We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just happened by & what a surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fly N Fish Oyster Bar and Grill

Fly N Fish Oyster Bar and Grill
2304 W. Oceanfront, Newport Beach, CA 92663
(949) 673-8400
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 412 Restaurants in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood, Oyster Bar
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Indio, California
1 review
“Just happened by & what a surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

We totally happened upon Fly 'N' Fish last night. Amazing place, food, & service. The best clam chowder I've ever had - nice smoky, clam infused flavor. My husband had the Fra Diavolo - linguine w/ mixed grill & shellfish. Food presentation was great. Chef Julio Hawkins & the owner were both present, managing the food & restaurant. Bartender Bobby was attentive. Chef stopped to talk to us & was very gracious. My husband said it is 1 of the top 10 on his restaurant list. Will definitely be back. Highly recommend.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    23
    4
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California
Top Contributor
644 reviews 644 reviews
435 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 208 cities Reviews in 208 cities
268 helpful votes 268 helpful votes
“Cousins out for a happy hour!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

We were at our annual cousins reunion. My cousin has a place nearby and off we went. Hopping, busy, fun filled place. Wines by the glass, drinks, and let us not forget the appetizers. We shared crab cakes, calamari, and a crab salad. We ate every bite and enjoyed our visit! The staff is very friendly and the owner stopped by several times to check on us!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Spray of Salt in the air”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Had an excellent dinner last week. Was able to get a table for four at 7pm on a Tuesday. Soon was packed. The macadamia nut halibut was great. Sides well prepared. Clam chowder probably one of the best I've had; strong clam infused broth with perfect creaminess. Husband had Fish tacos which were well prepared. Service was outstanding. Drinks and wind came fast and nice and cold. Priced typically for fresh fish.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Great spot for a casual hangout with great food and a view that can't be beat! It took a long time to get waited on, can't say service was the best but again good, view, prices and location were awesome. Would definitely go back!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hesperia, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Quaint place for lunch near the pier”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Quaint little place for lunch. had Calamari, fish tacos, clam chowder and beers. all was good. Would go back next time we are in town.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fly N Fish Oyster Bar and Grill also viewed

Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 
Newport Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Fly N Fish Oyster Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fly N Fish Oyster Bar and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.