We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crab was very good but....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crab Cooker

Crab Cooker
2200 Newport Blvd, Newport Beach, CA 92663-4324
(949) 673-0100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 401 Restaurants in Newport Beach
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
albany ny
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
“Crab was very good but....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

While I enjoyed my meal very much...the king crab legs were excellent...was this portion worth $47 dollars for lunch? I would not do it again...way too much money for a few crab legs...

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    134
    67
    25
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“THE place to go!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We were looking for a great little place to get some really fresh and quality seafood while at Newport Beach, and this place fit the bill! Their food is delicious and the atmosphere is fantastic! It is a market, so don't expect a dollar menu, but if you want the top of line seafood and service after a great day at the beach, Crab Cooker nails it. The only downside to the place is the location; it can be tough to find parking (we were there on Memorial Day) and there isn't a view of the ocean/beach from the restaurant. Still, I highly recommend it and would definitely go back again!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“This place never changes...and that's a good thing!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

61 years of continuous service and the lines are still out the door during the busy season. When I go down to Newport and Laguna Beach, it is always the first stop. If it's oyster season, that starts my order, if it isn't, then I go directly to the scallop skewers with potatoes and tomatoes...don't make the mistake of not getting the potatoes! They are wonderful.
If you are looking for an elegant meal, keep looking, but if you want to go where the locals eat, decade after decade, this is the spot!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Love the clam chowder”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I always stop in here for some chowder every time i am in the Newport Beach area.I just like to go in and get some to go.Eat it out on the bench.So good!!..I have been coming here for over 20 years and it always excellent.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good Seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I really liked the grilled lobster skewer (even though a bit expensive 39 USD). Scallop and Shrimps were perfectly cooked. But the most delicious thing was their Salmon wings. OMG crispy outside and tender salmon fillet inside... Never ate salmon that good!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crab Cooker also viewed

Newport Beach, Orange County
 
Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Crab Cooker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crab Cooker, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.