We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crabs and starfish, sea gulls and sandpipers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Newport Beach

Newport Beach
100 Civic Center Drive, Newport Beach, CA, Newport Beach, CA 92660
949-644-3309
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Newport Beach like an insider
Special Offer
$51*
and up
Full-Day Deep-Sea Fishing Cruise from Newport...
Activities: Birdwatching
Attraction details
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Crabs and starfish, sea gulls and sandpipers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Our family has had many happy reunions at Newport Beach. We ride bikes, explore the sea life, swim, surf, and sun bathe. Then we barbeque and hold potlucks in the evenings.

I particularly enjoy walking on the beach in the early morning, when hundreds of starfish and crabs can be seen in the rock jetties and sandpipers search for breakfast.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    309
    147
    32
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orange county
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Kayak the back bay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

A great way of enjoying the beach is to get away from people by kayaking the back bay. I highly recommend it. It is very peaceful, even meditative. It's a good way to see something that is otherwise disappearing from our ecology. The bay brings in migrating birds and other small animals such as bobcats can be found here. It's nice to see hawks, herons and other birds in the area. Not too many people are out kayaking on a given day and the vegetation is diverse, beautiful. There are a few places to rent kayaks from. If you love to kayak I recommend it.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“A breath of paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Phenomenal climate; great restaurants & hotels. Magnificent beauty abounds at every turn; the sea, the foliage and the overwhelming sense of peace which envelopes you everywhere. Could very easily stay and call it home.....

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Quiet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

There is reasonable parking nearby, and restrooms off orange street with a nice kids playground. The beach is long and not crowded I love this beach!, no hustle no bustle.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“nice and cozy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Newport Beach is a great place to live. The weather is always great. We will have a heat wave about 2-3 weeks per year otherwise it will be around 55-65F all year around. At this moment, it is max at 65 in a day time and 52F at a night time. There are a lot of good place to eat both casual and formal, from a crab shack to the great steak house. Beach is good. There are a serif of beach from here along the HWY 1 so it is really beautiful to drive around too.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Newport Beach also viewed

Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 
Laguna Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Newport Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newport Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.