We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, friendly and a few room challenges.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Newport Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Newport Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Newport Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2306 West Oceanfront, Newport Beach, CA 92663   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 17 hotels in Newport Beach
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Location, friendly and a few room challenges.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in 114 without AC, and the wobbly fan (fan fixed the day before we left). It was unusually warm so this was a bummer. We had two young kids, 4 fans going, and stayed only because they cut the rate in half. What was most disappointing is that the AC was out for some time prior to our visit and the owners knew it would not be fixed until after our stay. In my opinion, they should have called us. They made it palatable by agreeing to 1/2 rate we booked. This place really is about the beach, a short stroll to play in the water, to eat, and then back to sleep. Coffee is first rate, staff is very kind and helpful. Great to have the beach equipment and bikes right there. We had a good time without the AC.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    72
    21
    21
    9
    12
See reviews for
24
63
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

This place has some things going for it- including a beautiful beach location. I think that's why you pay so much more than the rooms are worth. It's a small, beachy hotel. Nothing fancy. The air conditioner was broken for our entire 3 night stay. We asked them to cut the price in half and they did. We were not willing to stay here and pay full price. All the staff was accommodating and kind. We took full advantage of their boogie boards, sand toys, beach chairs, and umbrella daily! The rooms in back are larger and worked for two adults and two kids (daybed/trundle bed and a queen). The other rooms would have been impossible with more than 2 people.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Now that title could indicate either something good or something bad. It all depends on what you are looking for. If you are looking for a peaceful, upscale, 4 star boutique hotel / bed and breakfast, this would not meet your expectations. If you are looking for a place to stay that is right on the beach in the heart of a bustling (and sometimes noisy) and busy public boardwalk that is convenient to several local bars, this may be just what you would expect. The room itself was fairly nice, but the view was terrible which necessitated keeping the curtains closed. The continental breakfast was a rather sparse. The parking was expensive ($18 a day) and challenging to get in and out of. It was nice that they offered bikes. I appreciated them taking half off my room rate because the air conditioner didn't work. All in all, being someone who loves staying at a bed and breakfast, it wasn't what I expected.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston-Salem, North Carolina, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We are spending $350 a night to stay in a suite (room 114), we walk in and the air conditioner says "system error". I called the front desk and she tells me "Oh, yeah. We are having problems with the air back there. Nothing we can do." She could have said something to me when I was checking in. She even called the hotel owners and they would not do anything about it. While we were taking to the front desk person, she said that while we were taking about things, the jacuzzi bathtub does not work either. When I turned the ceiling fan on high, the fan shook so hard, that I thought it was going to come flying off, not to mention the squeaking noises that you would not be able to sleep through. Make sure that you call before you book your room and ask specifically if there is anything broken at the time,because they WILL not do anything to help you!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Clean, nicely renovated rooms, and steps from the beach - overall this hotel was nice. However, the website was a bit deceiving in that there were not any true "Ocean View Rooms" (partial view with windows that opened & across from a parking lot) and the Lobby and "Bar" areas left much to be desired as they were not overly inviting with minimal & uncomfortable furnishings - a few cozy leather chairs,books and games were redeeming elements though.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turlock, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

We stayed here one night in room 108 and really enjoyed ourselves. 250 a night plus 18 parking. a bit pricey but worth it to be so close to where we wanted to be. So delighted to step out of the hotel and practically be on the beach. Room was basic with the queen bed but had a dresser in the closet and a nice large bathtub. Staff was very polite and helpful when asking to borrow the chairs for the beach and to use the bikes to cruise along the beach the next morning. Loved sitting upstairs and looking out the beautiful window to see the beach and all the people before heading to bed. Hotel was quiet for us but heard someone else complain of a loud party next to them. Nice light breakfast the next morning. Would definitely come back again and recommend that others do the same.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Clean, adorable, comfortable, and right on the beach. Parking is terrible, but everything else is fabulous!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Newport Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Beach Hotel

Address: 2306 West Oceanfront, Newport Beach, CA 92663
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 hotels in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Newport Beach Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As 'Newport's Closest Hotel to the Beach,' the Newport Beach Hotel is located in the heart of one of California's most popular beach settings. The hotel is ideal for guests who enjoy being surrounded by youthful energy including an eclectic beach scene as well as an exciting nightlife. Just steps from the sand, the updated hotel features coastal-inspired decor and each guestroom offers a king or queen bed, flat panel television and many feature a jetted spa tub and fireplace. Opt for the Oceanview Guestroom and enjoy panoramic views of the active Newport Beach and ocean beyond.As part of the Chic Hotel Collection, the Newport Beach Hotel offers a complimentary Continental breakfast, use of the hotel's bicycles and beach toys, complimentary wireless Internet access and a lobby bar where beer and wine may be purchased. Secured onsite parking is available for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Newport Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newport Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.