We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“California as we Europeans imagine it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fig & Olive Newport Beach

Fig & Olive Newport Beach
151 Newport Center Drive, Fashion Island, Newport Beach, CA 92660
+(1)949.877.3005
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Fig & Olive Newport Beach is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #77 of 399 Restaurants in Newport Beach
Cuisines: French, Italian, Spanish
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“California as we Europeans imagine it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We only stopped in for a quick lunch but will definitely go back. We have been R + D Kitchen aficionados for about 5 years but this is now the place to eat at Fashion Island-

Yellow tail carpaccio with truffle fries and a cucumber cocktail were simple and delicious.

Salade de poulet was fresh and tasty.

Great service.

The space is open and airy and a real pleasure to be in. A really fabulous indoor/outdoor space.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    34
    18
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mission Viejo, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great food for OC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Shockingly enough in Fashion Island, this is a nice restaurant. Unlike other restaurants around however, Fig & Olive feels more like it's from LA or NY in terms of ambiance and style of food. It's a refreshing change from the overabundance of chain restaurants in OC.

The atmosphere is fantastic and unique (especially the patio) but it can get fairly noisy when crowded, which is most every dinner service. The service has been impeccable every time I have been and the food has been mostly great.

Almost all of the appetizers and entrees I have tried have been very good to great, but a few have been slightly bland if still well cooked (The Filet jumps to mind). Cooking only with olive oil and no butter can be challenging and the sole use of olive oil is apparent in a few dishes by the lack of flavor. The deserts are far less successful unfortunately. I have tried most of them and while they are all passable, none are worth the calories nor the price.

Overall Fig & Olive is a great new place in OC that succeeds on most fronts. I highly recommend giving it a try, and possibly do lunch to avoid the crowds and the noise.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great Food, Uneven Service, Be Ready to Pay $$$”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Let me start by saying that I really like this restaurant. I had eaten at the one in NY a year ago - this is similar in terms of offering lots of small plates (which is great) and so I was eager to try it out. I've been there multiple times - the breadth of choices seems wider than what I remember in NY. The food is innovative and very tasty - particularly the crostini. The ambience is also really nice. Big open, bright dining rooms with a Mediterranean like flavor.
But - if you decide to try it - just be aware of two things: (1) the service is uneven, particularly when there's a crowd (e.g. on a holiday). On Mother's Day, dinner took us almost three hours. the group next to us got so frustrated that they left. (2) the food (and particularly the wine - a glass of Chardonnay is $18) is pretty pricey.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“depends what you're looking for..!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

its probably the restaurant of the moment in newport beach. definitely "a place to be seen". its big and as such can't really be described as romantic or intimate. the food is quite good and the menu is interesting and diverse. our server couldn't have been nicer...very friendly and informative and this was a busy friday night. the bar scene.....well, let's just say its not really about the food!! the women...almost all great looking...outnumbered the men. all in all, i liked it and i'll make it a point to go back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PALM SPRINGS, CA
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“GREAT ATMOSPHERE--DISAPPOINTING SERVICE”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Went this past Thursday evening for a birthday celebration--hostess pleasant, table was great and food adequate, the server however could have at least "pretended" she wanted to be there. Was bam-bam to the point, it was the equivalent of pulling teeth to get her to recommend anything and just seemed to be seriously disinterested. Would not go back. Felt like an idiot after leaving that I tipped her.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fig & Olive Newport Beach also viewed

Newport Beach, Orange County
 
Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Fig & Olive Newport Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fig & Olive Newport Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.