We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Winery Surprise in an Unlikely Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Orange Coast Winery

Orange Coast Winery
869 W. 16th St., Newport Beach, CA 92663
949-645-0400
Website
Improve this listing
Winter Haven, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great Winery Surprise in an Unlikely Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

I had read other reviews so knew that we would find this winery in an industrial area. What I didn't know is that to get in you had to park behind and enter from the back. Once you entered you were in a different environment. It was warm and inviting and the staff were all very friendly and informative. For $15 you can taste 6 wines of your choice and you get to keep the nice large wine glass with their logo etched in the side. It was a great way to spend 1 1/2 hours sampling tasty wines and talking to others. They also served cheese and crackers and other small plates in an attractive manner. We did not have any but saw others having them who told us the food was excellent. They have a small selection of gifts for sale and an area in the back that is reserved for their club members that is comfortably designed. We liked the blends best, the Endless Summer white and red but their highest end wine was absolutely the best. They are opening a 2nd location very soon on the Pacific Coast Highway. They make their own wines in the Temecula area.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orange County
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Bold and beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I are wine club members at Wiens winery in Temecula and heard that Doug Wiens, son of the owner at Wiens in Temecula had his own winery in Newport Beach. Doug is also the winemaker for both Wiens and Orange Coast wineries. The location can be deceiving at first because it's in an industrial part of town off 16th St in Newport Beach. We used to work in that area so if you find yourself here, then you are on the right track. There's also a sign out front. The second we walked in we were greeted immediately. Customer service was top notch and of course the wines are fabulous. Once your inside, you almost forget where you are at. There's seating areas in the front and couches towards the back of the tasting room. We met Doug the owner and his lovely wife. On almost any given day you will see Doug holding a glass of wine greeting and chatting with everyone. Orange Coast is opened Thursday - Sunday. I believe hours are 4pm- 9pm Friday and Saturday with happy hour 4-6pm Friday. (They have great appetizers) and 12-9 Sat., 12-8 Sun. We joined their Yacht Club membership. They have different levels of membership and we are able to choose our own wines which I like.

If you are a wine lover particularly big reds and have never visited Orange Coast Winery then you have to go. You will love their wines and guarantee you will have a good experience overall.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covina, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice Casual Date”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

We discovered this place via groupon and were so happy we did! We are not from the area but were spending the weekend there and ended up finding this place. When we were there we actually met the owners/winemakers which was interesting and fun. This place is in a funky area but we were told they are hoping to expand soon which might lend itself to more "curb appeal." The people and friendly and the wine is good. Definitely worth a stop!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“A great little hideawy close to home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

We aren't new to wine tasting or wine rooms, and had no idea this little gem was in our neck of the woods. Thanks to groupon, we now do. At first we were a little leary of the location, but only for about 3 seconds. What a fun idea to use this warehouse space as a tasting room.

The staff is very friendly. Roz was our guide through the wines. We prefer reds, and she was knowledgeable, without being annoying. They had a nice cheese plate for pairings, and we enjoyed the wines very much.

We joined the club, and plan to come often. Our other wine membership is on the centrl coast, so it will be fun to be so close, and come frequently.

I don't think we ever would have found it without groupon, so I am so pleased they had this opportunity.

I recommend you support this wine maker and his friendly staff.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cozad nebraska
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“New owners are great and so is the wine.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

We went to the Orange Coast Winery with a group of friends for wine tasting on a Saturday afternoon. The owners, Doug and Debbie Weins, were both there and very knowledgeable about wines as they are also part owners in a family winery in Temecula, CA. The atmosphere was relaxed and our glasses were never empty. A lovely place with a great future with the new owners! The fee was $6 and don't go away without a bottle of the fabulous Weins L'Orange Champagne.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orange Coast Winery also viewed

 
Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Orange Coast Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orange Coast Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Orange Coast Winery to your Saves list