We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great For First Time SUPs!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pirate Coast Paddle Company

Pirate Coast Paddle Company
1131 Back Bay Drive, Newport Beach, CA 92660
949-278-0011
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 66 Activities in Newport Beach
Type: Water sports, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Pirate Coast Paddle Company is the best Stand Up Paddle board adventure in Southern California. We provide rentals, lessons, tours, events, kids camps, corporate events and excursions. Come glide over the pacific on a Stand Up Paddle Board to experience the ocean in a exciting new way. Stand Up Paddle boarding offers a great core workout, recreation, and lots fun!Pirate Coast is Adjacent the boat launch and Bistro. Pirate Coast is on small beach on the marina side of the bridge near gabezbo. Look for bright blue tables and flags.
Death Valley National Park, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great For First Time SUPs!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

This is a great place for those who are trying stand-up paddleboarding for the first time since it is in a cove of Newport Beach's Back Bay. There aren't any currents or boat traffic to deal with until you leave the cove. The price for rentals was reasonable - $20/hr. as of Aug. 2013. The staff were very friendly, relaxed, and helpful with instructions on getting started. We left our beach towels and flip-flops on the small sandy beach, and the staff didn't mind keeping an eye on our stuff. The only thing that was missing was a place to rinse off the salt water since I fell in a couple of times. But it wasn't big deal, and all in all, I would highly recommend this company to others.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great intro to SUP Paddle Boarding”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

A super convenient location at Newport Beach's back bay, perfect sheltered water for the four of us who had never paddled before.

The staff were totally approachable with plenty of suggestions and tips for the how-to. The price for rentals was really fair as well ($20 per hr) When they saw our 6 year old wasnt going to try they gave us a life jacket for him anyways just in case . Sure enough it came in handy once he saw his older sister paddling.

The bay was perfect for our 9 year old to be able to build confidence while still getting pushed around a bit by the wind. We were able to make quick time and explore further, through the marina and beyond.

What a great time. We're hooked and have already bought our first board!!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dryden, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great time on the water!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

My daughter and I went paddle boarding at the Pirate Coast Paddle Company and had great fun. It was a laid back, fun and safe experience. There was nothing to it and you can make it as challenging as you wanted. You could take the boards for as long as you wanted. Great exercise and the people there were friendly and helpful.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
1 review
“Can't wait to go back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

My cousins were visiting from Colorado and had never been SUPing so i took them to Pirate Coast and we had an amazing time. It's a great location and we had a blast exploring the bay. The equipment is great and the staff is awesome. I'll definitely be going back soon.

Follow their instagram at piratecoastpaddle for occasional deals of the day and awesome pics.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“So much fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

A group of us (23) went paddling at Pirate Coast this week. Most of us hadn't done SUP before. The staff is really friendly and helpful. They gave us a lesson on how to paddle and within 15 minutes of getting on the board, most of us were standing. The location is ideal for beginners as the water is very calm. After paddling for awhile, we went out further into the bay which is beautiful and so relaxing. They have a nice beach area where you can bring a picnic and hang out. Great place for families, couples or a big group like us!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pirate Coast Paddle Company also viewed

Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 
Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Pirate Coast Paddle Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pirate Coast Paddle Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.