We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful friendly resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Newport Coast Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott's Newport Coast Villas to your Saves list
Marriott's Newport Coast Villas
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   23000 Newport Coast Drive, Newport Beach, CA 92657   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A beautiful friendly resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

This is the 4th time we've stayed here. The Newport Coast Villas is our favorite resort in California. We're staying a newly renovated villa, in the 2300 building, and it is beautiful. The rooms are spacious and clean. Everyone at the Marriott is friendly and accommodating. We like staying near the main pool, fitness center and sauna. The beach is only a few minutes away. It's a vacation for the entire family.
"And that's the way it is"
Mega Bob

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    638
    318
    99
    36
    29
See reviews for
614
222
4
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyvale, California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We stayed in the 2300 building and had a wonderful view of the ocean. We used the pre-request form and got a perfect location that was close to the pool, activity center and easy walk down to the beach.
Everyone was friendly and helpful. I was asked once to take a tour of the facility for a timeshare presentation and was not asked again. The units are newly remodeled. The kitchens are well stocked so you can adequately prepare meals in including storage containers for left overs.
The activity center staff was actively involved in everything they did. We had a great time going to the extra activities and meeting people from different areas.
The beach area is wonderful. Crystal Cove is fascinating and the walk along the coast is exceptional.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagan, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Bordered by Newport Beach and just north of Laguna Beach is this great resort up on the hills above Crystal Cove Park. Many of the views are fabulous with the ocean, golf course and beach below. Spanish style is attractive. The units are roomy, clean and well equipped as we always expect from Marriott Vacation Club. There are several nice pools, grills near each building, and a variety of resort activities. The resort also provides free shuttle to the most popular nearby attractions.
Shopping centers, restaurants, grocery (including our favorite Trader Joe's), churches and a variety of beaches are all nearby. The surprise is that this resort feels like it is far from the huge urban areas not far away.
Short drives will bring you to Balboa Island, Dana Point, downtown Laguna Beach, Capistrano and San Clemente with their attractions. We have been here three times and will return every year possible.

Room Tip: Try for the 3000 and especially the 4000 numbered buildings and as usual an upper floor for views an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rumson, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

There's nothing to be critical of here. The service from all employees was excellent, the attitudes gracious. The villa was spotless, and the grounds no less perfect. The environment is beautifully landscaped.

We had coolish weather but everyone and everything on premises was top notch Marriott Vacation Club. Management here runs a tight ship, but in a way that everything felt relaxed.

We were fortunate enough to have a villa with a view to the ocean. Buildings 4000, 4100, 4200 are the ones to request.

Looking forward to our next visit!

Room Tip: Buildings 4000 to 4200.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poway
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Best thing about this resort is the close proximity to Crystal Cove state park. I will stay here again for that reason alone.

Rooms are all 2 bedrooms with really nice large kitchens. The master bathroom was odd. No door blocking the sink from the bedroom and the door to the toilet/shower was crammed in. It was difficult to get out of the shower with the bathroom door closed. It could be done, but you need to be limber and not overweight.

Some of the villas looked like they had enough parking. Ours did not. We parked a few buildings away whenever we returned from an outing. We were next to a quieter pool. The pool water was too cool for me for January. The larger main pool area was filled with families. No exaggeration when I say FILLED.

The sheets are bad. I am used to really nice sheets at home and never have an issue with the sheets at timeshares other than Marriotts. They are rough and scratchy. I'll probably bring my own if we go back. Other than terrible sheets, the bed and pillows were adequate.

I wish there was a restaurant within walking distance. That would have made a big difference.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor unit to get a slice of an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Newport Coast Villas, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
We appreciate your positive review of Marriott’s Newport Coast Villas! We are happy to hear your vacation exceeded your expectations and that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. We also appreciate your feedback on areas of improvement as we continue to enhance our guest experience. Thank you again for your review and we hope you visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

This is our destination of choice.
We visit at least 1 time a year.
We come in various months and the S. Cal weather is usually great all year long.
The rooms are very generous and very well decorated.
There are 3 TVs and a fully equipped kitchen .
The beds are are so comfortable.
The resorts pools and grounds are beautiful .
You won't be disappointed

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Newport Coast Villas, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Our team appreciates your positive review of Marriott’s Newport Coast Villas! We are thrilled you enjoyed your spacious villa and many amenities on property. We look forward to your next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, CA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

We recently stayed at the Newport Coast Villas. We were in a beautiful 2-BR suite that was very comfortable, clean and well laid out. The furnishings and the decor were excellent and while we didn't do any cooking in the condo, it appeared that there were adequate cookware and tableware to prepare most meals.

Our over all impression was very good with two exceptions - The resort is located high on a bluff with many of the units overlooking the Pacific Ocean. Being somewhat physically impaired, the size of the resort and the way it is spread out across the hillside makes getting around the resort somewhat difficult at times. They do operate a shuttle that circles the resort, but depending on which building you are staying in, even the walk to the shuttle stop can be quite long. Also, because the resort is built on a hillside, there are lots of stairs throughout the resort, making it hard for impaired guests to get around.

Our other complaint is the lack of adequate parking throughout the resort. During the day parking usually a big issue. But if you return from dinner later in the evening, it is often quite difficult to find a spot. We also noticed a shortage of handicap parking spots around the resort. The 2 handicap spots near our building had been re-striped into 3 normal spots, leaving the closest handicap parking about 100 yds away (and those two spots were shared among the guests in 3 large buildings).

Room Tip: If you are traveling with a someone with mobility issues, ask for a room with adequate handicap park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Newport Coast Villas, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
We appreciate your positive review of Marriott’s Newport Coast Villas! We are happy to hear your family had a great vacation and enjoyed their luxury villa. Our team also appreciates your feedback regarding areas of improvement as we continue to enhance our guest experience. Thank you again for your review and we hope you visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Newport Coast Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Newport Coast Villas

Address: 23000 Newport Coast Drive, Newport Beach, CA 92657
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Newport Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newport Beach
#10 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Newport Coast Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 700
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Marriott's Newport Coast Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Newport Coast Villas Hotel Newport Beach
Marriotts Newport Beach
Marriotts Newport Coast Hotel
Marriott Newport Beach
Marriotts Newport Coast Villas
Marriott Newport Coast Villas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Newport Coast Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.