We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be a Rocket Man” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jetpack America

Jetpack America
2600 Newport Blvd., Suite 122, Newport Beach, CA 92663
+1 888-553-6471
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #2 of 55 activities in Newport Beach
Type: Water sports
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Want to fly a jetpack? Jetpack America can teach you how! In a matter of minutes, our Certified Flight Instructors will have you flying the amazing Jetlev water-propelled jetpack. It's safe, easy and fun! If you're looking for your next extreme, adrenaline-pumping adventure, look no further than Jetpack America. Be one of the first people in the world to experience this one-of-a-kind watersport, which combines the best aspects jet skiing, parasailing, scuba diving, surfing, paddleboarding, helicopter flying and even skydiving. Flight Experience Sessions consist of safety video, equipment overview, and 15-60 minutes of flight time (depending on package), with the majority of first-time pilots up and flying within the first 5 minutes. High-Definition video packages, returning pilot discounts and monthly membership programs also available. Jetpacks are now a reality, so Stop Dreaming and Start Flying!
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Be a Rocket Man”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

What a thrill! This contraption is right out of the Jetson’s and a whole lot of fun. It does take some mechanical ability to “fly” but I’m told that most people figure it out in 10 minutes or so. (I used to be a pilot so maneuvering around was fairly easy for me.) The staff is super friendly and very helpful. For your first flight, you will not have throttle control (all the better) but you will have complete directional control. An instructor controls the throttle and is constantly talking to you (one-way communication only) via a headset in the helmet. He walks you through each step in the process and guides you throughout your flight. One cool experience was using the JetLev underwater (briefly) like a dolphin diving and then coming to the surface. The company posts videos of customers on YouTube so you can get a better sense of the experience before hand. For those of you who are thrill seekers, or know someone who is, this is definitely worth the trip to Newport Beach.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JetlevSouthwest, Owner at Jetpack America, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
ALP1991 - Thanks for coming out and thanks for the great write-up! We still have a few tricks up our sleeve, so we hope to see you again soon. We'll teach you to control your own throttle, which completes the experience, but we'll also get into some of the more advanced maneuvers, such as high hovers, donut turns, no-handed flying, etc. And if you want to get really advanced, we can start you working on barrel-rolls, backward flying, and high-speed runs.

See you in the sky!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    3
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“One word awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012 via mobile

This was so much fun. You won't have a better time and the staff is awesome and helps you every way possible. Well worth the money a must do if by Newport beach!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Awesome!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

This was an amazing experience unlike anything I have ever tried before!! The staff was extremely professional and helpful. I can't wait to round up some more friends and go back again.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JetlevSouthwest, Owner at Jetpack America, responded to this review, May 17, 2012
Thanks, Lisa! We're glad you had a blast. We look forward to having you back and getting you even HIGHER in the sky! And we always welcome new customers. As added incentive for you, for every four new customers you bring in, you score yourself a FREE flight! Not bad, huh?

See you in the sky!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What are you waiting for?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011 via mobile

Seriously. What are you waiting for? Jet Lev is so much fun.

The staff is fantastic. The experience is amazing. The memories will last a lifetime.

Better yet, go twice or three times. Keep going back. I have. It gets even better every time!

Neil

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jetpack America also viewed

 
Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Jetpack America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jetpack America, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Jetpack America to your Saves list