We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Slice of Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Newport Coast Villas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Marriott's Newport Coast Villas to your Saves list
Marriott's Newport Coast Villas
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   23000 Newport Coast Drive, Newport Beach, CA 92657   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rewards Members Save 25%
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A Slice of Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

I have stayed at Marriott's Newport Coast Villas on a couple of occasions with my parents who had a time share with Marriott. We have always enjoyed our stay as it is so clean, the grounds well maintained, great customer service, beautiful location with ocean views and it is a perfect place for couples and families. We always hate to leave when the time comes for our vacation to come to an end.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,066 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    607
    302
    95
    35
    27
See reviews for
591
208
4
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenwich, Connecticut
Top Contributor
255 reviews 255 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

There are many great things about the Marriott Newport Coast Villas.
Did have a slight problem that was resolved very quickly by Heather who
was the front desk manager. She was caring and totally understanding.
This is a wonderful property that is kept well. The friendliness of the workers and staff
is a credit to the employees themselves as well as Marriott's training program.
The pool was clean and clear. The food served by the pool was quite good and the
drinks were excellent.the staff around the pool were efficient and courteous.
The parking can be a little tough as some guests take up more than their allocated spots.
They have different parking for outside guest.
They have a quiet pool and a quiet spa. Most people do observe that but you always have
the loudmouths that don't believe in rules.
It's a shame they don't have a dinner location on sight as that would be great to be able to have dinner without leaving.
Marriott has barbaque grills that are cleaned everyday even though this time we didn't use one.
The rooms are spacious and are quite comfortable. The kitchen is supplied with everything you need to cook.
Can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
262 reviews 262 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

I always enjoy our visits to the wonderful resort. The resort is beautifully designed, with comfortable, fresh, two bedroom villas many (but not all) of which have great views of the hills or Pacific Ocean. The landscaping is beautiful and there are several large pools in the complex for you to enjoy.

But by far the greatest attraction is its proximity to the Newport Coast. Situated on the lower part of a large hill rising from the Pacific, the resort is about a five minute walk from Crystal Cove State park, one of the largest stretches of natural beach in California. The beach stretches for miles and there's tide pools you can explore and great sand beaches for the kids to play in.

Newport has lots of great dining and the Balboa peninsula and its piers are a short drive away. The resort is close to good shopping, Mission San Juan Capistrano, Long Beach, Disneyland, and much much more.

I've stayed here at least a dozen times over the years and I always enjoy coming back again. Staying here is one of the most relaxing vacations I have.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view room if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Great stay. Really good location, easy walking distance to the ocean. Newport is a super location for a vacation. Lots of things to do, an hour away from LA. Wonderful resort, like a dream. Close to the fashion mall. Easy driving distance to Dana Point, where you can go on a boat and see whales and dolphins. Do this on Tuesday, when it is half price. We saw mother and baby humpback whales and over 100 close.dolphins

Room Tip: Any room is great. Don't get hung up on this or that room. You will be outside, it is California...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands, California, USA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Eight years ago we spent a glorious August weekend at the Marriot's Newport Coast Villas and were enticed to buy a week of timeshare. Since then, we have either booked a week in the fall or have traded out to other resorts. This July was the first time we actually went back during the summer. Now that the resort and my kids are a little older, I discovered a few changes which were either new or that I had overlooked before. Here's what I noticed during my summer vacation stay:

1. Unlike in the fall, the resort is very crowded during the summer months. There's a lot of traffic in general. Parking in front of your building can be a challenge. The pools are full, and it can be noisy. However, if you have children and are subject to a school schedule, a summertime visit just makes sense.

2. Summer weather is not always sunny like in the movies. I live in Southern California, so I know all about June Gloom--that early morning coastal fog which usually burns off by the pm. However, this year we also experienced an unusual tropical storm which came up from Mexico and brought some much needed rain. Great for the environment, but not great for sunbathing.

3. Contrary to what I thought, owners do not automatically get a view. I was surprised when I opened the curtain to my balcony and saw the back of another building, even though I had requested a "top floor." When I asked to be moved, the front desk staff said that they were completely booked, but I could come back later in the week to see if something else came available. I was going to take them up on their suggestion, until I discovered that trying to move teenagers is like trying to herd cats. It's just not going to happen, not even for an ocean view.

