We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For the Value - excellent center of business area location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Extended Stay America - Orange County - John Wayne Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Extended Stay America - Orange County - John Wayne Airport to your Saves list
Extended Stay America - Orange County - John Wayne Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4881 Birch Street, Newport Beach, CA 92660   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 10% Today!
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“For the Value - excellent center of business area location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Booked last minute... was not sure about the hotel... arrived late, but for the value it was just great!

I was able to get to my meeting at Newport Beach in just 5 minutes. Location is un-disputable... However, if you need service... do not expect any. What you pay is what you get. It is geared for a longer stay travelers or... whatever. Personally, it had a small kitchen - refrigerator, etc. were perfect. I had only 7 hours stay... including sleep time. Just left the next early morning - served coffee, choice of granola bars, muffin or... was great for my purpose. But do make sure to ask - if you want non-smoking room upon making reservation...

Room Tip: Ask for Non-smoking at time of reservation!!! Do not assume it is as I realized for the first time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    27
    14
    7
    13
See reviews for
7
13
7
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Needed a place for just one night and chose this because of the proximity to the airport. And that is the only good thing about this hotel. Sheets were not clean and room was less than perfect. As it was only a night's stay, did not even bother to report.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beatrice, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Stayed here for five nights. They put us in a smoking room even though we requested non smoking. The entire floor (4th) smelled so bad from smoke that you had to hold your breath. Dogs were barking and the odors were bad. Windows to the outside were hard to open and badly needed cleaning. There is no maid service which we knew but is still a pain. The staff were very pleasant and the location is close to the airport. I would not recommend this place if you can afford anything else.

Room Tip: The whole place smells of smoke
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Look, I understand this is Newport Beach and within a 5 mile radius are some really nice places to stay (with an equally nice room rate!), but this place is pretty good. Free parking and talk about GREAT LOCATION! I had received a great weekly rate which was UNTOUCHABLE by any of the other 3 star and up hotels. Know what you're getting with this chain: NO daily housekeeping, basic hotel services, no restaurant on site. What you do get is: larger than usual hotel room, spacious layout, a full kitchen. If the later features matter to you, then you should consider this property. If room mate maters to you, they have some AMAZING rates if you stay at least a week!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Orange County - John Wayne Airport, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Thank you for writing such a great review of our hotel. I'm glad that you enjoyed our free parking and our great location during your stay with us. As well, it's great to hear that you were pleased with your spacious room and your fully equipped kitchen. It would be our pleasure for you to repeat your stay with us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Our offices are are across the street so the location is great for us. We have people stay here at least a few times per month. Our clients say the rooms are okay and affordable, but this time we were charged $25 for an early check in fee. Very disappointing since this equals a 25% cost increase.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maysville, Missouri
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

We pre-purchased our stay for a set price and even confirmed the final price with the hotel. When we arrived we were told that there is a $100 deposit required (unexpected due to never being mentioned by hotel staff over the phone) and the staff claimed it would be automatically released in three business days. Six business days later it had not been released. We had to call our bank so they could call the hotel and receive permission to release the deposit.
Also, our room was supposed to be cleaned on Tuesday while we were out. When we came back our room was untouched. We had to go down to the desk where we found out it had been marked clean. They then had to make a note for housekeeping to make sure they cleaned our room the next day.
Their grab and go breakfast was a joke. They didn't provide any cold drinks such as milk or juice. And the food was essentially just granola bars.
On their website they showed that they provided onsite facilities to wash your clothing. We found out this was not true. On one of the sites advertising for them, they stated that they had a pool. This also was not true. We were very dissatisfied due to the lies we kept receiving from the staff and the advertising. Do not use this hotel. They don't care about the customers.

Room Tip: Don't use this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Orange County - John Wayne Airport, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Thank you for providing us with details about your stay. I sincerely apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay. To make sure this doesn't happen again, I have contacted our marketing team to assure any websites mentioning a pool are removed and will also be working with the staff to assure that if we are unable to provide housekeeping on a scheduled day we do a better job communicating with our guests. If you would like to discuss this further, please do not hesitate to contact me at laa@extendedstay.com. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels. We hope we have the opportunity to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Extended Stay America - Orange County - John Wayne Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Orange County - John Wayne Airport

Address: 4881 Birch Street, Newport Beach, CA 92660
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Orange County - John Wayne Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Extended Stay, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Extended Stay America - Orange County - John Wayne Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stayamerica Orange County-John Wayne Airport Hotel Newport Beach
Extended Stay Newport Beach
Extended Stay America Newport Beach
Newport Beach Extended Stay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Extended Stay America - Orange County - John Wayne Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.