We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad Newport is our Home Base Facility” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Newport Coast Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott's Newport Coast Villas to your Saves list
Marriott's Newport Coast Villas
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   23000 Newport Coast Drive, Newport Beach, CA 92657   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Pleasanton, California, United States
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Glad Newport is our Home Base Facility”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We've been Marriott time share owners for 10+ years. We've stayed in the original Newport buildings to the newest. They are consistent - they do a good job managing the property/facilities. This time we stayed in the newest building in room 5131. We had an ocean view.

My only complaint is that even though wi-fi was available, we could not get on the wi-fi. We called the front desk - they put us in touch with ATT. ATT was no help. Problem was not resolved.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,095 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    624
    312
    97
    35
    27
See reviews for
601
217
4
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midland, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

A top notch family resort. Four adults and three children in our family party and had plenty of room, home-like, comfortable feeling. 30 Minutes from Disney. Minutes from great beaches, state parks, shopping and restaurants. Can be a long walk to pools, recreation depending on which building you are staying. Marine inversion-fog and cool during our visit so did not get to max out the recreational value of the stay, so felt it was expensive.

Room Tip: Ask for room with a view so that you can see the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This hotel is absolutely beautiful. Our 2 bedroom villa had plenty of room for our family of four, plus we even had room for our friends to stay a couple of nights with their son. We stayed in the 4500 building. Our room had a wonderful view of ocean (Crystal Cove) and the golf course. I would recommend participating in the fun activities offered at the resort. Our 2 year old loved to make her own build a bear and we even took our children to bingo night. We have a 2 and a 1 year old, so were not sure how they would do at this activity, but they loved it! The host was super accommodating and patient with all our questions and our very interested children. We even ate at the marketplace in the lobby. The food was wonderful. I had the chef salad while my daughters shared some pasta from Pizza Hut. I would advise taking the shuttle (offered by the resort) to the beaches. This avoids having to pay for parking (Crystal Cove parking is $15 per day) and you don't have to worry about finding parking. Overall I hope to stay here again with my family.

Room Tip: Stay on the higher floors and try to get a corner room. Less noise from neighbors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Our room was full of rodents. They damaged a lot of our clothes. After we reported about it we just got an offer to move to another room. The reaction of stuff was so normal that we really afraid. We understood that that they knew about it and than I found a lot of rodent catchers in our room. This means that they everywhere there. I sent some photos of it on Tripadvisor. Feel free to see it.
When we asked for a refund for damaged clothes our claim was resend to their Insurance Company. I got 1 call from Insurance Company while we were there, but after I leaved hotel - no calls, no any information about our case, no any refund.

So, think first before coming to this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodi
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I'm sorry to report after visiting the Newport Coast for several years in a row we won't be returning to this property. As owners at the Marriott's Newport Coast Villas we have come to expect a high quality vacation. Our room # 4711 is in a dark and dreary location with no view at all and it is next to the elevator so it is very loud. Remodeling in this area of the resort has left little to no parking and the front desk has refused to move us to another room. Upon arrival our toilet was not working, ice maker was not plugged in, T.V. remote was broken, etc. etc. We phoned the front desk and the maintenance personal responded quickly, but they could do nothing for the noise and parking spaces and dark hole of a room. The one saving grace to this is MARK STOMP the Professional Tennis Pro on site. Mark is the best tennis instructor we have ever taken lessons with. My daughter and I have just loved his 9:00am clinic and private lessons during our stay. We have learned so much from him. Wish we could take Mark home with us!!!!

Room Tip: Get here early to check in. Even if you have to wait all day. This is a first come first serve Res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Vermont
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

While it's true that this Marriott has a spectacular location, it also has a few shortcomings. The unit we stayed in experienced engineering difficulties that are uncommon for Marriott properties. Each time we used the dishwasher, the kitchen sinks backed up with brown water. The heat didn't work on the first night. We were traveling with our young son, so each evening when I called for engineering staff to do repairs (once for the heat and twice for the plugged sinks), I gave specific instructions to enter quietly because our son was sleeping. Each night, however, the engineering staff couldn't have been much noisier - each time apologizing that they were uninformed that I had requested they arrive quietly.

Other than the engineering difficulties, an excessively loud refrigerator and dishwasher, and a sorely undersized and insecure room safe, the unit was nicely furnished. The pools were nice, there were fun patio games for the kids, the health club is better equipped than most, the resort is a short walk from a beautiful Crystal Cove State Park and a short drive from many of the area's beautiful beaches.

The biggest mystery though about this otherwise beautiful property is why would anyone build a resort on the side of a hill overlooking the Pacific and design the buildings so that guests can not see the ocean from the beach front villas - not even from the outdoor patios facing the ocean unless one stands on the wall of the patio to peek over the tops of the overgrown greenery. The architecture of the buildings also served to obscure what could have been a grand view of the ocean.

Room Tip: Forget trying to get a good room. Even beach front rooms have poor views. Just get out for a walk in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We were invited by some of our firends to stay few day. The rooms were big, modern, clean awe had a wonderful view of the beach . it is great for family if you have children, they have pools, monkey bar with slide, gym room, miniture putting green, large chess game, tic tac toe, great place to walk. close to allot of good resturants. we had fun!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Newport Coast Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Newport Coast Villas

Address: 23000 Newport Coast Drive, Newport Beach, CA 92657
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Newport Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newport Beach
#10 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Newport Coast Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 700
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Marriott's Newport Coast Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Newport Coast Villas Hotel Newport Beach
Marriotts Newport Beach
Marriotts Newport Coast Hotel
Marriott Newport Beach
Marriotts Newport Coast Villas
Marriott Newport Coast Villas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Newport Coast Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.