We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views, great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Newport Coast Villas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott's Newport Coast Villas to your Saves list
Marriott's Newport Coast Villas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   23000 Newport Coast Drive, Newport Beach, CA 92657   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
los angeles
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great views, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

We have been coming to the Marriott Newport Coast Villas annually since we bought into the timeshare program 6-7 years ago. The property has been excellently maintained since the beginning. The grounds are beautifully maintained, as are the individual units. All the units are fully furnished 2 bedroom units with washer and dryer and a lovely balcony. Not all units have a view, but we were fortunate to get a 3rd floor corner unit in building 4300 which had a full view of the ocean, golf course and main pool. There is an hourly shuttle to Crystal Cove Beach, but we enjoyed the walk down from our villa (it is a fairly long walk, so be prepared to travel lightly). The Beachcomber and Ruby's Shake Shake were convenient places for lunch at the beach.

There is a Trader Joe's a short drive away to stock up on food and drinks (wine on the balcony). We went to Corona del Mar and Fashion Island for dinner. We liked Sam&Harrys at the Newport Marriott, Crow Bar, and Aloha Hour at Roys. On Saturday we took the Nature Tour of the Back Bay, which is a 2 hour kayak tour led by a volunteer naturalist. It was a lot of fun and really interesting to see such a natural bird habitat in the middle of busy Orange County. We also drove to Balboa Island, walked along Marine St and around the perimeter of the island looking at the houses and ended it with a Balboa Bar for our efforts.

The staff was really friendly. Every one seem to make a special effort to be welcoming. Check in was easy, and for the first time our room was ready by 1 pm (usual check in time is after 3 pm). Lots of activities were planned throughout the day, but we were too busy with our own activities this time.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have better views. Some of the 2 story villas do not have elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    761
    371
    115
    44
    35
See reviews for
727
273
4
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (447)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kentucky
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

This was the third trip where I've stayed at the Marriott's Newport Coast Villas and it does not disappoint. This is probably the nicest timeshare resort I've ever stayed and I will come back when I can.

The units I've always stayed in are all 2 bedroom units. First thing is they are huge with great balconies over looking the Pacific Ocean. Some units don't have direct ocean view, but I've always been able to sit on the balcony and see the ocean in one direction or another.

Very high end appliances, bedding, and furniture. Just great units. The grounds of this resort are beautiful with great pools. Staff is always very generous with their time when I've had request and treat me well as a Plat member with Marriott.

Room Tip: Ask for a room up on top of the hill by the pool if you want an ocean view. The ones down by the gol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del Mar, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Beautiful resort with great views. Fantastic restaurants right down the hill in less than 5 minutes.
You can't beat the seaside village of Corona Del Mar just a few minutes up the coast.
Laguna Beach is 10 minutes south. This is one of the best spots on the whole Ca. coast.

Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottonwood Heights, Utah
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

The Marriott's Newport Coast Villas is a fantastic family vacation resort. The two bedroom, two bath villas with fully equipped kitchens made for a very comfortable stay. The main swimming pools and hot tubs were a big hit with my family. All that was needed was a little more sunshine. There are plenty of activities such as ping pong tables, basketball and tennis courts, video arcade, enough for all to enjoy. I highly recommend visiting the Crystal Cove State Park directly across PCH from the Marriott Villas. I would definitely stay here again if the opportunity arises.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay here, we purchased a week from an owner who couldn't travel this year... lucky for us because the resort was sold out! We had a lovely room, with a fantastic view of the state park. We even saw a mountain lion one evening at twilight on the opposite hill! Lots of activities for the kids, and the staff was amazing!

My only complaint was about the parking!!! I think because it's a timeshare a lot of people feel entitled, because there were a LOT of cars parking where they shouldn't! They give you 2 passes for your vehicles, one for the garage and one by the building. But a lot of cars with the garage pass were parked by buildings where they shouldn't. There were tow trucks around the property all the time, I assume moving the cars that weren't where they were supposed to be! I felt like a fool for following the rules, but I'm not going to take a space from someone else!

