We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We're already planning our return!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Newport Coast Villas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott's Newport Coast Villas to your Saves list
Marriott's Newport Coast Villas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   23000 Newport Coast Drive, Newport Beach, CA 92657   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rewards Members Save 20%
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“We're already planning our return!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We just returned home yesterday from our stay here and none of us can stop talking about how beautiful this hotel and experience was. I had a feeling it was going to be top notch because even a week before we arrived, I received an email from the "pre-arrival team" asking for any special requests I might have. We were coming for a 2 day trip to Disneyland and wanted something close to the amusement park. The drive was about 20 minutes or less from Disney, super easy. Upon arrival, I asked if I happened to get an ocean view room and the front desk clerk just smiled and said "Oh yes, you sure did!" and boy, did we! We were on the top floor of the 3900 building and it was ALL ocean view. Such an amazing, gorgeous view and we could even see Catalina Island in the distance. We live in the desert so this was a huge treat for us. The room itself was a 2 bedroom suite with the guest room having a jack-n-jill type bathroom, the master bedroom had a deep stand alone bathtub and a 2-person shower. The master also had it's own little balcony overlooking the ocean. There was a larger balcony off the family room that has a table with 4 chairs. The full dining room and kitchen were very pretty as well and stocked with a ton of kitchen equipment. The unit also has a washer/dryer in the front closet. Literally there was nothing missing - a total home away from home. We took the shuttle to Crystal Cove on our last day there and that was super helpful. It literally drops you off right by the historic cottages (one of the cottages was in the film "Beaches" -Bette Middler's place) and you'll save $15 for parking (but if you do park yourself, I was told the restaurant there will validate your parking). One of the other reviewers on here said there were a lot of kids during her stay but I didn't have the same experience. I hardly saw any except for my two kids. The reviewer also said Nevada has a week off for school but that is not correct. We only have 1 day off in October for Nevada Day and it falls on the Friday before the end of the month. But it was super quiet during our time here (Oct 24-27) and I never heard a peep from any neighboring suites. A totally lovely experience. We're going to make it an annual trip to this hotel for sure! **Just an fyi that there is very minimal room service, food wise. And very few places will deliver here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    713
    346
    106
    40
    31
See reviews for
669
255
4
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (417)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
392 helpful votes 392 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We had a great stay at the Marriott NP Coast Villa Timeshare. It was the first time that we were there. We traded in to this property from another Marriott timeshare. Of the five Marriott timeshares that I have stayed in, all have been very nice and this one is perhaps the nicest.

THE GOOD: We found our unit (3844) to be very nicely appointed, clean, and everything worked. It was a full 2 BR with a full kitchen, dining room with 6 chairs, a living room with a pull out couch. The smaller BR had a king or queen bed AND a pullout couch. The balcony had a table and four chairs. There was A/C, but we had windows (with screens) open and enjoyed the fresh air. With the single exception noted below (under "the bad") the unit was quiet. The internet was free and worked well. We had a 180 degree view of the ocean.
The BBQ grills were close by, were clean and worked fine.
The pools (there are 3) were clean and we warm enough to swim in (although I prefer them just a little bit warmer). There were several hot tubs and they appeared clean.
USA Today is available for free in the clubhouse.

THE BAD
1. We were there from Oct 7 to 14. We were surprised by how many families were there with children under 12. We intentionally try to travel on the shoulder seasons as we prefer a quiet vacation. Apparently the Nevada and Arizona school system starts early and gives the kids a week off. So the place had LOTS of little kids running around, especially at the three pools. Most were using their "outside" voices and at times were lacking in supervision and/or manners. None of the pools are adult or quiet pools. But the timing of this was just bad luck. Perhaps the following week would have been more quiet.
2. At the corner of building 3800 closest to the preview center, we were awakened at around 7 am on Monday morning by the sounds of vacuuming, pressure washing and beep-beep-beeping of back up alarms. The sales people have a mobile car detailer in on Monday am (a bit too early for my taste). If you have the corner unit (which is usually extra desireable), the corner bedroom occupants may be awakened. My corner bedroom was less than 100 feet from the car wash. They were done around 10 or 11. It is a shame that they couldn't have waited a bit and started later.

MY TIPS:
1. The upper floor of most buildings have some view. Bldgs 3800 through 4600 plus 4800 and 4900 are very nice on the mid to upper floors.
2. On Fri., Sat and Sunday around 3:30 (check-in hours) they have free tropical punch cocktails outside the lobby. It is to help the people check in start de-compressing. This was very nice.
3. On Tuesday afternoon at 3 pm they have a wine, cheese and fruit social. They introduce the various managers. It was a great experience and was top-cabin in my opinion.
4. There is a van that will take you over to Crystal Cove state park. It is the easiest and cheapest way to go there. I read reports that Marriott used to have a pass to loan you to park for free but that was discontinued when I asked. The last van back is 4 pm. If you miss it, it may be difficult to get back other than walk about a mile and a half up hill. We had lunch right on the ocean at The Beachcomber in the park. It is on the Marriott discount card so you get a 10% discount. It is a very nice location and the food was good.
5. Groceries - - We went to the Pavillions (part of Safeway and Vons) grocery store on Newport Coast Blvd - - abt a mile a way. Besides the grocery store there are also 4 or 5 restaurants.
6. The Marriott discount card works at a number of nearby restaurants and will give you a decent discount or dessert - - it is worthwhile to check out the list and plan around them.
7. The Newport Coast pizza is in the Pavillions shopping center. Although they are not on the Marriott discount card, when I mentioned it to the manager, they gladly offerred me a 10% discount. Very nice! We liked the pizzas and the prices were reasonable.

