We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pizzeria Mozza

Pizzeria Mozza
800 W. Coast Highway, Newport Beach, CA 92663
(949) 612-9579
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Pizzeria Mozza is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #103 of 401 Restaurants in Newport Beach
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Dover
california
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I have been wanting to try their special tomato sauce called DiNapoli and they finally offered it at their NPB location. We started with burrata with speck and English peas and it was a small portion, but tasty. We then had the DiNapoli margherita and a little pricy at $21, but delicious. The problem with this pizza is, it is too wet so the topping slides as you lift your slice. Dessert was gelati and it was good as usual. Service is always the weakest link at this place.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    40
    18
    14
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Fantastic pizza, great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

I visited this restaurant on a Tuesday night with some work colleagues. There was valet parking, and we were seated quickly. The food was delicious - the pizza had a fantastic crust, full of air and the toppings had a lovely intense flavour. The appetizers were well-proportioned, and also veyr good - the cauliflower with mint yoghurt, spicy chicken wings, stuffed courgette flowers were all delicious.

The desserts are well worth staying for - the gelato was amazing, and the 'house special' salted caramel was light and fluffy and tremendously moreish.

Overall - very tasty, and would go back again with no hesitation. It was a bit pricey, but then it was great food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Real pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I've only eaten here once but have heard good things for a long time. I had pizza - outstanding (think crust, distinct flavors) and a salad (chopped vegetable - fresh and light, but big!).
I will definitely go back. But with a reservation! We dropped in on a Tuesday evening and it was packed. We sat at the bar.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“I forgot what a $97.00 lunch looked like”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

This place is very good but really? I suppose the prices reflect being between a Maserati and Ferrari dealership. A fabulous antipasto salad, and a great panini. The artichoke fried appetizer was not a winner. The only thing left to eat was the middle as the fry burned all the leafs. Service was good and the little outdoor enclosed patio off PCH was noisy but nice. I heard that their pizzas are terrific but a single is about $19.00 for lunch. I might go back there for pizza but it wasn't scenic enough for a $100 lunch. If I want to spend that kind of money I'll go to Pelican Resort. p.s. we only drank ice tea and coffee. The gelato was fantastic though.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good Pizza but improvement needed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We went to have a pizza at this restaurant for lunch today. The pizza is always goods. However, we saw that the special lunch menu was roasted pork loin so we went for it. After we had all our salad and pizza, it took very long time for the pork to arrive so we had to pack it and took it home. They should have told us that this pork loin would take 40 minutes to prepare so we should have avoided it. Furthermore, when we arrived home, we had them for dinner. The pork was poorly done. The pork was very tough and tasted very bland. So if you feel like having pizza and salad, this is a place to go. Other dish needs a second consideration. A service attitude also needs some refinement , at least, they should tell the customers when and what to expect from the dish especially the "today special".

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizzeria Mozza also viewed

Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 
Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Pizzeria Mozza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pizzeria Mozza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.