We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Newport Coast Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott's Newport Coast Villas to your Saves list
Marriott's Newport Coast Villas
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   23000 Newport Coast Drive, Newport Beach, CA 92657   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Passaic County, NJ
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Loved this hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2009

This hotel is great especially with two teenagers each had their space, great being able to do wash, great location, super nice villa, beautiful grounds, terrific location - we really enjoyed.
The only thing - expect to check in at exactly 4 and they have a 10 am check out time.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    638
    318
    99
    36
    29
See reviews for
614
222
4
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunny Isles Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2009

The villas are great, I stayed here for a week. I would suggest a car, being that everything is off site. They have a bar opened from 11am- 5pm, if it is summer it is opened until 8pm. If you are planning on having a few bring at least $75 it's expensive. 8.95 for a mojito and 11.00 for a cheeseburger. Draft is less expensive, the sign said 4.75. Washer/dryer, dishwasher, 2 bedrooms the same as other time shares.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2009

My wife, 9 year old daughter and I stayed here for 6 nights and overall we really enjoyed ourselves. We arrived around 2pm, and as other reviewers noted, there doesn't seem to be any early check-in here. We "pre-registered" and were quickly and rather cooly told that there would be no ocean view rooms available. Not surprised by that as I was using Marriott points and I'm not a time share owner and will NEVER be.

So we went into Newport Beach and did some exploring and shopping for supplies. At 3:57pm, my cellphone rang and sure enough, our room was ready! We hurried back and I went in to get the room number and keys, and tried again to get a room with a view. This time, I was helped by a very nice man with a Caribbean accent. While he wasn't able to get us full ocean view, it was partial ocean view and in one of the newest buildings, #4700 (room 4730).

Although the building is at the far end of the complex, we enjoyed the isolation. The villa was perfect - brand new; perfectly clean and huge, with a nice deck overlooking a beautiful ravine and as I said, a partial ocean view. Flat panel TV's in both bedrooms and in the living room; full kitchen; huge master bath area and shower with two nozzles; and great beds. Free wireless internet and free parking! The only complaint I had was with the dishwasher - it didn't clean very well.

The shuttle service was spotty at best, so we usually just drove our car to the main complex and parked as if we were checking in. Service overall is marginal, but this isn't a full service hotel, its really a condo complex and so if you are prepared for that, then no big deal. There is a bar and grill at the pool and a spa, but we usually brought our beverages to the pool ourselves and "slyly" poured our own.

There are gas grills with great views of the ocean and golf course and we used those for a great steak dinner one night; other places we ate were Gina's Pizza and Pasta (near albertsons), it was great; Roy's near the Fashion Mall was also great, but spendy; and the Beachcomber is a must....right on the water in Crystal Cove park.

Crystal Cove State Park is fantastic, and peaceful place to walk the beach and explore the tide pools. We also went to Laguna Beach and Dana Point beach. All were fun! We day tripped to Seaworld and San Diego Wild Animal Park, and journey'd to Hollywood and Beverly Hills. At at Spago's for lunch in hopes of seeing someone famous, but came up empty, although the meal was great!

All in all, a decent place to stay as long as you expect little service. We enjoyed having breakfasts in the villa, waiting for the clouds to burn off, and making lunches for our daily journeys. The pool does get crowded, so if you want a good spot, you need to arrive early. There's lots of games: ping pong, pool, basketball, etc.

Check-out is a bit early at 10am, but I enjoyed it as our bill was a total of $15 (plus 120k points)!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2009

This is a great place to relax. The resort is very large and built into the hills. Walking anywhere will give you some exercise but you can drive if you like. The pool area was large and it's nice they have some quiet areas. All of our requests were met with no problem including where we wanted our villa but we did request in advance. Many guests are gone during the day so the resort doesn't feel crowded at all. We did day trips to Laguna Beach, Balboa Island, and Balboa Peninsula. I recommend all because they are so close. Definitely use the Pavillions grocery store east of the resort. If you're used to Marriott Vacation Clubs this lives up to or exceeds expectations.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2009

This is my 1st review ever and I felt like it was time to help out those that have helped me with great reviews in the past. We stayed for 8 days, 7 nights at Marriott's Newport Coast Villas and LOVED it. My wife, 4 year old daughter, mother and father in law all stayed very comfortably in this beautiful (Room # 2320) villa. We were able to just unpack for the week and felt like we were at home, or as close as you can feel.
The rooms were clean, spacious and we had no complaints! The rest of the resort was amazing, especially if you have kids. At one point, we were the only people in the LARGE pool on a Sunday. Unfortunately the weather wasn't the best, but we are from Idaho and didn't mind.
We swam in the pool, played ping pong and checkers on the patio and relaxed in the hot tub. We drove the short drive to Laguna Beach and had a great (and cheap lunch) at a pizza place.
We spent 3 days at Disneyland and 1 at Sea World. Disney was about 30 minutes away, and Sea World just over an hour. Both were easy to find (With a GPS) and easy to maneuver in and out of Newport...make sure to get directions around the tolls on I-73.
We own in Aruba but will definitely trade for this resort again, and soon!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2009

My fiancee and I have stayed here twice, and plan to stay many more times. The location is great, the villas have amazing views, the amenities are very nice. However, the employees are less than helpful.

Be forewarned - if you arrive before the 4pm check in time - even 5 minutes before! - you will NOT be allowed to check in. You will be forced to wait with the other "guests" who are treated like cattle until the magical hour of 4pm. You can't request a room or even know what room you have been assigned to so that you can park near there. It is almost comical the way they withhold this information, as if it were a state secret.

That being said, we did get a room on the upper floor of a bulding in the 3000's with a decent view and flat screen TV's. The sofa was old, lumpy, and stained.

I had a spa treatment, a massage which was very well done. But the spa is not a relaxing environment - very loud, the massage room looked more like an operating room with cold tile walls and floor.

However, the good outweighs the bad and we love the idea of having room to move around in as opposed to the normal bed/bath concept of a hotel room.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2009

Me and a colleague had each a "villa" (room). The villa consists of two bedrooms, each with a bathroom. Also a living room, dishwasher, equipped kitchen, cooler, fridge with ice-maker, washmachine and dryer. Needless to say the room is a small apartment and really too big if you stay there solo. I never used the other bedroom and bathroom.

We had our villas in the lower part of the hotel complex and they are the oldest, the newer villas are higher up. Although not ultra-modern I found my room to be perfectly ok despite old tv's instead of flatscreens. Did I mention there are three tv's? Living room, and one in each bedroom. About 70 channels provided including many movie channels.

Pool area was great with plenty of beds. Also a pool grill where you can get burgers and simple food during the day. There are no restaurants at the hotel complex but you can get Pizza hut and some other food at the store which is open to 10pm.

Complimentary Wifi works all over the hotel including the rooms.

So staying here, you should stock food and drinks at the nearby supermarket.

I can recommend this hotel to anyone that wants self-catering and an apartment more than a full-service hotel. Especially families with kids will enjoy it here, plenty of activites and a huge pool area.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Newport Coast Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Newport Coast Villas

Address: 23000 Newport Coast Drive, Newport Beach, CA 92657
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Newport Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newport Beach
#10 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Newport Coast Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 700
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Marriott's Newport Coast Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Newport Coast Villas Hotel Newport Beach
Marriotts Newport Beach
Marriotts Newport Coast Hotel
Marriott Newport Beach
Marriotts Newport Coast Villas
Marriott Newport Coast Villas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Newport Coast Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.