We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent bistro style” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Juliette Kitchen & Bar

Juliette Kitchen & Bar
1000 Bristol North Suite 11, Newport Beach, CA
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Juliette Kitchen & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 393 restaurants in Newport Beach
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Jamboree
Huntington Beach, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent bistro style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Although not particularly French, there is a definitely a bistro flavor to this restaurant which replaced Pascal's off Bristol in Newport Beach. We ate there for the first time and enjoyed everything about it. Had reservations and were warmly greeted. Server (Kelsey) was polite, attentive, and knowledgeable. The menu included many interesting dishes and offered both large and small plates, while the wine list was large and more than satisfactory. Not only had the usual 6oz pour but also offered a 3oz pour for those who ordered by the glass and wanted a smaller follow-up. I have only seen that feature once before. Overall a great experience and will definitely be back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    23
    4
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
OC, CA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“OC essential”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Irvine/Newport Beach really needs restaurants like Juliette Kitchen and Bar. We have many large chain restaurants and a few expensive small restaurants. Juliette's is a small, moderately priced (for the type of food) establishment. Our bartender was attentive, our hostess was exceptionally accommodating and the waitress mature enough to give us the time when needed.
The wine deal is great, bring your own or buy a bottle at the attached retail store and corkage is $15. We brought one bottle, bought one bottle and tried a signature drink that was very good.
The food is tremendous. 4 of us shared 6 small plates. Every one was tremendous. This was more than enough food. The kale salad was excellent, the muscles very good and the pork cheeks interesting. The selection of large plates was a bit limited. However, again for us this was a non issue as we wanted to have more of a tapas style meal. Again, this is one of the few "foodie" restaurants in this area. Like many of our friends Juliette's will become our go to place. I hope more restaurants like this open in the area so we don't have to travel to LA for a unique meal.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, CA
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Okay, not fabulous.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

After reading all the amazing reviews, I was really dying to try this place but was really put off immediately by the Newport snottiness hostess and servers. Really craved that burgers mentioned so many times, but told it wasn't on the dinner menu. Settled for the kale salad, (I know, one extreme to another) and was offered chicken on top by the waiter. He quickly returned to inform me that they couldn't add chicken in the evening, only at lunch!! Kinda stupid and will not be returning as there are too many other good places that would bend over backward for our business. That said, the banana dessert was delicious!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorba linda
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“If you can make brussel sprouts taste like this.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

My wife and I went here in February. We had heard of this newer place where Pascal used to be and decided to give it a shot. Packed on a Saturday night, we had no trouble finding a place at the bar. Unique take on wine, there is a small retail shop attached to the restaurant with a very knowledgeable person working there. You buy a bottle and take it into the restaurant and they charge you $5 to cork it. Sounds like a gimmick until you check out the prices and find them very competitive with larger wine shops in Orange County like Winex or Wine club. Great food and atmosphere and the roasted Brussels sprouts with Lamb bacon? C'mon man, that was crazy good!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Really good burger!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

This is a really nice hidden gem. They were the original owners of Old Towne Orange's Filling Station which was and still is a very popular restaurant. I come here for the Juliette Burger. They make house made sodas. The cranberry mint is very good. Nice wait staff.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Juliette Kitchen & Bar also viewed

Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 
Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Juliette Kitchen & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Juliette Kitchen & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.