Room Tip: Call in advance for your room placement!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

We stayed here in 2004 and our second visit did not disappoint. The 2 bedroom apartment was five star and flawless with good kitchen and lots of space for our group of six. We made good use of the balcony with a view of the hills and also took advantage of the complimentary wi-fi and shuttle to Fashion Island. The Easter celebrations were fun which included a giant Easter egg hunt; games; and making balloon animals. The lady that served us at the concierge went above and beyond the call of duty by giving us directions to receive free child entry in the Lego land. We also loved Disney which was only 30 minutes away.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
104 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

Where do I start? We've owned here for almost 4 years, but have never stayed here... go figure! Now, we have a child, which is why I decided to own a timeshare in the first place, and our traveling adventures have DIED quickly. He is two months old, so the slow pace of a timeshare resort, is finally catching up to us! It's been foggy for the first 2 days, but today, Wednesday, is finally burning the fog off at 11am, so now we can really enjoy the area.

I have to admit, the unit we're staying in, 1224 is NOT brand new, nor is it in perfect condition, which kind of sucks seeing how we're OWNERS here and not visiting (we've been on a priority room change list for 2 days now)! The unit does NOT have an ocean view, the trees obscure it, and the unit HAS been remodeled, but there are some aspects that still need work. I noticed, the first night, that the base of the door frames in both bathrooms appear to have been expanded or warped by water, then simply painted over in the renovation.

It's a shame, because I'm the kind of person that Marriott was created for (appreciates high quality, but does not expect it), and I notice the things that otherwise go unnoticed. Also, the kitchen sink, NOT new or replaced, but it needs to be. The base is rusting out, so it's hard two turn, and it grinds when you get too far over. Other than those two or three complaints, this resort is pretty nice and quiet.

The gym is something to be desired by other resorts. It's large, open, full of good quality new equipment (As of May 2012) and overlooks the pool, which is your motivation for being in there right?! :-P Check this place out from satellite maps on your favorite map website and get a feel for the layout.

Free parking for people staying at the resort, you do need a parking pass. Parking is not too convenient depending on what time you get back to the resort, you may park further down than desired (we unfortunately arrived at 1:45am Monday morning). Parking can be hard to find depending on the time of night you arrive. If you have a friend visiting, you can get a parking pass for them as well, but guest parking is further away and centralized. If your friend guest is only visiting during the day for a short time, no big deal, they really only start checking parking passes at night.

They have a shuttle which will conveniently take you to Crystal Cove, which we will hopefully get to sometime soon. Laguna Beach is another stop, as is fashion Island for any shopping/dining you want to get to without using your own gas.

If you're looking for a good all you can eat breakfast buffet with a great view, go to Las Brisas. Get a map at the Concierge desk.

Other resort notes which they will tell you about. There is wireless, password protected and slow. Wired connections are located by the new "Teen" center in the main building. The "market place" is also located in the main building to purchase any small items you may have forgotten you wanted to eat, otherwise, as noted before, there are shopping centers close by.

Enjoy your stay, and forget the negative things i mentioned, all vacations are as good as you make them, and those small things are not taking anything away from our great experience here.

Room Tip: Stay in the HIGHER numbered buildings, they are newer. Ask for a higher floor (there are only 3) if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport Beach
0.3 mi away
The Resort at Pelican Hill
The Resort at Pelican Hill
#3 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,014 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#10 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 565 reviews
3.1 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 19 in Huntington Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,775 reviews
5.0 mi away
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
#1 of 17 in Newport Beach
5.0 of 5 stars 431 reviews
5.9 mi away
Fairmont Newport Beach
Fairmont Newport Beach
#13 of 17 in Newport Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Newport Coast Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Newport Coast Villas

Address: 23000 Newport Coast Drive, Newport Beach, CA 92657
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Newport Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newport Beach
#10 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Newport Coast Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 700
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Marriott's Newport Coast Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Newport Coast Villas Hotel Newport Beach
Marriotts Newport Beach
Marriotts Newport Coast Hotel
Marriott Newport Beach
Marriotts Newport Coast Villas
Marriott Newport Coast Villas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Newport Coast Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.