We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chow-tastic!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eat Chow

Eat Chow
211 62nd St., Newport Beach, CA
(949) 423-7080
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 399 Restaurants in Newport Beach
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Newport Beach, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Chow-tastic!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I really like this place - both locations! Fresh clean eats, bold flavors, clean interior, diverse menu, friendly knowledgeable servers, would recommend for breakfast, lunch and dinner served in a casual atmosphere. Has a hip vibe. Menu changes seasonally. Nice affordable cocktails. Try the Chow mimosa. We love the truffle mac & cheese and they have a delicious ribeye burrito but don't pass on their salads. Salads are fresh delicious and hearty. Several really great desserts. We love the homemade chocolate taco. In cases I didn't mention it, pricing is amazing for what you get!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    20
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
california
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A Hidden Treasure!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

This is one of those restaurants you can go back to again and again and again. The menu is super diverse -- and literally everything on it sounds good/and everything we have ordered has been delicious! The people who work at Eat Chow are so nice, so friendly. It is now definitely our family's favorite restaurant. Best onion rings ever. The desserts are to die for. And every entree we've ordered has had their special take on it -- absolutely great!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

My wife and I had dinner at Eat Chow in Newport Beach. I had the shrimp and scallops Paella with sweet corn - it was delicious!! This is the second time we eat there and we both have been very satisfied with the food and the service - friendly and courteous staff.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Great Seasonal Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

The restaurant has two locations, one in Newport and the other in Costa Mesa. I have eaten here twice and both times the food was great. I had the salmon tacos once and the swordfish the other time. What really impressed me about the menu is that the food struck me as being very fresh and in season.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Coast, Ca
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“You have to look for it but when you find it, it is a wonderful find.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We were delighted to find out about Eat Chow. The food is fresh and delicious. Everyone says to try the truffle fries, well they are delightful but so is the rest of their food. I had one of their specials which was a shrimp cerviche. It was excellent. There were so many things on the menu that we will have to go back often. Everything sounded good. Parking is a bit of an issue in the area but it is the same for the other restaurants in the neighborhood so don't let that stop you from going in. The service is very good and the wait staff is very helpful. It is certainly one of the best lunch spots for good food.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eat Chow also viewed

Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 
Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Eat Chow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eat Chow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.