We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the better Marriott family/timeshare properties” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Newport Coast Villas

Save Saved
You added Marriott's Newport Coast Villas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marriott's Newport Coast Villas
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   23000 Newport Coast Drive, Newport Beach, CA 92657   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rewards Members Save 25%
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“One of the better Marriott family/timeshare properties”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I have stayed at various Marriott properties over the years, mostly through my parent's timeshare with Marriott. The quality of Marriott properites definitely varies by location. But we have been very pleased each time we stayed at the Marriott Newport Coast Viilas. Positives: large rooms, fantastic location near the ocean, full working kitchen and washer & dryer, good gym, various pools, helpful staff, close to Disneyland (about 30 min drive), lots of activites each day for kids and adults, family friendly. Negative: average / slightly dated furniture. But I should add that this is a very slight negative and did not imapct in any way our enjoyment of the property. Overall I would definitely recommend staying here if visiting the Newport Coast area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,058 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    604
    299
    93
    35
    27
See reviews for
588
205
4
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Our family stays here on many vacations, as my sister lives nearby. It is located just minutes from the beach and is a wonderful spot for vacationing. The furniture in the rooms is a bit dated, but the rooms are clean. The grounds are lovely and very well maintained. There are many activites for adults and families. The beds are okay, but the pillows are far too flat. Perhaps because it is a Marriott property, there was a bit of an issue extending one of our rooms for a night- we were quoted three different prices for the same night. Overall, this is a great place for our family to gather and perhaps there will be an update of the rooms soon!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

My family has stayed here twice and we love it! The rooms are spacious and nicely furnished. The views are also great, as some of the views looks out over the ocean and Catalina. The service is great and everything is very nice. Additionally it is supremely family-friendly! Overall it is a really great place

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Our second visit to this gorgeous property, and definitely not my last. We're not Marriott Vacation Club Owners. It's not obvious, but based on availability you can rent a villa, just like any other room at any Marriott. Just make sure to make a reservation well in advance. Do walk the grounds a few times, even with the big hills. It's like being at some beautiful complex on Lake Como. Except on a very clear day, you can easily see Catalina Island. We stayed in the 5100 building this trip and just down the hill at 4700 last time (March '10). Both afforded beautiful ocean views from the balcony. Although the 5100 is as far from the clubhouse as you can get, it is right next to one of the pool/hot tub/fitness center complexes in a quieter part of the property. As others have said, try to get a top floor if possible. You'll receive an email about 2 weeks prior to arrival asking for special requests. The staff is very helpful and genuinely want your vacation to be enjoyable. Look at the resort map you can find on-line and do give them 2-3 requests before you arrive. The villa was immaculate, and we were able to arrange for housekeeping at a certain time each day (of our 6 night stay), which was a nice touch. Yes, the reception area is undergoing a rehab, but no big deal. The main pool by the club house is where the action is, but if you're into a more quiet experience, try one of the satellite pool areas; one of which I've mentioned. There is an activity center on site, including many sporting needs rentals, like bicycles for the great trails across the PCH along the beach. The villa itself is spacious. It can easily sleep 6. The kitchen is small but has everything you need. Even a compact washer/dryer is available which comes in handy. I can't say enough about how spacious and appealing the villa is......OK...the decor seems a little dated. The only 2 knocks we can come up with are that there is no full service restaurant/bar (yes, there is the poolside facility, but just during pool hours) and the check-in is pretty late in the day - 4 PM. There are plenty of great restaurants in nearby Laguna Beach and Corona Del Mar villages as well as the huge Fashion Island Mall to find eateries. If you're going to do some eating-in, the Pavillions' supermarket in the strip mall (with Starbucks and a couple of casual restaurants) about 2 miles up Newport Coast Drive, has everything you'll need. Show them your Marriott keycard and receive the same discount as their shopping club members do. This part of California is among the most spectacular places on the planet to visit and the Marriott Newport Coast will make your time in this special place most enjoyable. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FL
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Used our Marriott points to stay for 6 nights at the Villas. The points charge was excessive & Marriott's corporate offices fail in treating Gold members properly. Now that that's out of the way, we had a spacious, terrific 2 bedroom suite in a quiet, peaceful area of the resort next to the canyon & golf course with a limited ocean view. Breakfast & coffee on the balcony were some of my favorite moments. At night, all we heard were the owls - it was very private. "Nancy the Red head" went out of her way for us & is a real gem. We had little contact with others but they didn't seem to be overly friendly or helpful. The property is about 60 miles from the Hollywood action with plenty of traffic. Newport is a beautiful, upscale area, great shops & plenty of good restaurants. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We stayed at the 3900 villa, which was AMAZINGLY located! The view was phenominal. I wish I had been able to make my owners request sooner, however, they did not have my correct email address, so I was never contacted. I did get most of my request when I did call them 3 weeks ahead. One of the 4 buildings I requested, 3rd out of 4 floors, and a great view. Parking, it appears, is almost always a problem here.

