We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for Summer Rates” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Newport Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Newport Beach to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Newport Beach
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2300 West Coast Highway, Newport Beach, CA 92663   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good for Summer Rates”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed here 2 nights this summer and -yes - summer at the beach is expensive and - no - the hotel is not on the beach (which is why we could afford it) but it a good location for getting around all of Newport Beace, Newport Penisula, Balboa, Corona del Mar. Easy to find off Newport Blvd and a parking lot (not free but still a minor miracle at the beach). The free breakfast is the best with something for everyone and real food - fluffy scrambled eggs! Bring food, rooms have frig and microwave and grocery store is not super close. Tiny pool and hot tub but you probably will be at the beach anyway. Do get a 2nd floor room to cut down on street noise and paying extra for a Bay view is okay if you like that sort of thing. My only complaint is the front desk staff was not familiar with the hotel promotion codes and I ALWAYS book on the hotel's own web site to avoid this bit of frustration.

Room Tip: 2nd floor towards the back are the most quiet if you dont' care about the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newport Beach, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear frantic2,

Thank you for your feedback. It very p-leasing to know that you have enjoyed the breakfast selections. Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations on some aspects of your stay. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. Thank you for staying with us and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    84
    29
    13
    10
See reviews for
67
50
15
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I stayed here with my girlfriend for three nights just over a week ago and we couldn’t have chosen a better place to end our three week stay in California. The hotel is in an excellent location, the staff were all friendly and helpful, cleanliness was fantastic and the breakfast was an excellent unexpected treat. In summary a fantastic hotel, not too expensive and ideally located.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

The reception staff and free breakfast were a definite highlight! Staff were super friendly. Excellent amenities and location not far from the beach and fashion island mall. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, Lancashire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stopped for two nights during a recent trip to California. The position of the hotel is good for the marina and local bars and restuarants and is only a short drive from the Pier where you can watch surfers waiting to catch a wave or Fishermen waiting to catch lunch!

We had a double room which had two double beds and a bathroom and looked out over a car park. There were two bottles of water but we later realised there was a charge for them. The Air conditioning was old and very noisy when on. The bathroom was quite small with complimentary bath products, but was very clean and tidy. There was an iron and ironing board and also coffee making facilities.

The breakfast room was well stocked with yoghurts, fruit and breads etc. There was a hot selection which consisted of sausage. scones, omlette stuffed with cheese slices and I think grits too. There is a pancake machine but after taking a while and the machine jamming, they weren't really worth the hassle. There was juices and hot drinks on offfer to.

All in all the hotel is a decent standard and clean with a small pool if you fancied a dip. If you want luxury then pay a bit more but we thought it was a bit expensive for the quality as we stayed at the Trump in Las Vegas for £30 less then we paid for 2 nights here but I guess you pay for the location as it is right on the Coastal Highway.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newport Beach, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear sassystoth,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us, we value your loyalty to our brand and hotels. We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it makes us happy to read we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment. Once again thank you for the wonderful and kind words of praise.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We were looking for a good and cheap hotel near the beach. We went in Holiday Inn Express because it was the closest hotel we could find at a reasonable price. We didn't have a reservation but apparently the front desk person told us that the only rooms they had available were the queen size accessible rooms. I checked online and they had the king bed rooms available at the same price that he gave us so i found that a bit odd. He also said that they usually charge for parking but he would give it us for free which was great but i wondered if they charge parking if you had reservations already. We took the queen size room thinking it wouldn't be that big a difference. They gave us the room all the way at the end of the hotel which when you left using the back exit it had a real bad smell. The smell away in the night when we returned from our day at the beach. The room was okay but not as good as other holiday inn express hotels we have stayed at. The refrigerator didn't work and we also had a weird shaped bathroom which i understood due to it being accessible. It was really big in space but the shower and sink were really small so you had this big open space where the toilet was at. So definitely lesson learned do not get the accessible rooms. The hotel entrances were also a bit off. You either had to go all the way to one end or the other to exit. Very long hallway and with the smell it made it difficult to walk so you had to run to the exit.

The hotel is located about 10 minutes away from the beach so that is the only plus we found.

Room Tip: Try to get a room closer to the front desk and not at the far end. Also never give in to getting the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newport Beach, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Nancy G,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay with us. Guest satisfaction is important to us and we try our hardest to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. We are so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us and regret the room you received did not live up to your expectations. Though we would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts as this is our best resource for improving the quality and services we .

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

I'm going to go with the good first - hotel service, breakfast area, and room quality meet and exceed HIE standards. The pool/spa has an odd entrance but was nice and clean. The breakfast area, even when packed with a senior bus tour, was still kept stocked and refreshed. Parking is free (nice) and there are a couple restaurants within walking distance. Balboa Pier and the beach are either a longer walk or short drive away. And there's a McLaren dealer two doors down if you like to ogle at beautiful things you can't afford!

OK onto what made this place bad - the noise and smell. As others have stated, some organic matter was disturbed on construction of the property and has left a pervading sulfur (rotten egg) scent mixed in with a hint of something rotting. It's worst near the elevator in the back. Our room was in the back, first floor. Yuck. It was very noticeable the first day. The second night we were greeted with noise above. As I had mentioned there was a large tour group there. Things were noisy and no one was intending to be that way - just not a lot of noise barriers apparently.

Overall the hotel was great but had circumstances out of its immediate control. I'd probably stay further north next time.

Room Tip: Stay away from the elevator!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newport Beach, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear mrd232,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. I appreciate the compliments on the breakfast and hotel services. However, I do apologize the experience you had with the room accommodations and allocation was less than satisfactory. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and services are superior and we strive to be the best hotel around. It sounds like we fell below your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

Again, I do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel. We hope that the next time you come through, you give us another chance to provide you with a better experience.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

The hotel is definitely over HIX standard. And the front desk staff is very friendly.
They have preferred parking spots for platinum members, but not well enforced.
Just don't stay on the first floor. I couldn't believe a new building like this can have the ceiling noise problem of a shabby wooden house. The ceiling of the first floor is like a drumhead, and you just sleep inside the drum. It's really really noisy.

Room Tip: No first floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Newport Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Newport Beach

Address: 2300 West Coast Highway, Newport Beach, CA 92663
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Newport Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinctively different, the Holiday Inn Express Newport Beach hotel is located across from Newport Beach Harbor, on exciting Mariner's Mile, a short drive to John Wayne Airport and walking distance to a wide variety of restaurants and entertainment. Come stay with us when you are attending some of Orange County's best events. Just minutes away from the OC Fair, Toshiba Senior Classic, Pageant of the Masters, Newport Harbor Christmas Boat Parade, Newport Beach Film Festival, Newport Boat Show, and the Taste of Newport Our professional staff is courteous, friendly, attentive and committed to making your stay fun, and memorable with first-class quality accommodations and legendary service to exceed your expectations. The Holiday Inn Express Newport Beach is also located near many top Orange County attractions such as Newport Beach Pier, Fashion Island, Balboa Island, South Coast Plaza, Disneyland, and the Orange County Fairgrounds. Newport Beach is also situated between two other exciting beach cities Laguna Beach and Huntington Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Newport Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Newport Beach Hotel Newport Beach
Holiday Inn Newport Beach
Newport Beach Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Newport Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.