We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sas it a bad night? Poor service and a $78 mistake on the bill?” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Cannery

The Cannery
3010 Lafayette Rd, Newport Beach, CA 92663
(949) 566-0060
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Cannery is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #43 of 359 Restaurants in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: Seafood, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 32nd Street
So California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Sas it a bad night? Poor service and a $78 mistake on the bill?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

I had dinner last the Cannery on Tuesday July 3rd, 2012. I have been there before and I live locally. I was having a social and business dinner and we went for Sushi upstairs. I must admit I was surprised and NOT in a good way.

The sushi dinner took over 3 hours since the staff was too busy or distracted with other issues. 20 or 30 minutes would go by and we would see and hear from no-one. We refilled our own water glasses twice and I went to get the required place settings between courses and when the food came we had nothing to eat with. It is a big stretch to get plates, and chopsticks and soy sauce when sushi is delivered to the table? Particularly after waiting for 30 minutes?

Also.. our bill had a $78 mistake on it. Really? $78 on a $380 bill for 4? Of course I had to search the restaurant to find our waitress to have it corrected because she was not attending to us at all. Bad service and being overcharged? I hope I was an anomolly.

Not sure if it was because it was the night before July 4th but I was really disappointed. how can I take clients here again?

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    102
    32
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great Happy Hour!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Read the menu carefully, as the food is 1/2 off but the drinks are not so have to watch that part. But the view is lovely upstairs pearched as if you are in a tree house with the water below. Sushi is excellent and by the time we left the sushi bar upstairs was completely full. Service is very helpful too.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fordyce, Arkansas
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
“Very Nice Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Dined at The Cannery with three other couples in conjunction with a stay at nearby Pelican Hill Resort. We were seated on the outdoor deck overlooking the marina. Service was very nice and the food was outstanding. Good sushi and seafood appetizers followed by an assortment of surf and turf main courses. Found nothing to complain about.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Try the Pear Ravioli Appetizer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Food and service was very good. The Pear Ravioli Appetizer was wonderful, although could have been our dessert! The salad of the day with Arugula, Strawberries and Honeydew Melon was quite nice. The waiter had the kitchen split the portion onto 2 plates for my wife and me. We both had the Chilean Sea Bass over rice and agree that it was among the best we have had. Our early dinner on the patio was delightful.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorba Linda, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Over rated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Filet mignon was fair at best. My wife had the bouillabaisse and commented it was average. The choices of salad were bland. Much better off going to Morton's. The Cannery is just atmosphere. In fact, the couple behind us had to return their dinner as it was under cooked.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cannery also viewed

Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 
Newport Beach, Orange County
 

Been to The Cannery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cannery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.