I agree with one thing that one of my fellow owners complained about for apparently the sam week. I have seen people smoking on balconies and too many people cramming into some rooms. I do feel security should step up more and call out some guests or "owners" and enforce the policies for the good of the people. If people are violating rules, they signed a contract they should have read. No reason to be affraid to enforce the rules and upset one or two to make hundreds more happy.

Room Tip: Call them 29 days ahead to put in your preferrential criteria if you're an owner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calif.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Traded our timeshare week through Interval. Used the resort as a base for Disneyland as we had 4 day park hoppers.

Check in-We arrived after the check in rush, so we walked right up and were taken care of. The young man who checked us in was pleasant but as others have said, pretty much expect to be stuck where ever they put you. They are doing a renovation of the lobby so it was messy in there.

Room-Our room was in the 1600 building. It is only a 2 story building and we were on the top floor and the end of the building so our room was pretty quite. The bed in the master bedroom was not very comfortable. We only had a peek of the ocean since we were not up very high but we were across the street from the activity center and a short flight of stairs to the main pool area, so that was nice. This is the 3rd time we have stayed here and always feel the rooms could be cleaner. It always feels like the carpets didn't get vacuumed and this time the master shower had some mold on the door that needed to be scrubbed away. We weren't in the room much so this time we just dealt with it. The rest of the room was pretty clean. We did use the bar-b-que grills one night and they were clean and right next to the building. We didn't use the kitchen as much this time but it had everything we needed. The only thing I would complain about in the kitchen was the corkscrew, it was just a little cheapie-one. Our building could use an update in the furniture department. More contemporary furniture would be nice.

Pool-My husband and son only used the main pool one day during the week and it was virtually empty. Only a couple of other older people in it. It is heated and is not chlorine,so they enjoyed it.

Shuttle-We only used the shuttle once to go down to Crystal Cove and it was easy enough to use and was not crowded. My only comment was the shuttle driver looked like Santa, but his people skills were horribly lacking. When my husband asked if this was the shuttle to Crystal Cove he just grumbled and made no eye contact, nothing! At a resort like this I would hope you would hire people who have decent people skills that at least acknowledges a guest and smiles. Crystal Cove is so neat. They even had a decorated Christmas tree out by the sand and Christmas lights all over. Make sure you walk up the stairs to Ruby's for a milkshake! Yummy!

Some tips for Disneyland: it is not very far away. On a good day we got there in about 15 mins.. On a busy day about 25 mins. It is worth it to pay the $2.75 for the toll road (73) in the mornings. Makes the drive alot quicker and make sure that you use the carpool lane on the 55 to get onto the 5. Way easier and quicker. We did it both ways and carpool lane was the only way to go. Also, if you don't want to pay the toll you can go down to MacAuther Blvd. and the hit the 73. It wasn't that bad on the couple of days we used it, but the toll road was just alot easier and quicker.

We will come back to this resort as the property and location are great, we just hope they really watch the housekeeping to make sure the rooms are cleaner so the guests feel more comfortable!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Newport Coast Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Newport Coast Villas

Address: 23000 Newport Coast Drive, Newport Beach, CA 92657
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Newport Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newport Beach
#10 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Newport Coast Villas 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Marriott's Newport Coast Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Newport Coast Villas Hotel Newport Beach
Marriotts Newport Beach
Marriotts Newport Coast Hotel
Marriott Newport Beach
Marriotts Newport Coast Villas
Marriott Newport Coast Villas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Newport Coast Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.