We like our stay enough that we have already made plans for next year.

If you have found my review to be helpful, I would appreciate if you'd click on the "helpful" button. That feedback or lack of it will help me in writing better review in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewJersey
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We traded our Florida Grand Vista for the Villas thru II...put your request in early, we did and were confirmed 11 months out. The Newport Villas are set on a beautiful property. We stayed in bldg 3500 on the top floor, Great Views! We arrived around 1pm our room was not ready until 4:30pm which is the norm it seems with this property, especially if you request a top floor in a good location. We just ventured down to the pool bar for some lunch / drinks until they notified us. The room itself is nice, comfy beds and a nice balcony to enjoy sitting out for breakfast and an evening drink or two ;).....I'm not a fan of the open bathroom with those tubs they place in the master bed/bath. I'd rather a large updated bathroom with its own door and a nice updated shower. The grounds are lovely as are the pools. We did use the exercise room a few times. The spa is nothing special. I had a massage and facial, it was not worth the money. The spa access is through the exercise room, there's no relaxation room, you wait in the locker area of the bathroom until the technician comes to get you. Not at all the spa experience that you would normally enjoy at Marriott's Resorts. Plus, I just felt the girl who did my facial was not very experienced at all.
We did the usual tour with the points presentation again for the 15,000 points. Seems the destination point program can be quite pricey - beware, but there's no pressure. Just told them we were not interested and the tour ended on time.
The area surrounding the villas is wonderful as other reviewers have stated. A few grocery stores up or down the road depending on your preference of food items. The highways leading to areas outside of Newport are easy to access.
We ventured down to San Diego on Sunday to visit the Zoo and made a side trip to LaJolla for dinner on the way back, another very lovely town for shopping and dining options. Also, drove Mulholland Drive, Strolled along Rodeo Drive and had a nice dinner at il Pastaio in Beverly Hills.
Loved Laguna Beach, enjoyed a very nice dinner at Nicks, a wonderful restaurant with great service, as is the Beachcomber in Crystal Cove. Visited Huntington Beach for a 1/2 day... lots of eateries and shops on the main street and the pier was an interesting walk to say the least. Drove over to Balboa Island one afternoon and walked along the pier ~ very lovely homes, with some cute shops and nice restaurants to enjoy.
So much to see in this beautiful area! Look forward to visiting Newport again.

Room Tip: If at all possible, request a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This was our third time to this hotel and we are still in love with it and the Newport Coast area. The villas are very comfortable for our young family, the pools are great, and the kids room (king Triton's) is a favourite spot for our kids. We spent time at Laguna Beach, Crystal Cove, and Huntington Beach, which were all great. Such a relaxing vacation before hitting Disneyland!

We do wish they had a bar open late, as we had a babysitter and wanted to go out for a drink around 8pm. However, we were told to go to the Pelican Hill Resort to their bar, which was a short walk away and was a bit of a fun adventure. It would be nice if they had a real restaurant at this hotel. As well, there were a bunch of elephants living above us. If you can, snag a top floor villa. However, the views and natural lighting was still good on our floor (second from the top). Previously, we had a bottom level villa that was very dark.

In any case, we love this property and will definitely be back.

Room Tip: The higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandiego
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Although the resort is very nice, and the two room apartments were great, we could not check in until 4:00 and had to check out by 10 a.m. the following day. So, we were unable to utilize the lovely resort facilities. Sadly, we spent very little time there. I would recommend staying for at least two nights, and preferably more. We were in town for a party, so not really on a vacation, but Marriott is first class.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

As one of Marriott's luxury timeshare resorts, this property is of high quality and full of comforts and amenities for families or just adults. The apartments are fully functional with a full kitchen, living room, dining room and bed and baths all with quality furniture and well constructed. The property has at least 4 pools, activity and game rooms for kids, poolside bar and lots to do. They provide a shuttle to take you to nearby activities, located less than a mile to the beach, the shuttle is still very handy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hell, Norway
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Well, Marriott hotels of this caliber are seldom disappointing and this one is up there on my book. The location in Newport, the quality of the room deccor, landscape, spotless clean, great shower, awesome appliances at the kitchen.

The only footnotes here are that the staff is somewhat trained...
We saw glasses not washed and old dishes not picked but the worst is, and you have to be a foreigner to understand this, my niece called the reception and they did not understand her pretty fluent english and just hung up on her (!). Marriott, Marriott...

Also, kids everywhere at around the pool. Not big on that but that is my fault for not checking...

Biggest plus: sunset view and proximity to Crystal Cove beach (great run).

Room Tip: Dont get rooms in the 1000 section (too much noise in the morning). If you have kids, be careful to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Newport Coast Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Newport Coast Villas

Address: 23000 Newport Coast Drive, Newport Beach, CA 92657
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Newport Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newport Beach
#10 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Newport Coast Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 700
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Marriott's Newport Coast Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Newport Coast Villas Hotel Newport Beach
Marriotts Newport Beach
Marriotts Newport Coast Hotel
Marriott Newport Beach
Marriotts Newport Coast Villas
Marriott Newport Coast Villas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Newport Coast Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.