We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice sweet and almost feels like home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Extended Stay America - Orange County - John Wayne Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Extended Stay America - Orange County - John Wayne Airport to your Saves list
Extended Stay America - Orange County - John Wayne Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4881 Birch Street, Newport Beach, CA 92660   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 10% Today!
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Newport Beach, California
1 review
“Nice sweet and almost feels like home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Well, lets see... Been here for 4 weeks now, You get breakfast to start with. Room Service are Thursdays only. The front desk guy Russell and his colleague Marisela are pretty nice to ask for any help (whenever required)

Very near to John Wayne Airport, Newport beach is not far from here... Just 4-5 miles and they also have U-Haul (Car Rental within the Hotel)

Overall it was a nice stay and I loved the people.

Suggestions? Dinner could be added but they unfortunately don't have a kitchen hence no dinner.

Room Tip: Well the only view you get is street view so, Look for the one towards the corner of the hotel that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Orange County - John Wayne Airport, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. We apologize that we are not able to serve dinner; however, we are pleased to know that we were able to create a "home away from home" for you. We are glad that you had such a comfortable stay and that our staff took great care of you.

Thank you again for your review. It would be our pleasure for you to repeat your experience with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    27
    14
    7
    13
See reviews for
7
13
7
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prescott Valley, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

When we arrived, it was late and the outer doors were locked. The person on duty saw my husband at the door and turned off the light and walked away. Once he figured out he had to use a phone to get let in, we checked in and when we got to our room we were IMMEDIATELY turned off by the strong odor of cigarette smoke. We tried to find out why we were put in a smoking room and asked to move and they refused to help us. We slept on it. In the morning we requested to speak with a manager about moving rooms and the woman working said that there is nothing that they could do for us and told my husband "Our priority is guests checking in, there is nothing we can do." I'm disgusted by the lack of compassion that this staff portrayed. Not even the manager was sympathetic and refused to do anything to make the situation a little lighter. The worst part is my husband is an ex-smoker and my son is allergic to cigarette smoke and got a bloody nose the first night. I will NEVER recommend this place to anyone and definitely will not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Orange County - John Wayne Airport, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Jessica - Thank you for providing us with the details of your stay. The situation you described regarding the service you received and the odor in your room is truly regrettable. We are very sorry for your experience. We discussed your comments with our team. We will be retraining each of our staff members to assure that we are showing compassion to our guests and doing everything we can to provide our guests with a pleasant experience.

Your feedback is very important to us, so thank you for sharing. We would be happy to speak with you further. If you would like, please contact us directly, at laa@extendedstay.com. It would be our pleasure to have you stay with us again in the future to show you our positive strides taken to enhance your experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zephyrhills, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I needed to stay in Orange County to get work done at a corporate facility for a couple of weeks and this is exactly the type of place I was looking for. To stay on Eastern Standard Time I just wanted to leave the hotel at 6 am, get my work done, return at 6 pm, cook a quick dinner and get to bed by 8. I didn't want to listen to kids splashing in a pool or karaoke singers in a hotel bar. One reviewer said "people who were staying here were the type of people that you don't want to be around". If you don't want to rub shoulders with working people who god-forbid might be wearing worker's uniforms and driving company vans then this is not your kind of place.

I found the front desk staff very friendly and ready to hand out extra cooking utensils or towels if needed, but there is no concierge. The room was clean when I arrived but you only get weekly room cleaning service. The price was right.

Room Tip: My non-smoking room on the third floor did not smell of cigarette smoke and I kept the windows open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Orange County - John Wayne Airport, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
James - We want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. We truly appreciate your comments regarding the cleanliness of our hotel and the friendliness of our hotel staff. We are glad that we could provide you with the positive experience you were hoping for.

We would like to thank you again for posting your review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

If you want a no smoking room, make sure you get a room on the 1st or 2nd floor. The entire 4th floor is smoking and I had a room on the third floor which smelled like an ash tray when I checked in. Totally disgusting. They said the smoke probably was wafting down from the top floor. Also, I got a handicapped room (which I didn't need) and the fold up seat in the shower had mold all over it. Gross. In addition, the refrigerator in my room did not work (they did fix it the next day) and the pots, pans, etc. were not in the room (you have to call the front desk and request them - ridiculous. Also the walls are thin and the people next to me would not shut the f^&k up! The only reason I am not giving it a 1 is because Sergio at the front desk was fantastic and went out of his way to do everything he could.

Room Tip: 1st floor only if you don't like cigarette smoke
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Orange County - John Wayne Airport, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
We appreciate you bringing your experience to our attention. Please accept our most sincere apologies for the smoking smell you encountered in your room and that the shower seat in your room was not properly cleaned. To make sure this doesn't happen again, we are retraining our housekeeping staff and are performing more detailed inspections of our rooms. We will also be working to ensure all areas of our hotel smell fresh. We were happy to read that Sergio did his best to take care of you.

Thank you very much for bringing this to our attention. We hope that you will contact us directly, at laa@extendedstay.com, should you wish to discuss this further. We hope we have the opportunity to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

The overall experience was poor. Please see the following: fish smell in the hallway, fire alarm went off a couple time, staff were not helpful, people who were staying here were the type of people that you don't want to be around.

Room Tip: Check out the residence Inn about 2 miles away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Orange County - John Wayne Airport, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Tommy - Thank you for your recent review of your stay. The situation with the odor and service you described is unacceptable, and we sincerely apologize for your experience. In response to your feedback, we are working with our staff to ensure that we are being proactive and preventing future guests from having similar experiences.

Thank you very much for bringing this to our attention. To discuss further, please contact us at laa@extendedstay.com. We would love to have another chance to provide you with a better experience the next time you're in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Booked last minute... was not sure about the hotel... arrived late, but for the value it was just great!

I was able to get to my meeting at Newport Beach in just 5 minutes. Location is un-disputable... However, if you need service... do not expect any. What you pay is what you get. It is geared for a longer stay travelers or... whatever. Personally, it had a small kitchen - refrigerator, etc. were perfect. I had only 7 hours stay... including sleep time. Just left the next early morning - served coffee, choice of granola bars, muffin or... was great for my purpose. But do make sure to ask - if you want non-smoking room upon making reservation...

Room Tip: Ask for Non-smoking at time of reservation!!! Do not assume it is as I realized for the first time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Extended Stay America - Orange County - John Wayne Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Orange County - John Wayne Airport

Address: 4881 Birch Street, Newport Beach, CA 92660
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Orange County - John Wayne Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Extended Stay, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Extended Stay America - Orange County - John Wayne Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stayamerica Orange County-John Wayne Airport Hotel Newport Beach
Extended Stay Newport Beach
Extended Stay America Newport Beach
Newport Beach Extended Stay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Extended Stay America - Orange County - John Wayne Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.