We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hands down best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 21 Oceanfront

21 Oceanfront
2100 West Oceanfront, Newport Beach, CA 92663
949-673-2100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
21 Oceanfront is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #36 of 359 Restaurants in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $80
Cuisines: Californian, Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Newport Beach Pier
Transit: We offer Complimentary Roundtrip Transportation for groups of 8 or more within a 20 mile radius (based on availability). We have Custom Mercedes Sprinters and Corporate Vans. Comfortable, clean white vehicles, staffed with professional drivers. This service is complimentary, driver gratuity is appreciated.
Yorba Linda, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hands down best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Hands down the best restaurant in Newport. The food is amazing (try the Halibut). Friendly and knowledgeable staff and the sunset view is the only one in Newport Beach. Great happy hour prices and fresh drinks!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    34
    10
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Always a classic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We have been coming to 21 Oceanfront for well over 15 years. Wonderful, romantic, great views of the ocean and sunset. While the menu has not changed much over the years, the food remains fantastic. One of the only places I have found that serves Abalone. Not inexpensive, but worth it as a special treat. And the soufflé is fantastic. Make sure you leave room for this.

Just be careful when dining on the weekend or during a holiday, beach parking and traffic can be a mess. 21 Oceanfront does offer valet, however, getting to the restaurant when parking is busy can take awhile. During the week....no issues at all.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good Food and Great Location ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

This restaurant is located at the beach with a beautiful view. And as good as the location is, the food and service is amazing.

We came in with no reservation and sat at the bar. The food was grata the wine was good and Ryan was fantastic.

If you get a chance, check this place out!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great food, great sunset”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We had dinner at 21 Oceanfront and were very impressed. The service was wonderful and the food was excellent. From appetizers to dessert I could not find a fault. My wife enjoyed the three-course lobster tail special while I had the osso buco. The osso buca was outstanding over a layer of polenta. The chocolate souffle was very good.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Ohio
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“beautiful view & great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We ended our trip to Newport Beach with a very nice dinner at 21 Oceanfront. Located close to the pier, this is a beautiful restaurant with club-style wood/leather decor and a great view of the ocean. As we perused the menu, we were offered a small hummus appetizer with carrots and celery. For our meal, we chose the day's special -- halibut with a pistachio crust -- and we were very happy. Our server Monika was very attentive, and when we asked for a wine recommendation, she recommended a Martin Ray chardonnay from the Russian River area that complemented our halibut perfectly. Definitely worth a visit for a special dinner!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 21 Oceanfront also viewed

Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 
Newport Beach, Orange County
 

Been to 21 Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 21 Oceanfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.