We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome, as always” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Newport Coast Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott's Newport Coast Villas to your Saves list
Marriott's Newport Coast Villas
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   23000 Newport Coast Drive, Newport Beach, CA 92657   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Awesome, as always”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This was our third time to this hotel and we are still in love with it and the Newport Coast area. The villas are very comfortable for our young family, the pools are great, and the kids room (king Triton's) is a favourite spot for our kids. We spent time at Laguna Beach, Crystal Cove, and Huntington Beach, which were all great. Such a relaxing vacation before hitting Disneyland!

We do wish they had a bar open late, as we had a babysitter and wanted to go out for a drink around 8pm. However, we were told to go to the Pelican Hill Resort to their bar, which was a short walk away and was a bit of a fun adventure. It would be nice if they had a real restaurant at this hotel. As well, there were a bunch of elephants living above us. If you can, snag a top floor villa. However, the views and natural lighting was still good on our floor (second from the top). Previously, we had a bottom level villa that was very dark.

In any case, we love this property and will definitely be back.

Room Tip: The higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    633
    316
    99
    36
    29
See reviews for
611
221
4
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sandiego
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Although the resort is very nice, and the two room apartments were great, we could not check in until 4:00 and had to check out by 10 a.m. the following day. So, we were unable to utilize the lovely resort facilities. Sadly, we spent very little time there. I would recommend staying for at least two nights, and preferably more. We were in town for a party, so not really on a vacation, but Marriott is first class.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

As one of Marriott's luxury timeshare resorts, this property is of high quality and full of comforts and amenities for families or just adults. The apartments are fully functional with a full kitchen, living room, dining room and bed and baths all with quality furniture and well constructed. The property has at least 4 pools, activity and game rooms for kids, poolside bar and lots to do. They provide a shuttle to take you to nearby activities, located less than a mile to the beach, the shuttle is still very handy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hell, Norway
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Well, Marriott hotels of this caliber are seldom disappointing and this one is up there on my book. The location in Newport, the quality of the room deccor, landscape, spotless clean, great shower, awesome appliances at the kitchen.

The only footnotes here are that the staff is somewhat trained...
We saw glasses not washed and old dishes not picked but the worst is, and you have to be a foreigner to understand this, my niece called the reception and they did not understand her pretty fluent english and just hung up on her (!). Marriott, Marriott...

Also, kids everywhere at around the pool. Not big on that but that is my fault for not checking...

Biggest plus: sunset view and proximity to Crystal Cove beach (great run).

Room Tip: Dont get rooms in the 1000 section (too much noise in the morning). If you have kids, be careful to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Just the most relaxing destination! Facilities and grounds superbly kept!
Staff very helpful and friendly! The only exception, a cheeky bar attendant who tried to charge premium prices for requested well drinks and momentarily marred an orherwise brillant week in a beautiful location! We will be back!

One recommendation....an adults only pool! Amazing how two loud and undisciplined children can upset a beautiful and peaceful afternoon. No need for children jumping on strangers or trying to splash and irritate small groups talking poolside ignoring respectfully quiet requests for silence and/or distance. It was a very large pool, no need for this harrassment, yet many guests gave uo and left the poolside while parental control was absent or ineffective.

Special thanks to Marriott for providing yoga, exercise and water exercise classes to guests free of charge! I have always wanted to try yoga! Jess was so enthusiastic and delightful it was a joy to start our day with yoga instruction that was fun, energising and attentive to differing levels of experience! Thank you Jess! I'm looking for a yoga class at home to improve the exercises I took away from your classes!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed in a two bedroom villa-very nice and spacious with a nice kitchen. This is located just 5 minutes from Crystal Cove beach, and not far from other beaches. They offer beach chairs, umbrellas to rent very reasonably. The resort has 3 pools. The beds were very comfortable and everyone is anxious to help you with anything. Great place for an extended stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

My family (husband & 3 girls ages 7,5,& 3) stayed the week beginning 9/29/12 utilizing a timeshare trade. We were on the 3rd floor of the 2200 bldg. We checked in ~8pm Saturday--rooms were ready. Accommodation was spacious in our 2 BR, 2 Bath condo. All 3 girls slept comfortably in the 2nd BR, which had a Queen bed as well as a pull out sofa. We were near the pool & in the same bldg as the kids' activity center. Also to note--the water temp of the pool was great (not too cool).

A family beach is not within walking distance (not walking distance for little ones), but both Laguna Beach and Balboa Island (with its nice beach) are short drives. Disneyland was only 25 mins. Although there was only a pool bar restaurant and a small cafe on site, there are plenty of restaurants nearby as well as a small Albertson's. Fashion Island is also close, for anyone interested in shopping.

The property is 'hilly', which a interesting for me to jog. I easily jogged down to and within Crystal Cove Park, which represented a nice 'ocean view' run. There were tons of people cycling the inclined streets of Newport Beach, which totally impressed me. As an occasional biker, those slopes are no easy task. Definitely a land of the fit (except the tourists).

I have 0 complaints with regard to my stay. If the property were right on the beach, then the stay would have been perfect. We did rent a little speed boat on Balboa Island for 2 of the days for 1 & 1/2 hours, which was REALLY fun. The sights were fantastic as we boated along the ocean's coast. Our kids were able to see tons of seals and dolphins, which was a real treat. I didn't make it to Huntington Beach, but would certainly recommend Balboa Island and Laguna Beaches for fun in the sun with kids and for convenience of restaurants. The Crab Cooker on Balboa Island was really good, though no kid items for my 3-year old.

Marriott Newport Beach was a good location for our family.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the pool if you have kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Newport Coast Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Newport Coast Villas

Address: 23000 Newport Coast Drive, Newport Beach, CA 92657
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Newport Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newport Beach
#10 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Newport Coast Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 700
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Marriott's Newport Coast Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Newport Coast Villas Hotel Newport Beach
Marriotts Newport Beach
Marriotts Newport Coast Hotel
Marriott Newport Beach
Marriotts Newport Coast Villas
Marriott Newport Coast Villas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Newport Coast Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.