2. The Marriott Villas resort is still stunning, especially when you catch sight of the property while driving down Newport Coast Drive with the shimmering Pacific Ocean in the background. I also noticed that the foliage has grown in, creating a truly Tuscan paradise. The rooms themselves, while still spacious and clean, now seem slightly tired.

3. The location of the resort is still unparalleled. If you have little kids, it makes a wonderful base for visiting Legoland, Disneyland, Laguna Beach, and Corona Del Mar. This time with teenage girls in tow, we spent most of our time shopping at Fashion Island, Spectrum, South Coast Plaza, and The Lab. And when they ran out of spending money, there was always the US Open in Huntington Beach and the Orange County Fair. Interests may have changed, but the Marriott Villas resort is still centrally located for summertime activities.

4. However, you really don't have to leave the resort to have fun. They now offer a wide array of exercise activities-- yoga, zumba, beach walks, and tennis--not to mention two small but adequate gyms. The kids' club seems to have been expanded, with some sort of craft or game going on all day long. Plus, there is now a small cinema showing mostly kid-friendly movies throughout the day with free popcorn (and adult-themed movies on a couple of nights).

5. While the resort offers many organized activities, teenagers don't particularly like being organized. However, I noticed that my daughter and her friend seemed perfectly happy to hang out with other teenagers at the ping pong and pool tables at the main pool area. They also enjoyed ordering snacks at the Vista Grill or pizza from the Market.

6. When we took our timeshare tour years ago, we were told that the Preview Center would eventually be converted into a restaurant and a larger gym facility. There is still no full-service restaurant on site, but there are many great places to eat nearby. However, teenagers like fast food, and the closest fast food chains I could find were about 15-20 minutes away.

7. Finally, the resort lacks a dedicated, adults-only pool. While there is a "quiet pool", it is located right next to the boisterous main pool, so it's not really conducive for late afternoon naps.

Overall, we had a good time at the Newport Villas this summer. The resort is conveniently located in a very beautiful area of Southern California. While my kids are now older, the resort is still suitable for our needs. The second bedroom and bathroom are particularly nice, providing teenagers with their own space. Next year, though, I will probably come in the fall, when the weather is better and the crowds are less.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Marriott offered us (Marriott Reward Members) a great deal to come check out this property as a potential time share purchase. The deal was too good to pass up, so while we had little interest in purchasing we chose to visit in July. We had friends from Texas fly in to meet us and the 4 of us shared the two bedroom/two bath room.

Really appreciated how the villa was set up so that each couple had as much privacy as possible, with the bedrooms located on the opposite sides of the villa. Everything was fabulously clean. The kitchen was well equipped, the balcony large, lots of space to spread out.

The resort itself was well landscaped, the pools were well attended, but not too crowded to find a seat. There is a "quiet" pool which was a nice escape from the main pool used by the families. There are number of scheduled activities for resort guests; we enjoyed the wine and cheese hour. It is a beautiful resort and we were glad to visit.

If you have a choice, choose to visit just after school starts in the fall as that would likely be one of the best times for the weather (less clouds/fog) and also give you the largest choice of room selection. We went when it was busy and we were not able to get one of the units with a better view. Those premium view units are given first to timeshare owners, not those who are just coming to check out the place.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

This is great place to have a relaxing break but also you can get to LA and San Diego in just over an hour. Whale watching is 30 mins away.
Only disappointment was no

bathrobes or anywhere to dry stuff that can't be tumbled eggs swimsuits.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Newport Coast Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Newport Coast Villas

Address: 23000 Newport Coast Drive, Newport Beach, CA 92657
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Newport Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newport Beach
#10 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Newport Coast Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 700
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Marriott's Newport Coast Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Newport Coast Villas Hotel Newport Beach
Marriotts Newport Beach
Marriotts Newport Coast Hotel
Marriott Newport Beach
Marriotts Newport Coast Villas
Marriott Newport Coast Villas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Newport Coast Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;