We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, cheap excursion! ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Newport Landing Whale Watching

Newport Landing Whale Watching
309 Palm Street Suite A, Newport Harbour, Newport Beach, CA 92661
949-675-0551
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 66 Activities in Newport Beach
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Newport Landing provides multiple whale watching trips daily departing from Newport Beach. Whale watching trips are also referred to as whale watching tours or whale watching cruises. Newport Landing offers whale watching tours from December 17th through April 30th. Along with viewing Grey Whales you can expect to see dolphins, sea lions, and marine birds. Join Newport Landing on one of our open to the general public cruises or privately charter a whale watching boat.
Peoria IL
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great, cheap excursion! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Was in Orange county for a business meeting with work friends so we decided to try to see some whales. Used a coupon from a tourist flyer to save, booked ourselves for an upcoming trip, and loaded on to the boat. Headed out to sea and almost immediately saw many common dolphins swimming along side the boat! Enjoyed the cheep beers for sale on the boat as well. Didn't eat the burgers, but they certainly smelled good. Next thing we knew, there was a gray whale and her calf! We followed them (from a respectful distance) for about 30 minutes. Breathtaking and so much better than any sea world attraction. Seeing these beautiful creatures in their own habitat was worth way more than the small price we paid. Would definitely recommend this experience!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    24
    24
    5
    20
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Matthews, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Could have been more organized and informative.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

We took this tour in late Dec. 2013. When we tried to purchase our tickets from the Newport Landing shop (and yes as stated in other reviews do not pay full price as discount coupons were abundantly available) we were told to go further down the boardwalk to purchase them at another location. When we arrived at that location (Davey's Locker) we were put on a waiting list and told to go back to the Newport Landing shop to wait for availability. We did get tickets but the shop was extremely congested and chaotic. The operators need to set up queues and waiting areas to help organize this tour. Once on board the boat the trip was very pleasant and scenic. We did see many dolphins and sea lions but on this day no whales. We have been on whale watches in the past and we are aware that sightings are hit or miss. But when there isn't much sea mammal activity the operators of the craft should have perhaps offered a narration or history about the location and coastline we were exploring. This certainly would have enhanced the experience.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
51 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Nice boat outing for a few hours”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

We had the afternoon free so decided to do this because we had a 50% discount voucher (do NOT pay full price). We rang to check times and told to get down right away as they were starting boarding. Parking is a problem so we paid the customer parking behind the building. Cost $20. Buying tickets was odd as they waitlisted us as we did not have a booking (but did not take one when I talked to them earlier). Note that the two companies offering this at the pier are the same group and are interchangeable for times and boats. The boat went down the coast for 1.5 hours and then returned. No whales, but a nice time looking at the beaches and houses, and enjoyed the setting sun. We stopped at a buoy on the return to look at sea lions using it as a sunning spot. My recommendation is take the boat ride, you might see some interesting sights, but don't expect whales. And do not pay $35!!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlinville, Illinois
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Whale Watching”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

I realize that you are always at the mercy of luck and mother nature whenever you take on an adventure like this. I had been following the whale counts online for this site and they were looking pretty good in numbers of gray whales and various dolphins seen before we went on our tour on Tuesday, January 14 at 10 am. We had no such luck on our tour and other than having 2 juvenile whales at the start - we saw ZERO dolphins the entire trip. They came around and gave everyone a discount coupon for a future tour - BUT it was nothing more than the same 1/2 off deal we got online already. We talked to several people on our tour that had taken the tour the day before and they so NO whales that day. The ship was in great shape and very clean - the weather was nice - the captain was very knowledgeable - BUT to be honest 2 1/2 hrs with most of the time trailing two small whales was BORING - especially with no dolphins on the way out or back. If you have never been on a whale watch before then the experience was still enjoyable but left a lot to be desired from anyone with previous successful whale watching. **NOTE** please look online and you can find a discount coupon so the tour was only $16 (instead of $32). We couldn't believe how many people just walked up and paid full price. For $32 this tour would have received an even lower rating from us.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Haven, Florida
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Fun Whale Watching”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We were lucky to see 3 or 4 whales that showed us their tails! Staff were very nice and informative. Boat was clean with outside and inside are downstairs and an upstairs area for more breezy viewing. We also saw dolphins and sea lions playing in the water and lots of birds. Be sure to check on line for coupons- we got price almost half off.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Newport Landing Whale Watching also viewed

 

Been to Newport Landing Whale Watching? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newport Landing Whale Watching, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.