We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice 3 day weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Newport Coast Villas

Save Saved
You added Marriott's Newport Coast Villas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Marriott's Newport Coast Villas
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   23000 Newport Coast Drive, Newport Beach, CA 92657   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #2 of 17 hotels in Newport Beach
california
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“nice 3 day weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Had a great girls trip to the Newport Villas! Was in the 4200 building. It's two story with no elevator but great views! Very quiet. Walked to crystal cove for breakfast. Shopped until we dropped. Mastro's is a great place for cocktails at 4 PM before the crowds. WILDFISH restaurant is amazing good! Pelican Grill for football and appetizers!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

998 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    577
    274
    88
    33
    26
See reviews for
550
195
4
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is part of the Marriott Timeshare system. The rooms are large with full kitchens and living/dining areas. The units theoretically can sleep up to 8 people (king bed, queen bed, and two pullouts). Great for families. This is a sprawling hilly resort so bring comfortable shoes if you like to walk. Depending on where you wind up you could be taking a long flight of stairs to get to a pool. There is no full service restaurant on site. If you arrive late in the afternoon you will need to go off site to get something to eat – but hey you are in SO CAL so don’t waste your time hanging around the hotel. They do offer free shuttle service to Crystal Cove, Laguna Beach and Fashion Island – hours are limited however. Quality golf, beach, and hiking are all nearby.
The geographic location of this place is great – easy to get to Newport Beach, Balboa Island, Costa Mesa, Laguna Beach, Dana Point, etc. 30 minutes to Disney and there are HOV lanes almost the entire way. A breeze to get to from John Wayne Airport. A little more challenging to/from LAX but once again you can take advantage of the HOV lanes. Its not the Ritz or the Four Seasons but it is a quality property for a family.

Room Tip: Request a room with a 'sunset view' - this will vary during the time of year. In the summe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was our third time visiting this property. We love the location across the street from beauitful Crystal Cove Beach. We love the lovely large rooms. They are the perfect size for a family of 4. And we LOVE the views from the rooms we've had their. The property is very well kept. Its definitely a family friendly place with great pools, ping pong, shuffle board, life sized chess & checkers, basketball, putting green, bonfire, etc. We are Marriott owners elsewhere, and we felt very welcome and treated very well by everyone. We bought our disneyland tickets from the events counter and she was extremely helpful. We had dinner at the poolside grill which was much better than we expected it to be. I thought it was a little pricey, but the fish tacos were amazing! And everyone else enjoyed their food/drinks as well. We'd eat there again.

Looking forward to coming back again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

my wife and stayed here and had a great time -loved the security of the place and closeness to shopping and restaurants outside of the resort --staff were extremely helpful and our oceanview villa was clean spacious and terrific view

Room Tip: phone ahead and request ocean veiw
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Up North
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We spend 4 nights here in October. We were so pleased when we pulled up and even more pleased when we unlocked our villa door, and found more like an upscale apartment. It was beautiful, more than we could have asked for. We were close to the front entrance with parking very close. We had such a nice ocean view! Everything was clean and in working order, lots of dishes and daily service. We hope to return again some day. The grounds were gorgeous and stunning. Thank you Marriott, It's why I'm a silver rewards member and card holder.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I have never stayed at a Marriott Vacation resort before, and since I needed a hotel for the weekend in the Newport Beach area, I thought I would give them a try. These Villas are basically timeshares that Marriott offers to them public when they are not being used by their owners. The property is very large and they offer shuttle service on golf carts. We were greeted upon check in and when I asked for a villa in a quiet area, I was accommodated. We stayed in building 1000. This villa was HUGE! Easily sleeps 6 people. 2 bedrooms. 2 bathrooms; full kitchen and 3 flat screen TVs! Rooms very very clean and they come with olates, utensils, even a pizza cutter! We were overlooking the pool which was great and not too noisy. We also made reservations at the tennis courts. They also offer rides to Fashion Island and the local beaches.

For about the same price as an average room in other parts of Laguna Beach or Newport, this property is a great value and alternative. We I'll for sure be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the south side. More quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

If you are not an owner, the front desk people will make sure you know your place, which is apparently far below the status level of everyone else. From my very first interaction with the property on this visit (the pre-arrival email) to checking out, every single interaction with the staff at this hotel was absolutely appalling for a Marriott property (the manager, Kathleen, was the only exception, but unfortunately, when you have to have multiple conversations with a manger, you have already lost me). Asking if our rooms were available before check-in, is apparently out of line. Asking to park two cars near our villa to unload items and small children was against policy (or so we were told, later to be corrected by the manager). One night of one of our villas was somehow canceled prior to arrival. The list goes on and on...

We were there for our wedding; at check-in, with over $3K in Marriott gift cards in hand to help pay for the rooms, we were told they could not be used ahead of time, but that they would not charge the cards anything, but rather just keep them on record for incidentals. Now, as an elite member, I know that is not typical, normally they place a hold for the full charge of the room plus a small additional for incidentals, but I took them at their word. As expected, we were advised wrong. Now, normally it would not be much of an issue, but when you have purchased $3K on Marriott Gift cards, just closed on a house, and have paid for a wedding (with the exception of the dinner you still have to pay for the following night), an additional $4K of holds on your credit card is not the most convenient way to spend your wedding and honeymoon. I realize it is not really the fault of the hotel, rather a shortcoming of their accounting system, but to be advised incorrectly, was just another nuisance in this whole stay.

The kicker on customer service, was when two men were sent to my father's villa at 9PM at night to tell him that if he did not go to the front desk at that moment with a credit card, they would EVICT him from his room. We had a total of five villas for multiple nights (all having already been charged to my card). My father's typical bed time is very often well before 9PM. The manager on duty at the time, was the person that checked him into his room and forgot to take a credit card deposit. He offered to give a card over the phone when he called the front desk (immediately after the men showed up), but was told he had to be there in person, no exception, or again, he was going to be EVICTed. Yes, she used that word, and yes, she used it over and over. It is honestly the most absurd thing I could ever think would happen, especially at this property, but it happened.

Upon checkout, I asked for copies of the bills. She did not want to be bothered to go back into each room we'd paid for and checked out of to print copies and told me we'd get our copies emailed to us (we are Elite members, afterall). I did get copies of bills for 2 of the 5 villas, but had to call a week later for the remaining 3. Not the end of the world, but not exactly convenient.

Now, on the positive side, the property is absolutely amazing. Your room is amazing if you get it in the newer part of the property; the remodels on the older buildings make the rooms only so-so. The pools are aplenty and the landscaping is gorgeous. The location is just simply stunning.

As long as you can avoid interaction with the hotel staff, you will have a pleasant experience staying here.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the newer buildings. The older rooms are very average.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marriott's Newport Coast Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Newport Coast Villas

Address: 23000 Newport Coast Drive, Newport Beach, CA 92657
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Newport Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newport Beach
#10 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Newport Coast Villas 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Marriott's Newport Coast Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Newport Coast Villas Hotel Newport Beach
Marriotts Newport Beach
Marriotts Newport Coast Hotel
Marriott Newport Beach
Marriotts Newport Coast Villas
Marriott Newport Coast Villas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Newport Coast Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.