We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Find” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Modo Mio Cucina Rustica

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Modo Mio Cucina Rustica
7946 E Coast Hwy, Newport Beach, CA 92657
949-497-9770
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Modo Mio Cucina Rustica is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #176 of 401 Restaurants in Newport Beach
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Dining at Modo Mio is a delight, thanks to the efforts of owner Gian Franco Bertolino and his talented staff. While Modo Mio translates to my way, in Italian, Bertolino has infused his restaurant with his own standard of excellence. From the moment diners are greeted, as they enter the Newport Coast, California location, they are enveloped into a haven of warmth and hospitality. Bertolino and company are dedicated to creating and serving superb Northern Italian specialties, to their devoted clientele, in an ambiance that is both inviting and relaxing.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We made a 6:15 reservation on Open Table for 4 on a Saturday night and at 4:30 that same day we switched it to 7 pm for 2/22/14. No problem and a wait of only 3 minutes while the hostess seated a two couples ahead of us.

Three of us had the bean soup, and when my wife finishes a dish, you know it's good. We all enjoyed the appetizer soup and one of us had a great caesars salad. Our cousins had two different types of veal and each with a different side of pasta that came with it. The pasta was large enough to be a meal unto itself. They finished it all. I had the penne with mushrooms...not quite what I was expecting, but it was delicious. My wife had the salmon, which was large enough for two and perfectly cooked. The bread was fresh and warm and they gave us a "compliments from the chef" appetizer taster of sliced mushrooms in olive oil and herbs. Wonderful!

We were very pleased with our meals and certainly will return the next time we're in that area. The only downfall....and I say this about almost all California restaurants is that it is noisy!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    16
    5
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Wait, wait and more waiting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We dined here on a recent Saturday evening and found that service to be so slow that it actually turned off our appetite. The food was decent but due to the delay in service I could not actually judge anymore.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California, Usa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“is modomio on the decline?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Our party of 5 had a disappointing dinner on Fri 10, 2014. Sevice was supeficial and disinterested, the food was not even worth two owls. The minestrone turned out to be an ordinary, uninspired vegatble soup; their usually good nodino (veal chop) was overcooked to my taste and lacked any flavor. The only good dishes were the pastas, but those can be had at Luna Rosso (District) and Roma d'Italia for less money.The manager had left at 9 pm, without coming to our table even once.
Is Modo Mio on the decline?

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“One of Our Favourites”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

We have been taking a winter break at Newport Coast for the last six years. We discovered Modo Mio on our first visit and look forward to eating there each year. It is situated in an upscale strip mall on the Pacific Coast Highway at Crystal Cove which is between Laguna Beach and Newport Beach. There is no view, unless you enjoy looking over the many exotic cars in the parking lot!

The decoration is neutral and the ambiance is "busy Italian". Because the tables are close together and the ceiling is arched, when it's full, as it normally seems to be, the noise level is high. That does seem, however, to be a characteristic of many popular Italian restaurants. There is no outside dining area.

The menu is extensive for all courses. In addition to the menu starters, the chef provides complimentary marinaded mushrooms. These tasty tidbits and the excellent house-baked bread generally have sufficed for starters for us. We have sampled many of the main-course offerings and have never been disappointed. Especially the rissotto, of which there are three choices and a daily selection, is a favourite. Desserts are excellent and the chocolate pecan pie is to die for! Prices are very reasonable, especially for an up-market area.

The wine list, although not huge, covers a nice range, fairly priced with a good selection of by-the-glass choices.

We have always been happy with the service with all the wait staff friendly, efficient and attentive.

Highly recommended!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Excellent start to our visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We ate here our first night at the Newport Coast Villas. We were headed to the market but decided to have an early dinner here. It was a good choice. They honored our request for a window table and service was excellent.
There were four of us and we all had a different entree. I had the penne with salmon and my husband had risotto. Everyone loved their meal. My daughter-in-law and I both had lunch the next day with our leftovers. The prices were very reasonable.
We would recommend this restaurant and plan to return when we visit again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Modo Mio Cucina Rustica also viewed

Newport Beach, Orange County
 
Newport Beach, Orange County
Balboa Island, Newport Beach
 

Been to Modo Mio Cucina Rustica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Modo Mio Cucina Rustica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.