We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely property, but better with some tweaks” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Newport Coast Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott's Newport Coast Villas to your Saves list
Marriott's Newport Coast Villas
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   23000 Newport Coast Drive, Newport Beach, CA 92657   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Gold River, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lovely property, but better with some tweaks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Newport Coast is a lovely SoCal retreat located in an upscale area. The villas are built on a hill overlooking the ocean which provides many opportunities for great views. However, there is a lot of plant growth blocking those views so although our villa should have been able to have a clear shot of the water, it didn't. Being on a hill, casual walking can be a challenge. A shuttle circles the resort but not on a schedule. A different shuttle does make runs to close in attractions. Offsite activities are plentiful but finding out about them was not easy as travel info was located on a lower floor, not lobby level. Our villa was very nice, well equipped, full kitchen and comfortable. The pools offer water activities for families of all ages. Overall we really enjoyed our stay but expected a bit more from a first class Marriott resort.

Room Tip: High floor, ocean view, lower floors can experience noise from above
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Newport Coast Villas, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Thank you for your review Carl! We are happy to hear your family enjoyed their stay with us in May on their southern California retreat. Our team looks forward to your next visit to Marriott's Newport Coast Villas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    638
    318
    99
    36
    29
See reviews for
614
222
4
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Great location for visiting Newport Beach, Laguna Beach and Crystal Cove State Beach and shopping center. Hotel has a shuttle that runs to all the aforementioned locations throughout the day and early evening. If you do not mind walking Crystal Cove State Beach is about a 20 min. fairly easy hike to the cliffs over looking the ocean and another 15 walk down to the actual beach...all absolutely worth it! Be sure to take water with you. Paths are nicely laid out and maintained. Good for jogging and biking.

There are 5 pool areas. The main pool area is nice as it has 3 separate pools, one for children and families, a quiet pool where you can swim laps without worrying about being jumped on by a small child, and the third for playing water polo or more active games. The main pool area is large with lots of lounge chairs and it has a nice snack bar for a quick snack and does offer pool side service including alcoholic drinks. The fourth pool is closer to tennis courts and also has towel service but is not conveniently located unless one is staying in the 5000 buildings. The last pool, called the Tide Pool area is located in the lower end of the property, nice is you want a more quiet area, but there is no towel service or snack hut. It would be nicer is all the pools were more accessible but because the resort is very spread out, if you want to be close to a pool make sure you book your room in one of the villas located near the main lobby area, or near buildings 5000 or 1000..

Main building has a nice movie theater and a wide variety of activities for both small and teen guests.

Our room was very spacious except for the master bedroom toilet and shower access were pretty tight. We are small people so it was not a big issue, but larger folks will be cramped. We were in a corner unit so perhaps it was just the building was design. The unit has very nice full kitchen and a large eating area. There are two sofa beds for extra sleeping; one is located in the second bedroom which also has a queen size bed. Our young grandson slept on the sofa bed and it was very comfortable. Overall beds are comfortable, but the linens were on the scratchy side and the pillows way too soft. Would be nice to have a choice of pillow firmness....next time we will make this request. Also wish the rooms came with luggage racks, really dislike sitting my luggage on the floor.

The air conditioner in our villa only blew super very cold air even set at 75 degrees and vents blew air directly at the main sofa and master bedroom bed. Our villa in the 2800 unit had a good sized patio and beautiful ocean view from both the living room and master bedroom. We were located on the 3rd floor and we could hear people walking above us, but it was not a problem and did not interfere with our enjoying our accommodations. There is plenty of parking close to the unit and there is an elevator for easy access. There is a BBQ area near each unit, however we did not use any of them but they looked very clean and modern.

I would have given the resort a five star rating except for the fact that there no sit down restaurant on the property and the small "market" is very limited. Fortunately there is a Trader Joes a short distance by shuttle down the road and there are several very good places to eat out in the Crystal Cove shopping center.

You will be asked if you are interested in a timeshare presentation, but it is a very, very soft sell and simply telling the person you are not interested or do not have time takes care of it. Really was not hassled in the least.

Overall very quiet and beautiful resort for a quick get away or longer. The views are amazing.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better ocean views. Villas near the main entrance are better for walking down to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Newport Coast Villas, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Thank you for your detailed TripAdvisor review of Marriott's Newport Coast Villas! It is great to hear your family had an excellent stay and enjoyed the spacious villas. We look forward to your next stay and tahnk you again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Wonderful amenities, playing pool and ping pong by the pool in the late afternoon... Beautiful sunset views. Landscaping was gorgeous. Recommend a breakfast at the close-by Beachcomber Restaurant, and order the beignets. Loved it!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Newport Coast Villas, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Thank you for the five-star TripAdvisor review Susan! We appreciate your kind words and hope you will return to Marriott's Newport Coast Villas soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

