of Newport Our professional staff is courteous, friendly, attentive and committed to making your stay fun, and memorable with first-class quality accommodations and legendary service to exceed your expectations. The Holiday Inn Express Newport Beach is also located near many top Orange County attractions such as Newport Beach Pier, Fashion Island, Balboa Island, South Coast Plaza, Disneyland, and the Orange County Fairgrounds. Newport Beach is also situated between two other exciting beach cities Laguna Beach and Huntington Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Newport Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Newport Beach Hotel Newport Beach
Holiday Inn Newport Beach
Newport Beach Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Newport Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.