We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Newport Coast Villas

Save Saved
You added Marriott's Newport Coast Villas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marriott's Newport Coast Villas
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   23000 Newport Coast Drive, Newport Beach, CA 92657   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rewards Members Save 25%
Ranked #2 of 17 hotels in Newport Beach
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Awesome location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

This place has a great location to the beach and town while being very self contained. Enjoyed my 4 day vacation grilling on the grounds as well as the swimming pool, activities and close location to the beach.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,043 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    598
    294
    90
    34
    27
See reviews for
582
201
4
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Camas, Washington
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

This is such a beautiful property located on a cliff overlooking the Pelican Hill Golf Course and the Pacific Ocean. The condo was so beautifully appointed and had a great floor plan - two separate bedrooms, each with their own bathroom. Lovely kitchen with everything you need for cooking meals. Lovely dining area & living room. The view from our unit was breathtaking, overlooking the 5th hole at Pelican Hill. The beds were comfortable & it was very quiet. We can only say good things about our stay -- staff was great & accommodating in every way. This is a first-class property & you won't find anything nicer in Newport Beach for the price.

Room Tip: We had an end unit - #4736. Gorgeous view from the lanai -- very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

A very pretty resort, just too large with an impersonal feel. Villas are well equipped and all areas are kept immaculate. La vista pool side bar serves salads and fast foods, bartender Roger was very friendly and attentive, made great drinks. The market place did not have enough staff to deal with demand, cold coffee, poorly managed. Pools, all beautifully situated throughout the resort but wake up Marriott and give us adults visiting without kids an Adult Only pool. You do it in Aruba and Spain so why not here. When we travel with our grand kids more than happy to sit poolside and listen to Marco Polo! While we were staying it appeared as if the pool near the building 5100 had been rented for a private party, a large number of people seemed to take over the area with loud music. Not one of our better stays and we have visited many vacation resorts in the US and overseas.

Room Tip: All buildings have some view, very hilly resort but there is a shuttle service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights at this gorgeous property in a extremely clean, modern deluxe 2 bedroom villa. We were made to feel very welcome by the lovely Joanie at the front desk who went out of her way to get us checked in early and fill us in on all the great local eateries. The property it self is huge, very well maintained and it was just lovely to be able to either relax by the pool or get involved with the many family orientated things that happen most days. We just loved our stay.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
358 helpful votes 358 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We recently spent a week at the Marriott Newport Coast. This was our second time there and we had an enjoyable stay.

We were in building 4400 on the second floor. We had requested a higher floor but with the second floor, we could still see a decent view of the ocean. Being on the 2nd floor, we could hear to people above us walking (or clomping) around and could hear their somewhat muffled voices. They were usually speaking in the “outdoor” voices (that is, fairly loudly). Of the 6 different Marriott locations that I’ve stayed at, this one seems to have the least amount of sound deadening. Unfortunate….

BTW, the units on the upper floors have the best views. The units from 3800 on up to 5000 are a bit newer, are higher on the property and probably have the better views.

We were celebrating an anniversary and I had mentioned that when I turned in my unit preferences (at this place you can request particular units and views). We were pleasantly surprised when we heard a knock on the door and someone delivered a congratulatory bottle of Pinot Noir (wine). That was a very nice touch.

The pools were nice and warm and being September, there weren’t a lot of kids. Most of the kids who were there were well behaved. The pools are salt-water pools and they were crystal clear. We tried swimming in the ocean one day and it was nippy - - perhaps 68 degrees F. But the Pacific ocean rarely gets much warmer in southern Ca.

The unit was is very good shape and everything was generally clean and functional.
During check in on Friday and Saturday, they have complimentary snacks and beverages. Another nice touch! In addition, the wine/cheese event is even better. Of the various Marriott’s that I’ve been at, this particular wine/cheese event is probably the nicest. It included live background music, a nice variety of good bottle-wines, fresh fruit, and a variety of cheeses. All of the senior management staff attends and talks to the guests individually.

One day we heard loud whistling and yelling “Here Boxer, Here boy!!” I could also hear barking. It turns out that someone’s dog was on the loose. It headed down the canyon and then across the golf course. It was ignoring the owner’s commands. Eventually it came back on its own perhaps 15 minutes later. It was a young high-strung little yippy dog (probably under a year) and was poorly trained. It wasn’t even leash-trained (It was pulling the 3 or 4 year old child to whom they eventually gave the leash. I asked the owner how he was able to get the dog in, as the place has a “no pets” policy. He lied and told me that the yippy out-of-control adolescent dog was a “service dog”. That’s a shame for pet owners to do something like this, because some people do need service dogs and people who abuse the system do them and others a disservice. Apparently the loud shenanigans raised the attention of other guests and security came. I think that they were hit with a $250 deep cleaning bill. I think that is the same amount they charge if they catch you smoking.

The free wireless internet worked fine and was perfectly fast enough to get emails and watch a couple of Youtube videos without a problem.

When you check in, they give you a “Marriott Card” that entitles you to discounts at about 15 different local restaurants. It is worth using the ten to fifteen percent discount, especially if you would be going there anyway. We had a couple of lunches at the on-site pool grill. Reasonable prices. If you bought more the $25, they would give you a free cookie or brownie. They were out, but the bartender honored the dessert a few days later when we were back. We went to Ruby's at the end of Balboa pier. The prices were reasonable and the view was gorgeous. We also drove up to Huntington Beach and had lunch on the beach at a place called Duke's. The fish was excellent and the prices were high but fairly reasonable. (Dukes is owned by the same people who own Dukes of Oahu, Kimo's (Maui), Leilani's (Maui), and Jakes (Del Mar, Ca.) and some other restaurants. We mentioned that we were celebrating an anniversary and they gave us a free "Hula Pie" (icecream, whipping cream, chocolate, and crushed oreo cookies).

We took the free shuttle down to Crystal Cove and had a beverage at the restaurant. It is a great site. The shuttle runs every hour until 6 pm and then there is a last-call at 7:30 pm. That is new and is nice for people who want to experience a sun-down dinner on the beach.

We are looking forward to going again.

If you have specific questions feel free to email me. If you found anything helpful in my review, let me know by clicking on the "helpful" link below.

Room Tip: Choose upper floor for view and quietness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

We own a week timeshare with Marriott, so we exchange to different locations. This location is great! There is so many things to do in the vicinity of the place. Restaurants choices are many...all different prices and varieties. The ocean is across the street. They have a ton of shopping nearby. I liked that we could drive an hour to be in San Diego or an hour the other way to L.A....more options for fun. The rooms are all two bedroom and very spacious. The weather is usually 70-80 range which is nice. Fly into LAX instead of John Wayne...more flights and much cheaper.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

My family and I stayed at the Marriott Newport Coast Villas the week of Sept 1-6 and were very impressed with the BEAUTIFUL grounds and fantastic Villas that are offered. No room would be a bad location in this place!! The housekeeping is impeccable and the appliances were top of the line. I want to personally thank Ms. Berit Stingley, for accommodating my request! We loved the room! Can't wait to come back!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Newport Coast Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Newport Coast Villas

Address: 23000 Newport Coast Drive, Newport Beach, CA 92657
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Newport Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newport Beach
#10 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Newport Coast Villas 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Marriott's Newport Coast Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Newport Coast Villas Hotel Newport Beach
Marriotts Newport Beach
Marriotts Newport Coast Hotel
Marriott Newport Beach
Marriotts Newport Coast Villas
Marriott Newport Coast Villas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Newport Coast Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.