We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Save your money!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Crab Cooker

Crab Cooker
2200 Newport Blvd, Newport Beach, CA 92663-4324
(949) 673-0100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #61 of 359 Restaurants in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Takeout
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Save your money!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

Our waitress was nice. The food was far from good. The soft shell crabs were frozen and tasteless...also very small. I even wondered if they were legal! Their clam chowder was gluey like it was full of cornstarch. Coleslaw was overboard with onions.
Not sure what people rave about. I know it's been around for a long time. I guess the tourists keep it alive.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    147
    79
    30
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hickory, North Carolina
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Favorite favorite favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Need I say more! If you like a local seafood joint with truly fresh seafood... No need to look any further..ohhhh soft shell crab n tarter sauce....the handmade cracker knots for the world famous chowder deserve a grade of their own! Don't be afraid of the line at the door! Totally worth it!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Fun joint! Paper plates and cups, but awesome fish and chowder!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Some friends of ours took us here, and we looked it. The clam chowder is the red kind, but it was very good. The fish was fresh and the Bread delicious. It's a place full of character and charm. The service was excellent, and the waitresses some of them have been there more than 30 years. It is a legnedary place. I did not find it touristy or pricey for Newport Beach. We had a great time. It's noisy, and lots of fun. Parking is tough, however. They do not make reservations. We went around 5:30 PM on a Saturday night and got right in. Left around 7 and there was already a line.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SO CAL
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“PAST ITS PRIME....WAY PAST!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Thought I would stop here for a quick lunch as it had been a number of years since my last visit.

This restaurant is a Newport Beach staple for many years.

After being seated I ordered clam chowder and a round loaf of bread. The bread has a harder crust that completely crumbles all over when you break into the loaf. Oh by the way it costs $1.50. My chowder came in a little cup and it was orange. When I inquired the waitress told me that they only serve Manhattan Chowder not New England. Why they wouldn't serve the most popular chowder is beyond me. Also why wouldn't the waitress mention that when you order it.

So the waitress kindly took it back and I ordered the grilled salmon lunch. My lunch comes and I notice the salmon piece is not very large and is partially covered in skin. Since you normally would never eat salmon skin I had no idea why it was on there. Upon pulling off the skin I noticed that brown color skin sometime you see on fish. So after I trimmed that off there wasn't a whole lot of fish left. What was there was OK.

The potatoes come in a little round circle and are mashed with a little cheese melted on top. They tasted OK but again nothing to rave about.

Coleslaw was OK but not a lot of flavor.

If you are looking for flatware and dishes don't bother. McDonalds style plastic forks, spoons and knives along with paper plates and cups are the serving elements.

My bill with Diet Coke was about $15.

I will never go to this place again. I really don't know how they stay in business year after year. I guess people are attracted by the exterior look of the restaurant and the name.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester VA
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Fun place to eat OK seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

This is a legendary place that was even written up in the NY Times. It's down-home and touristy, with a bus arriving while we were there. Very simple food, somewhat pricey, but the quality was good and the seafood fresh. We enjoyed the clam chowder, though I would dispute their claim of "world's best." They also served excellent friend squid (not listed as calamari), which was incredibly fresh. A limited beer selection and paper plates/plastic utensils make this a very quick meal.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crab Cooker also viewed

Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 
Newport Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Crab Cooker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crab Cooker, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.