We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right on the beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Newport Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Newport Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Newport Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2306 West Oceanfront, Newport Beach, CA 92663   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Celebration Package
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Right on the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

You can't beat the location, right on the strip looking out on to the beach. You watch the other beach goers fighting for parking in front of the hotel while you have a secured spot in the back. It doesn't get more convenient for location. It is a very popular part of the strip with several bars nearby and downstairs. I was pleasantly surprised that I did not hear the bar at all from my room. Our room was quaint, clean and small. You are really paying for the location. It is an older hotel that has been remodeled and has more of a bed and breakfast feel. The staff was very friendly. We arrived before check in and were allowed to park our car in the hotel lot early until our room was ready which was very helpful because parking is a nightmare there. I was a little bummed that there was no wi-fi. Other than that, it was a pretty good stay for the price.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    22
    27
    9
    12
See reviews for
27
79
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Our little couple's retreat to this hotel was excellent. Both Marci and Kylie were great employees and helpful with questions. All the accouterments were spot on. Only suggestion is comp breakfast was sufficient but could have provided a little more options. The hotel is little and quaint and quite lovely. I would recommend to others.

Room Tip: Best room is ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We booked our hotel 2 months before our stay. Me and my boyfriend are 18 and we called ahead and they told us it was 18+ to rent a room. We live 1000 miles away and flew here for a relaxing vacation. We go to check in and they say we can't stay there because it's 21+. So we had to spend hours scrambling to find another hotel. They told us we could stay there and then we get there after a full day of travel and they wouldn't let us stay. Ridiculous. They wouldn't fix it for us even though it was their mistake. Terrible.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Beautiful hotel steps from the beach. The staff are so friendly and helpful. The rooms have a wow factor but our room could have benefitted from a heavier curtain as daylight poured in at 5am. Breakfast was complimentary as was the Wifi. The hotel has a secure parking lot to the rear. I have christened this hotel my mini shutters on the beach and I have great memories of my visit to Newport Beach as a result of my stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Media, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

This was a great find of a hotel located in the heart of Newport Beach. The staff was friendly and let us use their bikes for free to explore all Newport has to offer including Balboa Island. The rooms were well appointed and a little quirky but overal nice and clean. The hotel is located steps from the beach and walking distance to all the bars and stores.
Very good value, can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

I can see that this used to be quite the boutique inn..... It needs some serious attention though, as it is starting to slip. There were multiple repairs needed in our jacuzzi suite which, if it were my inn and I wanted to be a 4 or 5 star, I'd take care of those ASAP. The phone didn't work in our room (or the whole inn, as we found out). There are pieces of drywall chunked out of the wall, tiles missing in the bathroom, pieces of floor trim torn partially up.

Other notes: parking is not free, it is $18/ night. Breakfast is less than a holiday inn express.... Muffin or bagel in Saran Wrap, coffee, cereal or hard booked eggs, no decaf coffee and condiments like jam not stocked up. Garbage in breakfast room not emptied all day, so at night full of breakfast things, and the garbage cans themselves are broken (you have to lift with your hand instead of stepping on a pedal).

One other thing I wish I'd known: the sunrise jacuzzi room, which we stayed in, does not have a deck, or privacy at all. What looks like a deck on the website photos, with lots of windows and light, is actually the door from your room to the hall.... The hall leading from the main hotel to the parking lot. I never felt comfortable leaving the drapes open because people walking by would look into our room. We kept them closed, which made the room feel more closed off as they are the only windows in the room. There is a skylight in the bathroom and glass blocks, so light gets into the room anyways, but not any other windows per se.

One other note - there are lots of taverns and pubs around, that area has quite the nightlife. We never heard anything in our room at the back of the hotel, but the front rooms would be very very noisy.

All that being said: the room was decorated beautifully, the bed was comfy, linens soft, staff helpful and cheerful, and location is perfect. We enjoyed borrowing bikes, and heading down the boardwalk.

So would I stay again? Probably, but with lowered expectations. And not due to the hotel being so great, I think it is a bit overpriced for the quality received. We may stay again due to location.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

This hotel is fantastic if you are looking for a family vibe hotel. The staff are really lovely and they all really want you to enjoy your stay. They provide complimentary parking and continental breakfast daily. This place is really clean, tidy and well appointed. Everything in our room was clean and suited us to a tee. We stayed in room 108 and it had a spa in the room. They have free bike hire which we utilised and went for a bike ride up to Huntington Beach.

Room Tip: The front room at ocean view but they do come at a price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Newport Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Beach Hotel

Address: 2306 West Oceanfront, Newport Beach, CA 92663
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Newport Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As 'Newport's Closest Hotel to the Beach,' the Newport Beach Hotel is located in the heart of one of California's most popular beach settings. The hotel is ideal for guests who enjoy being surrounded by youthful energy including an eclectic beach scene as well as an exciting nightlife. Just steps from the sand, the updated hotel features coastal-inspired decor and each guestroom offers a king or queen bed, flat panel television and many feature a jetted spa tub and fireplace. Opt for the Oceanview Guestroom and enjoy panoramic views of the active Newport Beach and ocean beyond.As part of the Chic Hotel Collection, the Newport Beach Hotel offers a complimentary Continental breakfast, use of the hotel's bicycles and beach toys, complimentary wireless Internet access and a lobby bar where beer and wine may be purchased. Secured onsite parking is available for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and BookIt.com so you can book your Newport Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newport Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.