We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Low Class Pool Party at 4pm” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Hotel Newport Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Hotel Newport Beach to your Saves list
Radisson Hotel Newport Beach
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4545 Macarthur Boulevard, Newport Beach, CA 92660   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Enjoy Savings of 15%
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Wanship, UT
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Low Class Pool Party at 4pm”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

My husband and I arrived during an afternoon pool/drunk/naked feast. If my kids would have been along I would have come UNGLUED. We left at 4:30 to go to an early dinner only to see women walking around in lingerie in the parking lot with no thong/bra on. When we got back that evening, there were people in the parking lot drunk/ almost naked and obnoxious. In the bar.......it was hooker/gang scene. In the lobby, men were harrassing middle aged women checking into the hotel. My husband went running the next AM only to see people passed out in their cars. I guess I thought this was at least a 4 star hotel. Low class events should be not be happening in ANY 4 star hotel. It was pure raunch and so embarrassing. The staff did NOTHING about all the drunk pick-up attempts on paying guests.

The room was OK but not fitting of an upscale hotel. No refrigerator or microwave. The breakfast restaurant brunch was OUTSTANDING. Enjoyed the fitness center also.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel. The rif raf is not worth it especially if you have your family along. This was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leandro R, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Newport Beach, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to provide your comments and thank you for the information. This was a private event that occurred and we have taken the necessary steps to ensure that such an event is not held at the Radisson Newport Beach. We pride ourselves on our professionalism and strive to be a hotel that corporate travelers enjoy staying at and that families feel welcome. Thank you.

Radisson Newport Beach Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    120
    76
    39
    25
See reviews for
96
71
38
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

LOCATION:
Had early flight and wanted a nearby hotel to John Wayne Airport. This hotel fit the bill. Room (and hotel) was very quiet. I liked the parking lot/entrance because it was open and roomy and this worked well because we had friends picking us up in two cars right out front- no problem.
STAFF:
Good natured valet. The front desk clerk lacked warmth-just did his job and with a bit of an attitude. Bartender was very nice and very helpful. Shuttle chauffeur took his job seriously- I think they could use a larger van, though, to reduce wait time...
ROOM:
Room was clean with comfortable sleep number mattresses, but the pillows were horrible- very unsupportive and I woke up with a sore neck. Elevators seemed unusually far from the front desk... Room hot and stuffy upon arrival on hot afternoon.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

Clean and comfy rooms. Bathroom is rather small and old fashioned and the lights in there make it get really hot fast. Free Internet, but it does test your patience as it is extremely slow. Pool and hot tub are nice. Even though the airport is super close, we didn't notice any noise from our room. Beautiful displays of (fake) orchids, real shame they are not real, it would really add a touch of class. The lobby is kitted out with really nice furniture.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Stayed here three times, finally writing review. Great pool and spa. Always clean. Quiet, despite airport proximity.
Rooms are nicely appointed.
Be sure to stay on Club Level (7th floor) for free breakfast and free afternoon reception. The breakfast isn't hot, but it's passable, and the reception in afternoon is nice. Also, the Sapphire (hotel bar) is fun.

Room Tip: Stay on club level!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

A 3-star hotel by most appearances with well-kept grounds and decent pool; most (not all) of the staff went out of their way to be helpful and professional. However, if one can withstand the somewhat loud pool music and poor quality bed, you might find this to your liking.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leandro R, Front Office Manager at Radisson Hotel Newport Beach, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thank you so much for staying at the Radisson Newport Beach. Hotel. I wanted to take the opportunity to personally apologize for any inconvenience you had during your recent stay. I am sorry that the quality of bed in the guest room were not satisfactory for you and for the loud music in the pool area. We do have an option to have a regular mattress or sleep number bed available upon request. I am sorry if this adversely affected your stay with us in any way. Again, thank you for choosing our Radisson Newport Beach hotel for your accommodations during your recent stay in Southern California, and Orange Couny.

Sincerely,

Leandro Reyes
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We were in Newport Beach for a wedding. We stayed for 2 nights and were on the 10th floor in the East Tower. The room was reasonably priced and very comfortable. They bed and bedding were very nice. The room was well appointed with a desk with plenty of power outlets and wi-fi service is included at no cost. The pool area is large and furnished with lots of tables and chairs. The staff was friendly and helpful. The location is very good, near the 405 freeway and right next to the airport. Also a short drive to Fashion Island with lots of restaurants. We didn't eat at the hotel so can't comment on the food offered.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

My room was on the third floor. There was a hum all night long, as if someone in an adjacent room had left a faucet running. I was unable to call and complain because the internal phone system was not working in the hotel. I could have used my cell phone but chose not to get out of bed and find the sheet of paper which had the outside phone number to use for the hotel. The annoying hum finally stopped at 6:21am as if someone turned it off. The room was clean.

Room Tip: Do not stay on the third floor. It's right above the hotel equipment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Hotel Newport Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel Newport Beach

Address: 4545 Macarthur Boulevard, Newport Beach, CA 92660
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Newport Beach
#9 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Radisson Hotel Newport Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Hotel Newport Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Newport Beach
Newport Beach Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Hotel Newport Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.