We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic course and location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pelican Hill Golf Club

Pelican Hill Golf Club
22701 Pelican Hill Road South, Newport Beach, CA 92657
+1 949-612-1917
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Golf Courses
Activities: Golfing
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: One of the nation's premier golf clubs, Pelican Hill Golf Club(R) boasts 36 holes designed by Tom Fazio with stunning ocean panoramas from every hole, a luxurious 44,000-square-foot clubhouse with separate men's and women's locker rooms and lounges with a full array of appointments and amenities, the acclaimed Pelican Grill and lounge, Caffe II Italian coffee bar, a golf shop offering the latest golf fashions and accessories, and an intelligently designed, full-service practice facility. Conveniently located right outside the clubhouse door, the practice facility features an expansive driving range, practice greens and tour-event Nike Platinum One balls waiting for guests when they arrive. The two 18-hole courses, Ocean North and Ocean South, are both ranked among Golf Digest's America's 100 Greatest Public Golf Courses. A preeminent institution of golf instruction in California, Pelican Hill Golf Academy offers dedicated teaching facilities, including two greens, bunkers and driving tees. The Director of Instruction, Glenn Deck, is one of Golf Magazine's Top 100 Teachers in America and one of Golf Tips magazine's Top 25 U.S. Instructors. He offers monthly golf schools, special guest instructor programs, private lessons and a seasonal Junior Golfers' Academy.
Oxford, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Fantastic course and location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Scenic course overlooking Pacific Ocean. Course was in great shape, and staff were very riendly and helpful to our group of golfers

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    28
    4
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Golf reservations include a "caddy" ...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband was the one that actually golfed this course yet golfs almost every weekend in San Diego. This is the first time he has ever had a "caddy" assigned to his group and he was extremely impressed with the caddy AND with the course itself.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“P.H Golf”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Stayed 4 nites in a spectacular bungalo. Golfed Thurs and Friday. Paid $30.00 extra each day so my wife could drive the cart and I could walk the course with our caddie. My wife said we were going to have together time Saturday. When I mentioned we could have "Morning Sex" on Saturday morning, she promptly called the pro shop and set up a tee time for me Saturday morning, and she went to get her nails done. You have got to try the Jumbo All Meat Kosher Grilled Hot Dog at the snack bar. Delicious ! All 3 rounds were played in 4.5 hours or less. Afternoons we went to the pool. There were some spectacular views there ! One afternoon we went via Hotel Shuttle to the Beach. Everyone was nice, Food and Golf were great. I'm sure we will be back. My wife made arrangements with the Resort to have an Audi Convertble waiting for us at the curb at LAX with the GPS set to give us directions to leisurely drive along the coast to the Resort and the drive it back to LAX on Sunday. No car rental shuttles for us!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teaneck, New Jersey
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Fabulous Dining at the Grille”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Took my daugher for her birthday...we ate at the Pelican Grille located on the golf course. Gorgeous view..dine outside on the patio...excellent service, elegant.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Very nice resort course, but greens are slow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Loved the course - not that difficult and the greens are slow but a lot of fun. Get a fore caddy (I think they are included). We had "Bob" (young guy from Iowa) and he was one of the best caddies I've ever had. The play was SLOW but we had fun anyway. We played the north which was great.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pelican Hill Golf Club also viewed

Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 
Laguna Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Pelican Hill Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pelican Hill Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.