We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth Doing the Time Share Presentation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Newport Coast Villas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott's Newport Coast Villas to your Saves list
Marriott's Newport Coast Villas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   23000 Newport Coast Drive, Newport Beach, CA 92657   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Rewards Points!
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Danville, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Worth Doing the Time Share Presentation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Marriott offered us (Marriott Reward Members) a great deal to come check out this property as a potential time share purchase. The deal was too good to pass up, so while we had little interest in purchasing we chose to visit in July. We had friends from Texas fly in to meet us and the 4 of us shared the two bedroom/two bath room.

Really appreciated how the villa was set up so that each couple had as much privacy as possible, with the bedrooms located on the opposite sides of the villa. Everything was fabulously clean. The kitchen was well equipped, the balcony large, lots of space to spread out.

The resort itself was well landscaped, the pools were well attended, but not too crowded to find a seat. There is a "quiet" pool which was a nice escape from the main pool used by the families. There are number of scheduled activities for resort guests; we enjoyed the wine and cheese hour. It is a beautiful resort and we were glad to visit.

If you have a choice, choose to visit just after school starts in the fall as that would likely be one of the best times for the weather (less clouds/fog) and also give you the largest choice of room selection. We went when it was busy and we were not able to get one of the units with a better view. Those premium view units are given first to timeshare owners, not those who are just coming to check out the place.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    776
    378
    116
    45
    37
See reviews for
744
277
4
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (453)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

This is great place to have a relaxing break but also you can get to LA and San Diego in just over an hour. Whale watching is 30 mins away.
Only disappointment was no

bathrobes or anywhere to dry stuff that can't be tumbled eggs swimsuits.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpine, UT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

In Sum:
> Ample room for family of 3-5.
> Great ocean views
> Fun pools
> Spa, Weight Room, Kid Activities
> Good value for area

We've stayed in the Newport area so many times over the past 25 years and have found these villas to be a really good solution to meet multiple family needs. Originally we planned to rent a home in Corona Del Mar, wanting to be as close to the beach as possible. As attractive as that is, our daughters loved the pools that the Villas provided. Add to that the weight room, spa, kid activities, price, and we opted for the latter.

We love the less well know beaches of North Laguna, so getting in the car would be necessary regardless where in Newport we stayed. There is so much to do in the general area and we found this to be a good central location with amazing views of the Ocean.

We've already booked for next year!

Room Tip: Ask for Ocean and Pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Best Marriott Vacation Club so far! We have used some of the Orlando one's over the last few years, so had a good idea what to expect from these Villas. Our two bed Villa/condo was up to scratch. Had all the facilities you would expect. The complex is large and apartment blocks can be spread around, but ours was near the basketball court which was only a short uphill stroll to the pool and reception area. The complex could do with a few more staircases to get people up to this area, as it can be a long walk uphill from some of the apartment blocks! Pool area is large with lots of good areas to sit and catch some rays. As a European visitor I do wish American pools where a bit deeper, they never seem to be more than 1-1.6m. Makes swimming more difficult, but this is merely a personnel complaint. Location is very good, just a couple of miles into Newport centre and a short distance to Crystal Cove, Laguna Beach etc. also for families it's only 25/30 mins down the freeway to Anahiem and all it's attractions. Although there is a small coffee shop and store on site, it's only 10mins drive to the nearest mall. Another personnel issue for me and my wife is although Marriott has a pool bar on this site, they close very early, so you have to go off site for a night out. But this is common at most vacation clubs we have used. Plus point is no late night noise. Golf lovers have access to the course over the road!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

My family and I have been to this resort 3 years in a row during spring break. I think that alone should say how we feel about this place ... it's Fantastic!

Since I have a large family (4 kids), I am often looking for 2 bedroom units to accommodate my family's needs. And I am a big fan of Marriott Vacation Club properties ... because they have it all! Plenty of space in the unit, full kitchen, living area, 2 BR, 2 BA. You get the idea.

This particular property is one of the best! Beautifully manicured grounds, incredible views of the ocean, amenities for all ages, and close proximity to a variety of activities ... which is great for a family that has very different tastes.

About the location ... this Marriott is situated between LA and San Diego, which makes visiting either city quite convenient.

Can we make it 4 years in a row? Only time will tell.

Room Tip: I recommend you ask for units with a great view of the ocean. High floor does not always work, so b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwell, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

I read on some other reviews that you can't get in prior to checking of 4 pm and thought everyplace says this and I have never had an issue at any other Marriott. Well, there was NO chance of us getting in a minute prior to 4pm. The place was totally sold out (such a nice place) and I think this is likely the case often, so plan accordingly. The property is very beautiful and so nice. Parking is one spot per unit then additional cars in the garage--they reinforce the warning/towing, so beware. The pools are a bit crowded early, but you can take the shuttle to a handful of gorgeous West coast beaches that the Marriott offers. It is very convenient. Also....the (only) bar/grille at the pool on the property outside closes at 7 pm most nights and 8 Sat and Sun nite. Centrally located right between Laguna and Newport Beaches- this makes for a great stay. We love it and will return!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Stayed there for a week with wife and two boys , great place, lots to do for kids. I also enjoyed nearby places to visit, Laguna Beach, Newport Beach. Pool was little crowded but not too bad. Condos are roomy and clean, nice to have kitchen to have a family meal or two even though we didn't cook.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport Beach
0.3 mi away
The Resort at Pelican Hill
The Resort at Pelican Hill
#3 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,049 reviews
3.1 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
3.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#8 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
#1 of 17 in Newport Beach
5.0 of 5 stars 437 reviews
9.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 19 in Huntington Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,865 reviews
5.9 mi away
Fairmont Newport Beach
Fairmont Newport Beach
#13 of 17 in Newport Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Newport Coast Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Newport Coast Villas

Address: 23000 Newport Coast Drive, Newport Beach, CA 92657
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Newport Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newport Beach
#10 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Newport Coast Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 700
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Marriott's Newport Coast Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Newport Coast Villas Hotel Newport Beach
Marriotts Newport Beach
Marriotts Newport Coast Hotel
Marriott Newport Beach
Marriotts Newport Coast Villas
Marriott Newport Coast Villas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Newport Coast Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.