We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Restaurant Right on the Beach!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Beachcomber Cafe

The Beachcomber Cafe
15 Crystal Cove, Newport Beach, CA 92657
949-376-6900
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Beachcomber Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 401 Restaurants in Newport Beach
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Los Trancos
Plano, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice Restaurant Right on the Beach!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Location ! Location ! Location! It really doesn't get much better than this. This is right on the beach at Crystal Cove. You need to park across the road and take a mini-bus down for $1 so it's not possible to see the actual location from PCH. Good casual food with a laid back beach vibe that's slightly overpriced but it's totally about the view. Awesome place to catch the sunset over the blue waters of the Pacific.
Our bar service was friendly and attentive as was the service in the actual dining area. Food was tasty but we had a long wait and the entrees were miss timed. They must have forgotten mine or there was some kind of problem because when it finally came out it was nuclear... too hot to eat for several minutes.
I made mention of this to the dining manager when he stopped by the table and he apologized and then disappeared. The situation was ignored by him except the waitress who knew what had happened stepped up and offered a dessert gratis.
I would have no problem recommending the Beachcomber based on the overall experience. The location was very cool. I would advise you to arrive early and make a reservation if possible otherwise you should be prepared to wait as the restaurant has a very strong following.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    246
    170
    32
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
newport coast, california
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I had visited the Beachcomber for breakfasts but this was the first dinner we had there (and with the kids!). Very charming atmosphere and the food did not disappoint - we had fish and ribs. The server was very patient and attentive, the food was good value. The wait was a bit much, especially since it was approaching 9:00pm, but overall a great experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Worth the wait”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Loved the location of the restaurant. The food was very good with a large menu. We dined for breakfast on a recent Saturday morning. We started out the morning with their famous Bloody Mary which was spicy and quite good. We sat on the outdoor patio facing the beach and had a wonderful view. I will have to admit the wait time to be seated was extremely long ... over an hour and a half. The food was great and worth the wait for the atmosphere.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Excellent Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Not only is the food great but our server Mary was helpful and attentive to our needs. There is a wait however, you are on a beach on the ocean so how cool is that. Great food and great views.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Villa, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Worth the Wait”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Each time we come to the Newport Beach area we make sure to stop at the Beachcomber. There is usually a 30 minute to 1 hour wait but it is well worth it. The food is simply wonderful with a STUNNING view right on the water. Menu is simple with not too many choices and every dish we have ever tried is outstanding. The Macadamia Coconut pancakes are phenominal!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Beachcomber Cafe also viewed

Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 
Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 

Been to The Beachcomber Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beachcomber Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.