We only stayed here for two nights while we were apartment hunting in Orange County, so we didn't really stay very much at the property or get a chance to explore the on-site amenities. We had a room on the third floor of our building, so we had a beautiful view of the ocean. It definitely seems like a great property to take your family or maybe to go with a group of friends. My only complaint was the vent in our room made this weird wind-blowing noise that seemed a little loud and unusual. It wasn't constant, but it would come and go quite frequently. As for the location, it's a bit far from a lot of the main attractions in Orange County which makes it a great retreat if you just want to relax and stay on-site. If you want to check out the attractions in Orange County, I would recommend renting a car. They do have a shuttle to take you to nearby attractions, but I would still recommend renting a car so you can explore all of Orange County if you're staying for more than a few days. Overall, we had a very nice stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Newport Coast Villas, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Thank you for staying with us during your apartment hunt Mandy! We are glad you enjoyed your short visit and hope you will visit us again soon at Marriott's Newport Coast Villas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

This is possibly one of the most stunningly beautiful properties we have ever been to, comprised of 40 buildings on many acres of lush, beautifully landscaped hills situated high above Crystal Cove on the south end of Newport Beach. Each building has from 2 to 4 floors with 4 or 6 rooms on each floor - you do the math - this place is HUGE!!!!! The rooms we stayed in (more on that later) were both newly renovated and VERY nicely appointed. All of the 'villas' on this property are two bedroom, two bath units with fully stocked full kitchens (even a stove and range with cookware AND dishwasher), dining table for 6, full-size living room and large balcony. It even comes with a washer and dryer. There is a large HD TV in both of the bedrooms and another in the living room, and the one in the living room is equipped with a DVD player. They provide dishwashing liquid, plenty of towels, coasters, salt and pepper shakers, Tide for the washing machine, Cascade for the dishwasher and even a sponge and rolls of paper towels. In short they provide everything you could possibly need along with comfortable beds and incredible views of the Pacific Ocean.

With all that in mind, here's the caveat - if you don't get a top-floor villa, you will be VERY, VERY sorry! I did everything I possibly could to secure a room on the top floor weeks in advance of arrival, asking for a corner villa with ocean views. Luckily, the room we got was a corner suite in a newly renovated building with stunning views, but we could literally hear every step the people above us took, every time they opened or closed a door, every time the slid their patio doors and every move they made of the patio furniture. Whoever built these otherwise stunning buildings, should be shot. As beautiful as they are and as wonderful as the views were, the lack of any soundproofing of any kind was unbelievable! We suffered through two days of almost constant noise from above because the front desk couldn't get us into a top-floor villa with a decent view until half-way through our 5 day, 4 night stay. However, once we were in that top-floor, corner villa with ocean views, we wished we never had to leave.

IF you stay here, and IF you don't stay in a top-floor suite, I can promise you will regret it unless noise doesn't bother you or you are deaf (no slur intended). If you DO get into a top-floor suite with a view, it will likely be the best stay you ever have anywhere on the planet.

Room Tip: You simply MUST, MUST, MUST demand a top-floor villa or you will regret it!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Newport Coast Villas, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Thank you for your TripAdvisor review Gary! We apologize for the inconvenience of being on the second floor, but are happy to hear the top floor villa worked out for your family. As always, our front desk team will make every effort to honor your villa requests when available. Thank you again for your review and please visit us again on your next vacation in Newport Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SD, CA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

We stayed in the 4200 building and LOVED it! Fairly close to the little park and not far from the pool and game room. We also enjoyed the free shuttle to Crystal Cove beach and renting chairs. The view was wonderful from our room. These villas are perfect for larger families. Master bedroom has a view but guest room does not. Pull out sofa comfortable (according to my son). Grocery stores close (Vons Pavillion and Trader Joe's to the south) to stock up the kitchen. Service was also very good- very nice staff. We will return!

Room Tip: 4000-4200- nice ocean view- close to the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Newport Coast Villas, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
We are happy to hear you loved your villa! It's also great to hear that the pull-out sofa was was comfortable for your son to slep on during your stay! We hope you can visit us again soon and thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

We are Marriott Vacation Club owners at Grande Vista in Florida. Came here on a package, meaning we had to go to 90 minute presentation. We had a lovely and very knowledge rep, Lisa, who explained everything thoroughly regarding going on Marriott's points program. She answered our questions to our satisfaction THEN her "supervisor" came in to close the deal. This poor supervisor had no customer service manners at all. She was rude and appeared mad when, after giving us the pitch, we decided not to go with her advice to go with the points program. oh my! She was not a happy supervisor. Lisa, on the other hand was gracious and professional. We chose not to spend $18,000 to switch to points. We are platinum elite Marriott Rewards customers a d we love staying at Marriott properties. We purchased an encore certificate for $995 and hope to retire to this fantastic property with the next year and a half.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Newport Coast Villas, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Thank you for the five-star review Mary! We are happy to hear Lisa took good care of you during your presentation. Our team apologizes that another associate was rude to you during the presentation and will follow up on this with our sales managers. Thank you again for your review and being a part of the Marriott Vacation Club family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Newport Coast Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Newport Coast Villas

Address: 23000 Newport Coast Drive, Newport Beach, CA 92657
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Newport Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newport Beach
#10 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Newport Coast Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 700
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Marriott's Newport Coast Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Newport Coast Villas Hotel Newport Beach
Marriotts Newport Beach
Marriotts Newport Coast Hotel
Marriott Newport Beach
Marriotts Newport Coast Villas
Marriott Newport Coast Villas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Newport Coast Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.